Official MIO TV Thread.......

seeyourhead_jiejie

for bpl package miotv only on loan...6mths contract for the azt modem if on existing 8mbps onwards snbb with existing miotv that need 2nd line for bpl miotv package...
:eek: got on loan 1 ?
then what about those normal 1 ? not bpl package ?
is free /

a562140

alls well until now - seems only the world cup channel affected, the other SD and ESPN HD channels look fine! wanted to record game but can't now.

darford87

Hi ppl!! those who are interested in signing up for MioTV and MioHome do drop mi a PM cuz im workin for a roadshow and the promotions are damn good.. will try to get back to u asap.. and do leave ur hp no so i can get back to you! =)

Downloader

I've already gotten MIO TV BPL with ESPN Star Sports Package to specically watch F1 cos SingTel sales says StarHub won't be showing F1 anymore from 1 July.

When my family member mistakenly terminated StarHub Sports Package last month, I called to re-active cos the cutover is still not due for me to watch F1. However, StarHub sales says there will still be F1 beyond July 1.

Starhub website says "ESPN (Ch 294) and STAR SPORTS (Ch 273), currently offered as part of Sports Group subscription, will not be available on StarHub TV with effect from 1 July 2010."

However, as of now, it's still available. This weekend F1 is also on the StarHub TV Guide and I've set it for HubStation recording.

This is so confusing. So who is telling the truth?

Downloader

Ah thanks! This is helpful!

I got some more questions.

Now when I check the faq, it says "can record Free-To-Air channels, as well as Broadcast Channels that you have subscribed to". However, when I signed up for BPL + ESS, I was told by SingTel sales no point getting the DVR STB at extra monthly charge cos only free-to-air channels can be recorded when I specifically asked if I can record BPL and F1.

Then I asked after the live broadcast has finished, if it will be put on demand channels for limited time. I was told it will for F1 as well, just as it will be for BPL under Football Frenzy.

Can anyone confirm what is correct or wrong?

I think I'm been given the wrong info and may sign up for the DVR STB and insist they waive the service call fee of $37.50.

Also, is it only with the DVR STB then can pause, rewind, forward i.e. control live tv including BPL & F1 live broadcast?

Last question is for my uncle who is a tennis fan although I do watch the occasional tennis if I happen to chance upon live broadcast. It seems StarHub New Sports package also has tennis. Won't MIO TV ESS also have? Are they both covering different live tennis tournaments? If so what is the different tournaments and he has to subscribe to both in order not to miss out any?

ryanlinr2

anyone interested in signing up for Mio TV for sports pack or any supersaver content pack, drop me a pm.got better lobang :)

darford87

Hi ppl!! those who are interested in signing up for MioTV and MioHome do drop mi a PM cuz im workin for a roadshow and the promotions are damn good.. will try to get back to u asap.. and do leave ur hp no so i can get back to you! =)

Yat

miotv always gives problem

juz want to share my experience with miotv. i decided to subscribed World Cup package with Singtel instead of Starhub solely because my existing SH STB is non-HD. Since miotv STB is by default HD and it is free (coz i'm already on MioTV sports package), it makes sense to go with singtel.

I was very pleased with the HD experience during the World Cup opening game btw S. Africa and Mexico. But it was shortlive when S. Africa scored the 1st goal... my neighbours in my estate who are on Starhub shouting GOOAAAALLLLLL 15 seconds before I saw it on mioTV!!! So it turns out, through Singtel official release, that their technology results in delay.

Nevermind, I can watch with a headphone so that I will not be pre-empt on a goal...

I usually switch off all appliances when they are not in use, singtel modem and miotv STB included. FYI, I'm using homeplug supplied by ST since, like most people, I do not have a phone jack right next to my TV.

Given numerous bad experiences with miotv e.g. slow startup, image hang, failure to start up... i always leave STB and modem on if i watch the 2:30am game.
During this WC, i already encountered a few occasions when miotv failed to startup, or images get interrupted intermittently.

So last night, to prepare for Germang vs Spain game, I switched on the machines and went to sleep. To my horror yet again, at 2:30am, I noticed miotv failed to work! So i restarted a few times and finally, images appeared. However, they are of very bad quality e.g. freeze frame, garbage, stuttering etc. I thought this only applies to WC channel 88 but it turned out all channels are affected!!!

Thank goodness that Mediacorp is screening all games from semis onwards, so I had to make do with Ch5 on my starhub STB. How bad can Singtel be? When will they buck up and improve??

Now that ST is holding our balls with EPL, we have no choice. But I have decided, if after 1 season of EPL on mioTv and it still does not improve, I will not stick to mioTV anymore, even if I don't get to watch EPL and ESPN. Furthermore, watch SD programmes on mioTV is a pain due to the 4:3 format on HD TV, unlike Starhub. Anyone knows if there is a setting that i can do? My stb is on 1080i and the mode is normal. My TV is on Full mode.

Anyone here with same bad experience with mioTV frequently?

alanchia67

if you set miotv stb as wide-screen (aka 16:9) to match your wide-screen tv, you can always change the aspect ratio on the miotv stb by pressing the aspect button (I think it's labelled as '#') on the remote.

Yat

watch SD prog on mioTV using HD TV

if you set miotv stb as wide-screen (aka 16:9) to match your wide-screen tv, you can always change the aspect ratio on the miotv stb by pressing the aspect button (I think it's labelled as '#') on the remote.

There is an Option button at the bottom right corner of my miotv remote. If i want to watch SD 4:3 prog on my HDTV w/o seeing the side bars, i can set it to "stretch" while my TV is set to FULL.

But if this setting remains unchanged and I switch to a HD channel like World Cup Ch88 or HD5, part of the display gets truncated!!! Also, if i press Menu or Guide on miotv remote, the menu is also truncated/blocked. So it is very ridiculous to expect users to keep switching the options depending on SD/HD programmes or accessing menu.

Starhub TV has no such problem. So bottomline, mioTv technology sucks big time. Lastly, I have no idea how the new nationwide broadband thingy will help mioTV, unless ST provides a new model or STB.

Yat

My experience with Mio TV.

When first install. No problems at all. Watch HD 5, watch VOD etc etc all OK.

After a few months, cancel my starhub cable tv.

So world cup comes, I subscribe early bird. First day, Shiok! Watch opening ceremony and matches in HD. All matches are ok.

Saturday comes. 730pm! On TV, the bloody thing plays for 1s, and freeze. Switch channel, play 1s, freeze. So basically I have to switch channels to watch 1s of action. Try to off my torrents, reset router etc etc. Still same.

Call the hotline, the say go watch channel 909. Then I realise channel 909 is non HD, and besides, its the same. Just that is 5s, then hang. Call them again, they make me go through soft reset, hard reset, reset and pair comtrend.... In the end, first 2 matches all over, still no remedy. Ask me go watch on internet. That really pissed me off, I pay so much watch on internet?! Do they know a lot of 'free' streaming around?! So I demanded to speak to someone of authority but no use... In the end the best they could do is send technician down and waive the fees til technician come.

Tech came a few days later.... No problems liao. Come touch touch here and there. Go to router config and see see. Say should be no problem liao... As I expected...

So from then till last saturday, not much problems. Sometimes lag abit, but still watchable. My friends came on Friday, heng no problem.

Then come Saturday... problem came back. watch 5s freeze... call hotline again, ask me to go through the reset crap again. No use. Ask me to don't use internet when watching... I immediately screw them... Why I pay both subscriptions then??? Besides, I'm quite sure the internet is not the problem as only my wife is surfing and reading manga and nothing else... that little bandwidth can be so much difference? So the CSO quickly want to siam, just say they do port reset on their side, wait 10-15mins if not ok call back again... I know very well its just bull****ting me but bobian...

15mins passed. Same thing. Call again. Then they say send technician down. By then, 10pm match already over. Around 1am the tech reached and the miotv was still hanging... But then, he off the thing, touch touch here and there for 15mins. On again and everything ok. So he say no problem liao everything here is ok. Gave me some tips on the sequence of switching on stuff etc ... And say if got any other problem he can't help... Its Mio TV server problem... What can I say?

So off he goes. 230am match was ok. Then yesterday 6+pm. My parents came my house to eat dinner... watch to watch tv.... Sigh... cant watch again... Really dont know what to do anymore.

So yea. Mio TV sucks big time. As far as I can tell, popular matches during prime time will lag/freeze like hell and its not only WC channels lag, cant even watch SD channels through mio tv. Must switch back to cable mode.

Tech support is crap... problems cannot be resolved. Use delay tactics to drag time and hope the problem disappear then tell you its resolved. Good thing its supposedly 'free' cos bundled with mio home as my interenet fees alone was higher than the bundled price previously...

bro, i share your pain... did you notice where the technician touch touch here, touch touch there to make it magically work?

what's the sequence of operations that you mentioned? i always switch off the modem and STB (which is on homeplug) when not in use, and the inly sequence i know is, the modem must first be connected successful to ADSL before i can switch on the bloody STB. even doing does not guarantee success.

Sometimes, I can see my homeplug lights flashing red light macham ultraman, and the image is ok on TV. other times, the homeplug is flashing yellow (means steady bom bi bi), but yet the image is stuttering.... frustrating... 1 season of EPL and ESPN and that's it.

liangtam

There is an Option button at the bottom right corner of my miotv remote. If i want to watch SD 4:3 prog on my HDTV w/o seeing the side bars, i can set it to "stretch" while my TV is set to FULL.

But if this setting remains unchanged and I switch to a HD channel like World Cup Ch88 or HD5, part of the display gets truncated!!! Also, if i press Menu or Guide on miotv remote, the menu is also truncated/blocked. So it is very ridiculous to expect users to keep switching the options depending on SD/HD programmes or accessing menu.

Starhub TV has no such problem. So bottomline, mioTv technology sucks big time. Lastly, I have no idea how the new nationwide broadband thingy will help mioTV, unless ST provides a new model or STB.

This one is TV internal picture controller problem liao. Next time, buy a kimchi TV

lockks

Miotv technology sucks. Their transmission doesn't display 16:9 directly into your lcd tv. I am amazed singtel can bring such ridiculous product to sell in singapore. I think singtel has totally lost control of its business development.

Downloader

Those using MIO DVR STB, kindly let me know if you can record sports channels i.e. football channels, espn, star sports. If other channels can record, kindly let me know what are these.

Thanks!

hi_everyone

Those using MIO DVR STB, kindly let me know if you can record sports channels i.e. football channels, espn, star sports. If other channels can record, kindly let me know what are these.

Thanks!

If I don't remember wrongly, you can record all the shows in the miotv (provided you subscribe to the channel)

hi_everyone

My experience with Mio TV.

When first install. No problems at all. Watch HD 5, watch VOD etc etc all OK.

After a few months, cancel my starhub cable tv.

So world cup comes, I subscribe early bird. First day, Shiok! Watch opening ceremony and matches in HD. All matches are ok.

Saturday comes. 730pm! On TV, the bloody thing plays for 1s, and freeze. Switch channel, play 1s, freeze. So basically I have to switch channels to watch 1s of action. Try to off my torrents, reset router etc etc. Still same.

Call the hotline, the say go watch channel 909. Then I realise channel 909 is non HD, and besides, its the same. Just that is 5s, then hang. Call them again, they make me go through soft reset, hard reset, reset and pair comtrend.... In the end, first 2 matches all over, still no remedy. Ask me go watch on internet. That really pissed me off, I pay so much watch on internet?! Do they know a lot of 'free' streaming around?! So I demanded to speak to someone of authority but no use... In the end the best they could do is send technician down and waive the fees til technician come.

Tech came a few days later.... No problems liao. Come touch touch here and there. Go to router config and see see. Say should be no problem liao... As I expected...

So from then till last saturday, not much problems. Sometimes lag abit, but still watchable. My friends came on Friday, heng no problem.

Then come Saturday... problem came back. watch 5s freeze... call hotline again, ask me to go through the reset crap again. No use. Ask me to don't use internet when watching... I immediately screw them... Why I pay both subscriptions then??? Besides, I'm quite sure the internet is not the problem as only my wife is surfing and reading manga and nothing else... that little bandwidth can be so much difference? So the CSO quickly want to siam, just say they do port reset on their side, wait 10-15mins if not ok call back again... I know very well its just bull****ting me but bobian...

15mins passed. Same thing. Call again. Then they say send technician down. By then, 10pm match already over. Around 1am the tech reached and the miotv was still hanging... But then, he off the thing, touch touch here and there for 15mins. On again and everything ok. So he say no problem liao everything here is ok. Gave me some tips on the sequence of switching on stuff etc ... And say if got any other problem he can't help... Its Mio TV server problem... What can I say?

So off he goes. 230am match was ok. Then yesterday 6+pm. My parents came my house to eat dinner... watch to watch tv.... Sigh... cant watch again... Really dont know what to do anymore.

So yea. Mio TV sucks big time. As far as I can tell, popular matches during prime time will lag/freeze like hell and its not only WC channels lag, cant even watch SD channels through mio tv. Must switch back to cable mode.

Tech support is crap... problems cannot be resolved. Use delay tactics to drag time and hope the problem disappear then tell you its resolved. Good thing its supposedly 'free' cos bundled with mio home as my interenet fees alone was higher than the bundled price previously...

May I know what is the internet speed that you are using?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.