*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

I inside FinTech already need maximum concentration and accuracy for 11+ hours daily, nowdays very careful on how weekends and holidays are spent so as to avoid burnout.

How did you survive 2 years in the front office sia? :s22:

signed a 2 year bond... do or die.. also must serve finish

but the 2 years, I really learnt the most about the market as an equities dealer... the closest to the market already.. see and learn everything from my senior and boss serving the private banking clients

the rich only grow richer, cold hard truths

MasterLeong

pway online poker and used the money to invest insai financial market

Jin satki, can bling moi to see around the world or notch

:o :D

be it poker, magic the gathering or stocks

its fundamentally the same skills to win, must master both the mathematical side and the psychological side

MasterLeong

These 2 telcos could see earnings slashed as TPG joins the fray
By Jude Chan / theedgemarkets.com.sg | December 16, 2016 : 12:42 PM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Dec 16): DBS Group Research is keeping its “fully valued” calls on M1 and StarHub, with earnings for the two telcos forecast to decline by 38% and 25% respectively by 2020, compared to 2015 levels.

DBS lowered its target price for M1 to $1.78, from $1.97 previously. Meanwhile, the target price for StarHub was lowered to $2.65, from $2.80 previously.

In a report on Thursday, DBS analyst Sachin Mittal says that even in the worst-case scenario for newcomer TPG Telecom, where it only manages to secure 6% revenue share of the telco market, M1 and StarHub stocks offer “limited upside potential”.

TPG on Wednesday made a winning bid of $105 million – three times higher than the minimum reserve price of $35 million – to defeat MyRepublic in the race to become Singapore fourth mobile operator.

(See TPG Telecom wins race to become Singapore’s fourth telco)

The Australian telecommunications company will be provisionally allocated 60 MHz of spectrum, comprising 20 MHz in the 900 MHz spectrum band and 40 MHz in the 2.3 GHz spectrum band, to provide International Mobile Telecommunications (IMT) and IMT-Advanced services such as 4G services.

“TPG with an annual EBITDA of A$770-775 million ($819-824 million) and FY16 (July year-end) net debt-to-EBITDA at 1.6x, has enough room to raise over $500 million to $1 billion required to roll out a mobile network,” says Mittal. “We project TPG to secure 8.5% revenue share by 2022.”

Due to its higher exposure to mobile revenue and a more price-sensitive subscriber base, Mittal says M1 – the smallest of Singapore’s three incumbent telcos – will be most impacted by the entry of TPG.

Cellular revenue accounted for approximately 68% of M1’s 3Q16 revenue.

“As a result, we expect the revenue share of M1 to drop from 18% in 2015 to 14% by 2022,” Mittal says.

DBS projects that M1’s total revenues will contract by 19% by 2022 from 2015 levels, while earnings decline by 38% during the same timeframe.

StarHub is expected to fare better than M1, with less reliance on mobile revenue, which made up 51% of total revenue in 3Q16.

“StarHub has also introduced more fixed-mobile bundling offers to reduce the loss of revenue share to a new entrant,” Mittal says.

DBS expects StarHub’s revenue share to drop from 30% in 2015 to 27% by 2022.

As a result, StarHub’s group earnings are expected to drop by 25% by 2022, compared to the 2015 level.

As at 12.36pm, shares of M1 are trading 1 cent higher at $1.96, while shares of StarHub are trading 1 cent higher at $2.82.

Tags:

MasterLeong

Growing exposure Down Under nudges this REIT up a notch
By Michelle Zhu / theedgemarkets.com.sg | December 16, 2016 : 1:22 PM MYT
Printer-friendly versionSend by emailPDF version
Translated by Google Translator:
Select Language*▼
SINGAPORE (Dec 16): CIMB is maintaining its “hold” call on Mapletree Logistics Trust (MLT) at a higher target price of $1.02 from 99 cents previously

This comes on the back of new accretive acquisitions and redevelopment projects to counterbalance organic portfolio weakness.

The Asia-focused logistics REIT recently announced it was acquiring four logistics properties in Victoria, Australia – adding 103,517 sqm of gross floor area (GFA) to almost double its existing Australia GFA.

(See also: Mapletree Logistics Trust to acquire 4 properties in Australia for $152 mil)

“With the acquisitions, MLT will now own nine properties in Australia, and the country will account for 9% of its revenue base (prev. 6.1%). The acquisitions are expected to be completed within the next few days,” note analysts Yeo Zhi Bin and Lock Mun Yee in a Thursday report.

They also believe the negative carry from MLT’s perpetual securities (perps) has been eliminated, as the acquisitions will be 40% funded by A$ debt, with 60% funded from the trust’s remaining proceeds of its $250 million perps issued in May 2016.

The analysts estimate around $89 million of perps still remains.

“Assuming portfolio cost of debt of 2.3% and cost of perps of 4.2%, we derive a WACC of 3.4% for this acquisition. Post-acquisition, MLT expects gearing to increase from 37.6% (as at 1HFY17) to 39.4%,” add Lock and Mun.

“The stock is trading at around 1 s.d below mean (7.6% FY18 dividend yield and 1x P/BV), suggesting that the negative headwinds have been priced in. Upside/downside risks hinge on leasing activities,” they conclude.

As at 1:08pm, shares of MLT are trading 0.5% higher at $1.

Dividends Warrior

Same age range as you bro. But a lot less successful :(

And still got another 4.5 years to go before PR, unless as promised the administration changes the requirement to 1 year for those under this system.

http://bit.ly/2hV2LzR

Sad to lose a young talent from Singapore, but I still wish you a fulfilling and prosperous life in Japan! Jia You!

[M]aiev

but the 2 years, I really learnt the most about the market as an equities dealer... the closest to the market already.. see and learn everything from my senior and boss serving the private banking clients

the rich only grow richer, cold hard truths

Must treat you lim kopi one day liao.

:D

MasterLeong

after thinking about it

maybe stocks(300k) + hdb(300k) + bonds(200k) combo would be best for me

leech off the passive income and focus on my hobbies/interests instead ba...

L'oreal Paris

I overshot liao :( and have no aquire a reits and parkway life

Currently holding at almost 3k each for

Cmt fct Mct cct and 8k for fcl

MasterLeong

I overshot liao :( and have no aquire a reits and parkway life

Currently holding at almost 3k each for

Cmt fct Mct cct and 8k for fcl

FCL if got 1.60 maybe you can sell half to take profits?

then all will look more balanced at 3-4k each for power of CD

orhanzi

I used to play on pokerstars, over 300k winnings from tournaments

winnings can be wired to local bank account with no problems in the past

and sadly banned already, if not I would surely continue

:( sigh, i also trying to find a way in. seems hard :(

akwl88

LONDON: Investors sound optimistic about a breakout for the world economy next year, but for all the talk of huge tax cuts from the incoming U.S. presidency of Donald Trump, the economic outlook looks similar to 2016: uneven and unspectacular.

Accelerating inflation and a soaring U.S. dollar as the Federal Reserve raises interest rates are also risks to the economic balance, magnified by that pending stimulus.

Much may hinge on financial markets, which for a brief period around the start of this year looked like their fretting over China might throw the global economy off track. There is plenty more uncertainty about trade with China now than then.

So, many of the several hundred professionals polled by Reuters worldwide say the global trade slowdown during the world economy's lukewarm recovery from financial crisis that started nearly a decade ago could worsen.

Emerging economies will remain vulnerable. Brazil's persistent, crippling recession is way out of line with its soaring stock market, and much of Asia will grow below potential, putting the latest global growth forecast for the year ahead at 3.2 percent, less optimistic than it was this time last year.

For the developed world, meanwhile, it has been productivity gains that have been lacking for so long and policymakers remain at a loss on the reasons why, and how to remedy the problem.

The U.S. jobless rate is already down to 4.6 percent and hiring slowing, so economists say improving growth in output per worker will be crucial for prosperity.

"Mr. Trump and his team have promised growth of 3.5 to 4 percent or more, which we see as 'magical thinking' unless accompanied by accelerated productivity growth," noted Michael Carey, U.S. economist at CA-CIB in New York.

(For interactive graphic economic outlook from Reuters polls, click http://tmsnrt.rs/2e7JFpt)

MARKETS OUT OF STEP

The most optimistic U.S. growth forecast for any point in 2017 in a Reuters poll taken a month after Trump's shock election victory was 3.8 percent, well short of the peak rate in a business cycle that is already mature by past standards.

The consensus, in line with the Fed's view, is a little above 2 percent. That is similar to a Reuters poll outlook for 2016 in a series of forecasts made a year ago on growth, rates, inflation and foreign exchange that were broadly accurate.

Such lukewarm growth does not compute with another set of wildly bullish stock market views, although it is clear many strategists who initially said Trump would be a threat to markets have abruptly changed their minds since the election.

Strategists foresee a rising U.S. dollar, already at a 14-year high, and U.S. Treasury yields edging up as the Fed follows through with more rate hikes next year. But Wall Street isn't convinced yet there will be three more.

A rising dollar may blunt future performance of U.S. companies, many dependent on international business for revenue. Many of their share prices trade near record highs, but propped up by buyback schemes and stimulus, not business investment.

Dollar strength, weakening other currencies, will also influence how emerging markets manage relatively higher inflation, as well as wilting business confidence.

But for all the talk of trade barriers, oil prices rising on supply cuts, and planned U.S. tax cuts and infrastructure spending, the global inflation outlook hasn't changed much, even if the Fed is sounding more worried about it.

The Fed's preferred inflation gauge is forecast to average 1.8 percent next year, in line with its own view. ]

POLITICAL RISK RISING

The world's second largest economy, China, has turned up slightly this year, but built on a government borrowing binge and a partly-managed weaker currency. Growth is forecast to slow, and tensions between Beijing and the incoming Trump administration are already flaring. ]

Even India's economy - the fastest-growing in the world this year - is bracing for a growth hit from a radical government move to replace huge swathes of its currency in circulation.

One bright spot is the recent acceleration in euro zone growth as the European Central Bank continues buying tens of billions of euros worth of bonds each month, keeping the euro under pressure and making exports relatively cheaper.

But elections in Germany, France and the Netherlands threaten to further challenge the status quo just as economic effects from expected formal divorce proceedings start to appear after Britain's shock vote in June to leave the European Union.

The potency of global monetary policy is fading too, and further out of synch with the Fed's tightening campaign. The ECB and other major central banks like the Reserve Bank of India and the Central Bank of Brazil, are expected to ease more.

MasterLeong

all my reits and telcos in the red, but no regrets and no worries
just hold and collect dividends

2cg2ae0.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.