*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

Thats what happen to my mum. She used her EPF (alternative of CPF in Msia) to invest her unit trust. After 11 yrs, She then only showed her statement. Did a quick check and management 5%!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Stright up tell her quit it immediately then.

11 years only 5% returns ah? GG max
Park reits collect dividends also win la lol

lewissac

ya... ever since I started keying my trades in SGXCafe, then I realized my portfolio doing better than expected. Then I looked at my UT, only Aberdeen Pacific Equity & First State Regional China funds doing quite well. Aberdeen Singapore Equity fund profit is like only a fraction of what my portfolio is performing, and some others are disaster... Like how Fundsupermart and Dollar Dex promote Vietnam will be the next China/India in SEA.. I lost 50% in that fund. :s22: So end up I fed up paying so much to keep those fund managers instead I will manage my own portfolio and give up exposure to external markets (cos I am not confident in trading overseas counters).

I used to have this thought few years after buying endowment. Why pay for other people to grow $$ for us. :s13:

[M]aiev

lol 5%. Park inside dividend stocks also more song than putting money insai his pocket

Thats what happen to my mum. She used her EPF (alternative of CPF in Msia) to invest her unit trust. After 11 yrs, She then only showed her statement. Did a quick check and management 5%!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Stright up tell her quit it immediately then.

[M]aiev

That why I do passive investing as well; it is another form of buying endowments. The commission for parking inside fund manager pocket is hell way less than that.

PS: USD sore like siao sia.

I used to have this thought few years after buying endowment. Why pay for other people to grow $$ for us. :s13:

Dividends Warrior

I had this idea with fixed deposits, where the fixed deposits are placed at x months apart, so that they would mature at in stages. IMO, this way more money can be placed in FDs with the flexibility of cash being available within a few months if necessary to avoid the need to liquidate an entire FD (and miss out on the interest) when the cash is needed.

I pitched the idea to my mum. She didn't like it. :(

I realised that things that seem logical and simple to us might not appeal to the old folks. Must focus on their heart and interest.

My mom likes shopping and having kopi with her heartland aunties friends. She complained nowadays things are getting more expensive and the malls very crowded. So I told her that I can help her collect rental from these stores. Put 30% of her wealth with me and I also personally guarantee her principal. She can put the remaining 70% in FD. Her liquidity comes from reits.

orhanzi

early 30s ok to have some bonds

A35 if u already have just hold on to it lor... just make sure its not too much of your portfolio... if say 10% of portfolio inside ABF is fine I guess

STI ETF you should have most since you are ETF investor right

i read from shiny, cpf should be also part of your bond investment as well. ok i am putting like 20% monthly on bond a35, so i guess i will adjust to 10% starting next mth

MasterLeong

I not so sure about the return but i think is within 4-5% yield.
but management fee 5%! That's the killer.:s11:

Yup
Thats why i rather be vested in the 3 local banks
Be ln the dark side
Those RM always sell those funds with high commission to those poor uncles and aunties
Sales charge 2-10%, yearly management fees 1-5%
Suck them dry and banks huat

MasterLeong

i read from shiny, cpf should be also part of your bond investment as well. ok i am putting like 20% monthly on bond a35, so i guess i will adjust to 10% starting next mth

Yeah
Since u already have like 20% income going into cpf
10% income go to ABF should be enough

30 plus still young can take more risk

Sti etf u get maybe 6-8% long term returns
ABF is risk free but low 2% returns

MasterLeong

Besides sti etf and abf
U got put some $$$ into stock picking?
Or just pure etfs only

MasterLeong

there are no hard rules to bond vs stocks allocation %

but for me, I would advise the following

age 20-25 - 0% bonds 100% stocks
age 25-30 - 0-10% bonds 90% stocks
age 30-40 - 20% bonds 80% stocks

age 40 onwards should be semi retirement liao, (meaning u can choose to continue working or not)

if you had been saving and investing wisely.. should have at least half mil investment portfolio by this stage

2/3 stocks (more towards reits/telcos aim get 5% or higher)
1/3 bonds (get 2-3% is fine)

lewissac

It's better to assess your risk/opportunity first before doing that. Got to understand books/advice only serves as guidance, not SOP of investing.
Always DYODD via risk assessment. :)

orhanzi

wah.... u got so many different stocks

then how come u also mix in sti etf and ABF

so u believe more in index-ing or stock picking?

both looks ok to me. indexing looks easier to handle . if stock pick, also will only pick those high quality ones.

because index, i can use giro to invest ma via posb invest saver. will use lumpsum to invest on blue chips

orhanzi

anyway i regret playing on pennies. no choice can't u-turn, just hoping BB will come back to pump it high one day :D:D:D

blackvice

oh previously I was 100% vested as I did not have the 200k

only towards Q3/Q4 this year, I sold off my 30% stake in a private business that's why got the lump sum in which I quickly put in to FD/SSB to prevent myself from doing anything rash/stupid

no matter what this portion I think I die die also will not put into stocks one... at current point.. my thinking is it will be my "fixed income" portfolio ba

for now FD/SSB... in future will slowly vest into bonds to form a ladder bond portfolio

(those who do not know what is a bond ladder please feel free to read from the link below)
http://www.schwab.com/public/schwab...nvestment/bonds/individual_bonds/bond_ladders

if along the way I find any business opportunity, then may use this 200k to fund the biz however I think the odds of me taking this path is low

Just curious, any reasons why would venturing out again is low ?

MasterLeong

both looks ok to me. indexing looks easier to handle . if stock pick, also will only pick those high quality ones.

because index, i can use giro to invest ma via posb invest saver. will use lumpsum to invest on blue chips

ya lor, u last time kanna burn in those penny liao, maybe best to only stick to high quality blue chips from now on safer

sti etf + abf always a good combo meal to have hehehehehe

on top of main course, if hungry can always order some side dishes like reits telcos lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.