*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

nope, din expect superb growth. im saying ceo should seek growth elsewhere to level the revenue losses in telco biz. price fell from 3.2 to 1.98 is ok for bluechip?

Sent from 穷小子 using GAGT

http://www.sharesinv.com/prices/index-sti/indicators?PHPSESSID=cadd6cab10814417b2906099514b9fea

if look at STI 30 blue chips the earnings for 2015/16

banks - flat earnings, still decent...not as bad as most thought
marine (KC/SMM/SCI) - earnings down 50%... very bad...
commodities (olam/noble/wilmar,goldn agri) - low to no earnings... super bad
reits (cct/cmt/areit) - flat dpu... still decent
property - lower earnings of 20-30%
telcos - lower earnings of 10%
engineering (SIA engg STE SIA) - lower earnings of 10-20%

all above just rough estimation

THE KEY POINT IS - ECONOMY IS SLOWING DOWN, EARNINGS ARE MOSTLY DOWN

will earnings fall every year? NO
when is the bottom? I do not know

but in the long run, recovery WILL EVENTUALLY COME

if sti 30 earnings cannot recovery then our HDB flats become worthless... left or right also die

so i rather buy and try to huat

get it?

shareholder

Starhub is an interesting company in sti. How come starhub can pay $0.2 dividends consistently for so many years when its eps is less than that at about $0.15. Is it through debt, if so then higher interest rate will have a big impact on its dividend payment. Let's discuss.

starfish.starfish

Don't you think it is FIFO era in the last few months or last 1-2 years ?
STI almost 'collapsed' once 3000+ achieved & recovered .

You can always fifo if u know wat ur doing.
Also seen newbies trying to follow and do fifo.
Their portfolio all in negatives now.

MasterLeong

Starhub is an interesting company in sti. How come starhub can pay $0.2 dividends consistently for so many years when its eps is less than that at about $0.15. Is it through debt, if so then higher interest rate will have a big impact on its dividend payment. Let's discuss.

they pay via retained earnngs and cash flow

Singapore companies cannot pay more dividends than earnings/cash flow

only Bermuda Incorporated companies can do that

same as why reits can have low to no earnings, yet maintain their DPU... dividends is paid out from cash flow

MasterLeong

they pay via retained earnngs and cash flow

Singapore companies cannot pay more dividends than earnings/cash flow

only Bermuda Incorporated companies can do that

same as why reits can have low to no earnings, yet maintain their DPU... dividends is paid out from cash flow

the opposite of starhub is example noble... in the past always report fantastic earnings... but paid little to no dividends

the earnings are all but paper profits

however dividends from reits and telcos are cold hard real cash that goes into your bank account

as for starhub, the big question in everyone's mind is whether the 20 cents dividends can be sustained or not?

in my view... to be on the safe side... best to treat it as dividends will be cut by 20%... to say 16 cents

Genosis

GOLDEN TIP

2015 and 2016 already bear bear attack

2017 95% chance to see bull come back!

Agree...i have greater confidence for 2017 as i am expecting a stronger Budget 2017 from ah heng and also game-changing plans from our Committee of Future Economy! :D

MasterLeong

First batch of ammo deployed on MLT, FLINT, Ascendas, PLife and MCT...but divested starhub & m1

Missed the boat on rmg...:(

ah........ u sell away m1 and starhub....... is this permanent or u intend to buy back at lower prices?

shareholder

GOLDEN TIP

2015 and 2016 already bear bear attack

2017 95% chance to see bull come back!

That's right, 2017 definitely strong bull! Many investors on the sidelines going to realise it a bit late and start going in after trump takes over and implements inflation boost. The long term investors will start selling some when the retail investors enter the market. If too many retail investors then another crash will come.

MasterLeong

Agree...i have greater confidence for 2017 as i am expecting a stronger Budget 2017 from ah heng and also game-changing plans from our Committee of Future Economy! :D

Waiting for full year results then early 2017 collect big dividends again
Huat ah $$$

MasterLeong

That's right, 2017 definitely strong bull! Many investors on the sidelines going to realise it a bit late and start going in after trump takes over and implements inflation boost. The long term investors will start selling some when the retail investors enter the market. If too many retail investors then another crash will come.

Trump kinda feels like is go big or go home type
He will create either a super bull or a super bear
Confirm will not see a stable market hahaha

MasterLeong

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.