*Official* MasterLeong Thread

RobinTeoHood

I had this idea with fixed deposits, where the fixed deposits are placed at x months apart, so that they would mature at in stages. IMO, this way more money can be placed in FDs with the flexibility of cash being available within a few months if necessary to avoid the need to liquidate an entire FD (and miss out on the interest) when the cash is needed.

I pitched the idea to my mum. She didn't like it. :(

You put like that, is the overall interest interest returns comparable to one lump sum? One lump sum may reach a higher quantum increase rate

Sent from Space using GAGT

MasterLeong

You put like that, is the overall interest interest returns comparable to one lump sum? One lump sum may reach a higher quantum increase rate

Sent from Space using GAGT

For FD lump sum 1 year the returns pretty decent like 1-2% maybe
If put 2 years higher a bit but more risk in rates being higher a year later
Usually best put 1 year by 1 year for FD
Each year shop around for a new deal lol

orhanzi

if look at ABF etf their holdings, most of their long term bonds are trading at way way above PAR value... very overvalued and dangerous to go in now

http://www.nikkoam.com.sg/files/documents/abf_singapore_bond_index_fund/indicative_holdings.pdf

2nd point to add, the yield is also very low at less than 2%

https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/SBIF:SP

I think SSB would be better than ABF for sure, since SSB is risk free

ABF now the big risk is higher rates, leading to lower NAV per share

if like that ? i better clear all my a35 and pump into g3b or es3 better ?

early 30s need any bond ? lol

MasterLeong

early 30s ok to have some bonds

A35 if u already have just hold on to it lor... just make sure its not too much of your portfolio... if say 10% of portfolio inside ABF is fine I guess

STI ETF you should have most since you are ETF investor right

madtari

I'm mid 30s but I am not holding any bonds... I used to hold some Equities Unit Trusts which I am doing DCA over the past decade but recently liquidated the entire 40k to concentrate firepower on stocks. :s13:

MasterLeong

I'm mid 30s but I am not holding any bonds... I used to hold some Equities Unit Trusts which I am doing DCA over the past decade but recently liquidated the entire 40k to concentrate firepower on stocks. :s13:

power la, now come focus fire too liao hahahaha

sti etf and stock picking sure better than unit trusts

the management fees on UT is like 1-3% yearly

madtari

US green green

Seems like Americans also like to flip prata. :D But I consider it to be flat lah... sometimes those article's title can be misleading...

Wall Street stocks retreat on profit-taking
The Dow Jones Industrial Average dipped 8.83 points (0.04 per cent) to 19,843.41.
The broad-based S&P 500 shed 3.96 points (0.18 per cent) to 2,258.07, while the tech-rich Nasdaq Composite Index declined 19.69 points (0.36 per cent) to 5,437.16.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/international/wall-street-stocks-retreat-on-profit-taking/3374282.html

Dividends Warrior

For the average investor in his 20s, 30s, 40s, no need bonds. Unless he is a millionaire with a few hundred grand to spare. SSB is good enough already.

MasterLeong

did some calculations on my portfolio segment %

banks 24.33%
telcos 26.63%
reits 42.4%
transport 6.64%

after adding so much telco and reits... my banks % now feels smaller.. so I definitely do not want to divest my bank shares

if market chiongs pass 3000, my 1st to take profit area would be transport... CDG my average price near 2.50 level so I would love to sell out at 3.00 for 20% gain if it happens hehehehe

MasterLeong

Seems like Americans also like to flip prata. :D But I consider it to be flat lah... sometimes those article's title can be misleading...

Wall Street stocks retreat on profit-taking
The Dow Jones Industrial Average dipped 8.83 points (0.04 per cent) to 19,843.41.
The broad-based S&P 500 shed 3.96 points (0.18 per cent) to 2,258.07, while the tech-rich Nasdaq Composite Index declined 19.69 points (0.36 per cent) to 5,437.16.
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/business/international/wall-street-stocks-retreat-on-profit-taking/3374282.html

end up red due to china worries gg

2 more weeks of trading before 2017 comes

anyone wanna guess the STI close?

I say around 2980 close for STI hahahaha

madtari

ya... ever since I started keying my trades in SGXCafe, then I realized my portfolio doing better than expected. Then I looked at my UT, only Aberdeen Pacific Equity & First State Regional China funds doing quite well. Aberdeen Singapore Equity fund profit is like only a fraction of what my portfolio is performing, and some others are disaster... Like how Fundsupermart and Dollar Dex promote Vietnam will be the next China/India in SEA.. I lost 50% in that fund. :s22: So end up I fed up paying so much to keep those fund managers instead I will manage my own portfolio and give up exposure to external markets (cos I am not confident in trading overseas counters).

MasterLeong

ya... ever since I started keying my trades in SGXCafe, then I realized my portfolio doing better than expected. Then I looked at my UT, only Aberdeen Pacific Equity & First State Regional China funds doing quite well. Aberdeen Singapore Equity fund profit is like only a fraction of what my portfolio is performing, and some others are disaster... Like how Fundsupermart and Dollar Dex promote Vietnam will be the next China/India in SEA.. I lost 50% in that fund. :s22: So end up I fed up paying so much to keep those fund managers instead I will manage my own portfolio and give up exposure to external markets (cos I am not confident in trading overseas counters).

Yeah some unit trusts really sucks
Even the sti etf beats most of them

lewissac

Thats what happen to my mum. She used her EPF (alternative of CPF in Msia) to invest her unit trust. After 11 yrs, She then only showed her statement. Did a quick check and management 5%!! :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Stright up tell her quit it immediately then.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.