Mapletree Commercial Trust

Closing: $1.42

NAV: $1.32

7.5% overvalued

Ascendas REIT

Closing: $2.39

NAV: $2.03

17.7% overvalued

How times have changed for CCT....I remembered few months then 1.4xx was considered way high....it even dropped to 1.3xx when noble drop out and it goes in STI. Then it lingered at 1.3xx for a long time.

Asphodeli

Holding REITs is like being ARA, managing a portfolio of listed REITs. In fact, you will fare better than ARA because ARA has to share some of its earnings as dividends with its shareholders. If you are managing a portfolio of REITs by yourself, you get to 'have your cake and eat it too'.

Did a rough calculation. If I did not fully divest CMT (which was one of my very first counters I bought in 2009), my total returns (capital appreciation + distributions) will make CMT almost 'freehold' status for me by now. Regretting it now.

Please learn from my mistake. Let my experience be a cautionary tale for you all. Time in market really beats timing the market.

My holdings in FCOT will become freehold in May/June 2017 based on dividend payout alone, assuming DPU doesn't vary much :bandit:

Dividends Warrior

means can kio CCT and SUN now?

Means based on Master Leong's 'dun buy REITs at a premium' mantra, we should focus firepower on CCT and Suntec.

Looking at their valuations, Suntec REIT and CapitaLand Commercial Trust have significant 'upside potential' since they seem to be grossly undervalued. Personally, I am not touching Mapletree Commercial Trust and Ascendas REIT for now as they have more room to fall as the Fed starts to normalise interest rates.

(All comments made are purely my own views and analysis, they may be wrong and readers are wiser to do their own due diligence. I am not held responsible for any losses incurred, at the end of the day its your own money your own decisions.)

akwl88

I don't like SUNTEC......when is the last time you visited SUNTEC? And do you really shop at SUNTEC?

went suntec makan dinner during friday a few times

the fnb outlets are packed

but there are more room for improvements in terms of foot traffic

feel that its not as crowded as vivo :s13:

Dividends Warrior

Just curious, if that is the case, then why are you still adopting FIFO/trading?

Do you intend to go 60-20-20 eventually? 60% core, 20% FIFO, 20% spare?

Because once I turned to the 'dark side', there is no going back. Besides, I am doing a hybrid. Do FIFO. But FIFO mostly credible counters. At least will not give me heart attack.

MasterLeong

I don't like SUNTEC......when is the last time you visited SUNTEC? And do you really shop at SUNTEC?

suntec weekdays mostly is the office ppl who eat and shop there

weekends is got the convention/events

not as populated as the past anymore

MasterLeong

Sheng Siong outgunned in supermarket wars. Is it a worry?
By Gwyneth Yeo / theedgemarkets.com.sg | December 14, 2016 : 12:58 PM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Dec 14): Maybank Kim Eng has downgraded Sheng Siong Group from a “hold” rating to a “sell” rating after the supermarket operator failed to secure any new supermarket sites in December.

Maybank Kim Eng analyst Gregory Yap noted that there was a repeat of the competitive bids seen in October, with the winning bids achieving prices of above $20 psf. Sheng Siong’s bids were closer to $16 psf.

The two HDB supermarket sites up for tender in December were won by small operators - Yes Supermarket and an individual linked to U Stars Supermarket - who each operate about three or four other sites.

As Yap explains it, if Yes and U Stars continue to secure new sites in this fashion, there will be an increased risk of aggressive bids coming from larger supermarket operators NTUC and Cold Storage when the latter find themselves unable to secure any new sites.

That throws a spanner in Sheng Siong’s own expansion plans. “This is critical because new stores drive sales growth much more than old stores,” wrote Yap in a note on Wednesday.

What’s more, Yap added that there will be no supermarket sites coming up for bidding in the next 6 months for Woodlands, where the group needs to replace its 41,400 sf store that is scheduled to close in June 2017. The group also needs to replace its 45,000 sf store in The Verge which is expected to close in early 2017.

That said, Sheng Siong’s management indicated that it remains in the running for a closed-bid site that is “fairly sizeable”, and has a “promising” location that caters to old and new estates and future new HDB developments.

“However, if it again fails to clinch this site, there is a potential risk that its new store opening plans could be jeopardised,” concludes Yap.

To that end, Yap recommends buying Jumbo Group.

Shares of Sheng Siong and Jumbo are trading at 96 cents and 2.5 cents on Wednesday.

MasterLeong

Dk + dw + sb FTW.

I more towards buy and hold

dont really like FIFO hahahahaha

but sometimes I do put a portion of portfolio into cyclical stocks for trading

maybe max 5-20%

like this year GLP FCL SCI KC

now is purely just park and collect dividends, while hoping to ride a bull market

sgdividends

Means based on Master Leong's 'dun buy REITs at a premium' mantra, we should focus firepower on CCT and Suntec.

Looking at their valuations, Suntec REIT and CapitaLand Commercial Trust have significant 'upside potential' since they seem to be grossly undervalued. Personally, I am not touching Mapletree Commercial Trust and Ascendas REIT for now as they have more room to fall as the Fed starts to normalise interest rates.

(All comments made are purely my own views and analysis, they may be wrong and readers are wiser to do their own due diligence. I am not held responsible for any losses incurred, at the end of the day its your own money your own decisions.)

Actually based on interest coverage, IReit has the higher of 8X and its dividend yield is 8.6% and it holds freehold properties only in germany. So, interms of defense against interest rates rise IReit seems good.

However, its NAV is below its trade price and its gearing is 42%, one of its highest among the Singapore REITS. If you are in the excess rights game, this counter seems ok,

Tong Jin Quan entered it quite recently

MasterLeong

Actually based on interest coverage, IReit has the higher of 8X and its dividend yield is 8.6% and it holds freehold properties only in germany. So, interms of defense against interest rates rise IReit seems good.

However, its NAV is below its trade price and its gearing is 42%. If you are in the excess rights game, this counter seems ok

Ireit I wonder how they make their DPU so high sia.... a bit dont understand this reit that's why i avoid gao gao

http://ireitglobal.listedcompany.com/newsroom/20161114_195658_UD1U_5L6QRPDDQ8WWUWNH.2.pdf

leverage seems very high at 42.5% , think rights issue will come for sure ba

their tenant mix is quite high risk, if u look at slide 16

DT alone makes up HALF their rents

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.