*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

Just curious, any reasons why would venturing out again is low ?

I think the odds of me venturing out to start a new business or invest in a partnership to be very low as I really fear of losing my 200k capital

unless the business really very solid and I am very confident then will go for it ba

else i rather collect the passive income from my portfolio of stocks/bonds/hdb
just be save and live off the income while pursuing my passion/hobbies

MasterLeong

anyway i regret playing on pennies. no choice can't u-turn, just hoping BB will come back to pump it high one day :D:D:D

okay la, u still young at 30s... still got plenty of time to grow your portfolio... all you need is a solid 10 years, can even go from 100k to 1mil if u save and invest well

those pennies and lousy marine stocks can throw in cold storage and treat as write off

focus on identifying your core postions like sti etf abf blue chips and start building on top of them would be most wise

do not put anymore $$$ into penny stocks can already

MasterLeong

a decade ago I started off with 6k capital buying 2000 shares of sti etf at 2.70

a decade of saving/investing later I now have 300k stock portfolio

I believe that if an ordinary man like me can do it, so can anyone in ssi forum

the purpose of this thread is to share tips and methods on growing one's stock portfolio in a safe and orderly manner

- no S-chips
- no penny stocks
- save more
- invest more
- only pick high quality companies that can give you good long term returns

MasterLeong

AB7A9922-8163-445B-87C3-0E427F46E166_zpsw0gjglkc.jpg

waxqube

Yeah
Since u already have like 20% income going into cpf
10% income go to ABF should be enough

30 plus still young can take more risk

Sti etf u get maybe 6-8% long term returns
ABF is risk free but low 2% returns

Actually if you think about it ~37% actually goes into cpf (employer's contribution is part of your salary too). So if consider cpf as bond portion it is already quite big. Granted it is super illiquid though.

MasterLeong

Actually if you think about it ~37% actually goes into cpf (employer's contribution is part of your salary too). So if consider cpf as bond portion it is already quite big. Granted it is super illiquid though.

I see, yeah thats a lot and very big part of salary going into a bond portfolio

Ya super illiquid, best use is to buy hdb flat with it

Sinkie

a decade ago I started off with 6k capital buying 2000 shares of sti etf at 2.70

the purpose of this thread is to share tips and methods on growing one's stock portfolio in a safe and orderly manner

- no S-chips
- no penny stocks
- save more
- invest more

6 years from $6,000 grow to $300,000. 500% grow sia

Can share how you do it?
- First 3 years I think you still working so it probably contribute $100,000 to this pot.
- Then you also got a multi bagger in challenger
- playing online poker

That's all?

MasterLeong

6 years from $6,000 grow to $300,000. 500% grow sia

Can share how you do it?
- First 3 years I think you still working so it probably contribute $100,000 to this pot.
- Then you also got a multi bagger in challenger
- playing online poker

That's all?

must keep saving and investing lor, really takes time to grow the nest egg
need really 10 years of hard work to hit a 300k portfolio ba

when I was working 2 years in bank, salary 2.5k... take home around 2k
I saved like 1k per month

when playing online poker, I made around 300k over 8 years
so around 37.5k per year or around 3k per month

my expenses then and now still about the same, 1k expenses per month... so spend 1k save the balance 2k..and put into stocks

if anyone want to replicate my savings/investing rate... say a person earnings 3k a month, start work at age 23

spend 1k, save 2k to keep it simple and ignore bonus/cpf

using a calculator, saving 2k per month for 10 years
making 10 % returns on the stock market with it

one should hit 400k portfolio in 10 years!

its very possible, I have done it and I think those who are disciplined should be able to do it too, cheers ^_^

hwd753.png

basically if u save 2k a month, 1 year is 24k
10 years is already 240k of savings
the 160k extra is from your investment returns

huat ah $$$$$$$$

IF I CAN DO IT, SO CAN YOU ALL!!!!!!!!!

MasterLeong

in short the key success formulate is A HIGH SAVINGS RATE of 2k per month

2nd key point is a decent investment return of 10%

yihao93

- no S-chips
- no penny stocks
- save more
- invest more

Think this case use rate of return more accurate
Cause increase in portfolio u don't state is increase in capital or just stock price/divvy

MasterLeong

GOLDEN POST FOR THE WEEKEND

PLEASE READ IF U INSPIRE TO HIT A 300k or 400k PORTFOLIO IN 10 YEARS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

my expenses then and now still about the same, 1k expenses per month... so spend 1k save the balance 2k..and put into stocks

if anyone want to replicate my savings/investing rate... say a person earnings 3k a month, start work at age 23

its very possible, I have done it and I think those who are disciplined should be able to do it too, cheers ^_^

hwd753.png

huat ah $$$$$$$$

mcsane

but 10% p.a straight is purely mathematically. just like ILP 4% or 8% straight line up.

but it would be nice to be able to achieve that. :)

MasterLeong

before anyone shoot me that saving 2k a month is impossible

2k per month is an AVERAGE over the 10 years

you may start off saving 1k per month for first few years, but as your salary increases u save more... 2k then maybe 3k a month towards later years

on average u should try save 2k per month over the decade to hit target

cheers

MasterLeong

but 10% p.a straight is purely mathematically. just like ILP 4% or 8% straight line up.

but it would be nice to be able to achieve that. :)

yup this one is only in theory

in practical.. can be higher or lower, might even make a loss

hard to say

most important is the savings part, if able to save average 2k per month for 10 years

even if 0% returns, already 240k in the nest egg

cheers

Sinkie

hwd753.png

huat ah $$$$$$$$

Heng you is money grow money, if it was me, I would have think if I can make $300,000 from online poker, I can "forever" make $300,000 every 6 years and would have spend as I earn from online poker

Everyone just need one big break, for you is $300,000 from online poker, some is tio toto, some is work very hard do biz and sell for big break, some maybe hoot $30,000 in a penny stock n multi bagger become $300,000, some just is parent give them $300,000 while some just save hard for 10 years to accumulate this saving etc

With such big sum of capital and proper know-how in investment, one can really money grow money and grow even more money

MasterLeong

Heng you is money grow money, if it was me, I would have think if I can make $300,000 from online poker, I can "forever" make $300,000 every 6 years and would have spend as I earn from online poker

Everyone just need one big break, for you is $300,000 from online poker, some is tio toto, some is work very hard do biz and sell for big break, some maybe hoot $30,000 in a penny stock n multi bagger become $300,000, some just is parent give them $300,000 while some just save hard for 10 years to accumulate this saving etc

With such big sum of capital and proper know-how in investment, one can really money grow money and grow even more money

yup, sometimes life is never fair

like in this forum got NSF already got 250k or 350k as dbs treasure client already

LOL

but those who are poor, can always try his best to get out of the rat race

got try got chance, no try no chance

MasterLeong

once hit a good size golden nest egg liao, then really can enjoy the passive income song song

be it hard work or luck, the purpose of this thread is to maximize our odds of reaching to that goal of financial freedom

cheers

Sinkie

yup, sometimes life is never fair

like in this forum got NSF already got 250k or 350k as dbs treasure client already

LOL

but those who are poor, can always try his best to get out of the rat race

got try got chance, no try no chance

Yeah loh, everyone just need one big break, i think this big break is a privilege and not entitlement ba, when it comes you really need to grab it also lah.. if one grabbed and Huat $300,000 already must really thanks god first and then make full use of it to grow another $300,000 etc

I know someone who worked hard for a side biz and make around $200,000 in 3 years and ended up he used this to pay full for a BMW car lol

MasterLeong

hwd753.png

even without lucky break, still can hit 400k portfolio in 10 years

really need high savings of 2k per month lor

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.