Official MIO TV Thread.......

croc1977

Agree that it's useless. Can't imagine Singtel implementing something that in all likelihood won't be useful to most of us.

I mean, how many of us have an apartment configuration that will allow line-of-sight placement for the STBs to work wirelessly?

I think we may be missing something here.
really stupid lor ...but i will try first and review later

beano

Hi all,

The Wireless Home Bridge (WHB) primarily provides wireless capability for the Singtel TV service. As such, TV data packets are prioritised over others. It is not optimised for general Internet coverage.

WiFi Mesh is omni-direction, full and all round coverage while WHB is generally uni-directional as you point one unit to face the other unit connected to the Singtel TV set-top box.

The current WHB we issue is from Technicolor, model is TG233.

Thanks.

Hi there @Singtel, PM you, could you please get back to me?

rainforest

Hi guys, just recontracted and found this amazing trick to get discounts for your mio tv.
Go to the Singtel @ Jurong Point and say you want to terminate your singtel tv. They will redirect you to this retention counter that can give you lots of discounts.

I managed to recontract my fibre at $39.90, and get 50% for my entire contract for Singtel tv( only $12/month for my tv plan). Also they waived the box rental for the entire duration of the contract. Very worth. Last time pay $40/month now pay $12 for the same thing.

They purposely give you many discount so they make you stay, so just say you want to terminate tv when you actually don’t want

Hi, will they give the same offer as you if recontract on the phone ? Thanks.

renfred89

Erm although it’s no as good as cable, but it’s the next best alternative to cable, for those who die die cannot trunk cables.

Unidirectional antenna is much stronger than omnidirectional anyway..

Agree that it's useless. Can't imagine Singtel implementing something that in all likelihood won't be useful to most of us.

I mean, how many of us have an apartment configuration that will allow line-of-sight placement for the STBs to work wirelessly?

I think we may be missing something here.

Paul Lee

Erm although it’s no as good as cable, but it’s the next best alternative to cable, for those who die die cannot trunk cables.

Unidirectional antenna is much stronger than omnidirectional anyway..

I guess unidirectional does not necessarily mean line of sight rt?

Meaning the signals should be able to penetrate walls to some extent and not require the sets to face each other without any obstructions between them rt?

If yes, then I agree that it would not be totally useless.

croc1977

Meaning the signals should be able to penetrate walls to some extent and not require the sets to face each other without any obstructions between them rt?

if it required something like mirror effect? need to see each other than work ...die liao this product

renfred89

if it required something like mirror effect? need to see each other than work ...die liao this product

Unidirectional antenna needs to be facing each other in a general direction, not die die must be a linear line. However, as long as there's something in between them, be it a physical obstruction or a wall, then the signal will be subjected to interference and attenuation.

What i was trying to say was that unidirectional antenna is a better option than omnidirectional due to the concentration of radio wave in one direction, and can also help to reduce the attenuation due to signal loss when there's a wall in between. It can still be a usable alternative to physical trunking, but may not work in all situations. Hence, a field engineer is required to evaluate the physical environment in order to advise the best action.

pippen77

Looks like my SH cable TV days are over soon & I do not want to lay any trunkings in my house.
Is there any possibility to have fibre internet + wireless mesh for TV and internet + fibre TVs ( i wanted wireless connection for all my 3 set-top boxes)l?

renfred89

Looks like my SH cable TV days are over soon & I do not want to lay any trunkings in my house.
Is there any possibility to have fibre internet + wireless mesh for TV and internet + fibre TVs ( i wanted wireless connection for all my 3 set-top boxes)l?

your question berry confusion, consider rephrasing?

pippen77

your question berry confusion, consider rephrasing?

sorry. let me try to rephrase...

1. I need to change from cable internet/tv to fibre internet/tv.
2. my FTP is at the main door, and i need 3 set top boxes far away from the FTP
a. living room
b. master bedroom
c. bedroom 2
3. I don't want to lay lan cables from FTP to the 3 rooms.
4. android tv is no go as i have elderly who are not IT savvy to use android TVs.

the only possible option by STARHUB is
FTP-->ONT -->EOCC---> STBs in ROOMS
FTP-->ONT --> Router (Internet)

the only possible option by SINGTEL is
FTP-->ONT -->WHB (Wireless Home Bridge) ---> STBs in ROOMS

So I was thinking if it is possible for SINGTEL to
FTP-->ONT--> WIFI MESH --->STBs in ROOMS
And whether if the wireless data from the mesh can be used for Internet in the house.

Also, i have gathered different story from different sales ppl from singtel , they say
(1) wireless not possible at all
(2) wireless mesh possible for tv signal, but die die must lay cable to the set-top box in the living roo,
(3) dunno.

renfred89

Wireless is possible, but doesn’t guarantee quality unless a field engineer has already evaluated your environment hence he can recommend the option for you. Singtel tv is a sensitive service, the moment you have packet loss or sudden surge in latency, your viewing experience is affected.

Hence I don’t think anyone can give u an outright recommendation to your suggestion for now. Cable option is still the best.

sorry. let me try to rephrase...

1. I need to change from cable internet/tv to fibre internet/tv.
2. my FTP is at the main door, and i need 3 set top boxes far away from the FTP
a. living room
b. master bedroom
c. bedroom 2
3. I don't want to lay lan cables from FTP to the 3 rooms.
4. android tv is no go as i have elderly who are not IT savvy to use android TVs.

the only possible option by STARHUB is
FTP-->ONT -->EOCC---> STBs in ROOMS

the only possible option by SINGTEL is
FTP-->ONT -->WHB (Wireless Home Bridge) ---> STBs in ROOMS

So I was thinking if it is possible for SINGTEL to
FTP-->ONT--> WIFI MESH --->STBs in ROOMS
And whether if the wireless data from the mesh can be used for Internet in the house.

Also, i have gathered different story from different sales ppl from singtel , they say
(1) wireless not possible at all
(2) wireless mesh possible for tv signal, but die die must lay cable to the set-top box in the living roo,
(3) dunno.

Singtel

Hi beano,

Thanks for reaching out. We have responded to your PM and will follow-up further with you once our sales team comes back with further information.

@Singtel, can you please respond to my PM?

Singtel

Hi all,

Regarding the ongoing discussion about the Wireless Home Bridge (WHB), we do agree with what renfred89 shared in his post quoted below.

For a new customer signing up for Singtel TV requiring the WHB, our field engineers would have set up the WHB units to face each other in a general direction, not necessarily with line of sight, to be effective.

Our engineers have conducted tests on the WHB prior and have found that it works well in regular HDB settings. Signals have been found to be able to pass through obstacles including walls without issues.

Thanks.

Unidirectional antenna needs to be facing each other in a general direction, not die die must be a linear line. However, as long as there's something in between them, be it a physical obstruction or a wall, then the signal will be subjected to interference and attenuation.

What i was trying to say was that unidirectional antenna is a better option than omnidirectional due to the concentration of radio wave in one direction, and can also help to reduce the attenuation due to signal loss when there's a wall in between. It can still be a usable alternative to physical trunking, but may not work in all situations. Hence, a field engineer is required to evaluate the physical environment in order to advise the best action.

croc1977

Hi all,

Regarding the ongoing discussion about the Wireless Home Bridge (WHB), we do agree with what renfred89 shared in his post quoted below.

For a new customer signing up for Singtel TV requiring the WHB, our field engineers would have set up the WHB units to face each other in a general direction, not necessarily with line of sight, to be effective.

Our engineers have conducted tests on the WHB prior and have found that it works well in regular HDB settings. Signals have been found to be able to pass through obstacles including walls without issues.

Thanks.
that's good news to me

radioshack

I have subscribed HBO Go via Singtel Cast..However, i only received the live channels via the Cast App. How do i access the on demand dramas and movies???

pippen77

Wireless is possible, but doesn’t guarantee quality unless a field engineer has already evaluated your environment hence he can recommend the option for you. Singtel tv is a sensitive service, the moment you have packet loss or sudden surge in latency, your viewing experience is affected.

Hence I don’t think anyone can give u an outright recommendation to your suggestion for now. Cable option is still the best.

Thanks. MY conclusion would be

(1) WHB is possible, but not guarantee to have good TV signal for the whole house.
(2) EOCC is possible too. As it is now EOCC is still a better option. Esp when I can still MESH my the internet data for the house.
(3) SingtelLMESH to carry both tv & internal signal does not seems to be possible, & it would be the best option as it minimise the no of equipment to be setup in the house.

Thanks Everyone!

xiaofan

Thanks. MY conclusion would be

(1) WHB is possible, but not guarantee to have good TV signal for the whole house.
(2) EOCC is possible too. As it is now EOCC is still a better option. Esp when I can still MESH my the internet data for the house.
(3) SingtelLMESH to carry both tv & internal signal does not seems to be possible, & it would be the best option as it minimise the no of equipment to be setup in the house.

Thanks Everyone!

1) From what I read it will work most likely based on the answer from SingTel.
2) EOCC is from Starhub. You can use Moca for Starhub Fibre TV or SingTel TV as well if you have the cable infrastructure at home.
3) SingTel Mesh works with SingTel TV and Internet.

For 1) and 3), you probably can get the support from SingTel. For Moca you are probably on your own.

Bottom line, SingTel TV supports wireless whereas Starhub Fibre TV does not.

But Starhub got the Go Streaming Box whereas SingTel does not. On the other hand SingTel TV Go and SingTel Cast may work on Mi Box S or Nvidia Shield TV whereas Starhub Go does not. Of course you can still use Starhub Go on your mobile phone and then cast to TV through Mi Box S or Nvidia Shield TV. Same for SingTel TV Go and SingTel Cast.

windwaver

Hi beano,

Thanks for reaching out. We have responded to your PM and will follow-up further with you once our sales team comes back with further information.

I've called Singtel with regards to jumping over from Starhub (broadband and TV services). However, the CSO that picked up my call don't even know what Starhub offers and just give me URLs to Singtel's website (which I already know).

If Singtel were to expect people to jump ship, your CSO needs to be better. Simply giving people URLs doesn't cut it these days.

Frankly, after the call, I really have 2nd thoughts about Singtel.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.