*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

Levine-Weinberg: One of the important things for investors to realize is that airline stocks are still relatively cheap compared to the rest of the market. But they're not trading at such a big discount that you can't explain it by the higher risk of the airline industry. If you look back to 2010 and 2011, a lot of airline stocks were literally trading it 4X earnings.

MasterLeong

Levine-Weinberg: That's why you as an investor shouldn't necessarily run out and say, "Warren Buffett bought a bunch of airline stocks, I should too!"

O'Reilly: Right. Really quick, Buffett likes monopolies. Not literal monopolies, but consumer monopolies. And this isn't a monopolistic situation, but it feels a little bit like, possibly, an oligopolistic, just like, there's three or four big players that are really crushing it and actually making money finally. Is that part of his thinking? "They deregulated in '78, it's been an absolute massacre in terms of competition for 30 years. Is it now finally time for ... " I'm not comparing American Airlines and Southwest and US Airways to Coke and Pepsi, but, is it a little bit like that?

MasterLeong

Levine-Weinberg: I think that's part of the story. I think that's probably why more investors are getting interested, because they see there's now four companies that can, together, control more than 80% of the domestic market, and a good chunk of the international market, as well, out of the U.S.

MasterLeong

last post before I go to bed

I am not vested in SIA and I am unlikely to purchase this stock

just pointing it out for discussion purpose only,

especially when the legendary WB bought 4 airlines companies

cheers

Sinkie

2hhoo79.png

portfolio CXG

huat ah $$$$$$$$$$$$

Why your p&l only $12,000+, you understate your profit? What's the difference between p&l and p&L + dividend?

OngHuatHuat

Why your p&l only $12,000+, you understate your profit? What's the difference between p&l and p&L + dividend?

This website got include realized loss.

furthermore, i dunno if you all realize, in that table, those strong performers are taking up a smaller percentage of the portfolio.

No difference between that 2 mainly due to the fact that he chose to anyhow input his stock purchase dates? So that people won't be able to keep track of his actual performance over the years.

Mancunian2

Warren Buffett reversed his long time dislike of airlines stock by buying AA, UA and Delta last month. Wonder why he changed his mind after the bad investment way back in the 1980s for US Airways.
you must remember that WB is already 86, he can't afford to buy and hold "long-term" anymore.

his preferred "holding period" is still "forever" ?

should read Michael Covel and how his dispel some of the myths surrounding WB

madtari

u never bothered to enter the correct transaction dates that's y ur PL + Div is the same as your PL, and all the counters showing you have recently increase your stake in it. :s22: like this not accurate leh... and your previous realized profit & loss isn't included as well.
2hhoo79.png

portfolio CXG

huat ah $$$$$$$$$$$$

Average

https://dqydj.com/sp-500-return-calculator/

Starting Month Starting Year
Ending Month Ending Year

Total S&P 500 Return
73.867%
Annualized S&P 500 Return
5.197%
Total S&P 500 Return (Dividends Reinvested)
117.266%
Annualized S&P 500 Return (Dividends Reinvested)
7.367%

TEMASEK HOLDINGS's 6% RETURNS CANNOT EVEN BEAT THE SIMPLE S&P 500 ETF 7.3% returns OVER THE SAME 10 YEAR PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

who u voted for leh?
hqdefault.jpg

Sent from 穷小子 using GAGT

OngHuatHuat

u never bothered to enter the correct transaction dates that's y ur PL + Div is the same as your PL, and all the counters showing you have recently increase your stake in it. :s22: like this not accurate leh... and your previous realized profit & loss isn't included as well.

Yeap, previous realized loss was not included, I vaguely remembered last time his realized gain was not much greater than mine despite of a longer time horizon, bigger capital base and my huge paper loss in Noble. You all can look at my sgx cafe, I tried my best to input my transactions from 2011 onwards, but mostly incomplete coz I lost my transacation slips. 2014 onwards till mid 2016 are complete. Recent purchases I didn't input.

https://www.sgxcafe.com/user/profile?username=yyhwin

And you all have to take note, more recent performance have higher impact on your portfolio time-weighted return, which means if you just keep talking about your portfolio performance when there is a bull run, your time-weighted return will be biased towards a higher gain.

If you have a stock that fluctuates a lot like Noble and it is the only stock in your portfolio, the time weighted return goes up and down very fast.

Sinkie

Oh no wonder why I thought his p&l+dividend got so little one meh? Lol!! Severely understate his profit

OngHuatHuat

Oh no wonder why I thought his p&l+dividend got so little one meh? Lol!! Severely understate his profit

I doubt so.

The main reason is because he didn't want people to track his actual performance. DW also did the same thing which defeat the purpose of having a shared portfolio.

If this is his this year performance, I let you all judge whether what he input is credible or really show incredible performance. I personally think perisher mod performance this year should be much better. :D

Sinkie

I doubt so.

The main reason is because he didn't want people to track his actual performance. DW also did the same thing which defeat the purpose of having a shared portfolio.

If this is his this year performance, I let you all judge whether what he input is credible or really show incredible performance. I personally think perisher mod performance this year should be much better. :D

Actually I find no meaning to track one performance also la, if Perisher post his 2016 transactions and portfolio, I think he will become a benchmark to follow.

So I think it's better this way, just show the cost, weightage and last done for show

OngHuatHuat

Actually I find no meaning to track one performance also la, if Perisher post his 2016 transactions and portfolio, I think he will become a benchmark to follow.

So I think it's better this way, just show the cost, weightage and last done for show

The main purpose for having that portfolio is to track own performance over the years. If someone feel there is no point to track, shouldn't have input at all.
:D

Sinkie

The main purpose for having that portfolio is to track own performance over the years. If someone feel there is no point to track, shouldn't have input at all.
:D

That why I don't have a portfolio on SGXcafe

OngHuatHuat

That why I don't have a portfolio on SGXcafe

Not having a portfolio also good, if not, they will keep on attacking your lousy performing stock.
:)
Sometimes I wonder why people never think why they get to know certain information? Is it because they really that knowledgeable or other people purposely let them know? Or people just don't care about criticism? ;)

If want share, must give whole picture, if not, might as well don't share. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.