Official MIO TV Thread.......

astonchew

singtel will give free second phone line dedicated for your miotv if you're on the 10mbps or higher plan. this will in turn resolve all bandwidth issues that you will face if using just 1 line.
installation is free.

i just got it installed early last week.
this is with the signup of the bpl package. :)

COL Juay

singtel will give free second phone line dedicated for your miotv if you're on the 10mbps or higher plan. this will in turn resolve all bandwidth issues that you will face if using just 1 line.
installation is free.

i just got it installed early last week.
this is with the signup of the bpl package. :)

bro, i just checked yesterday, unless im damn suay, zhun zhun, they stopped this offer. initially they tell me got xtra phoneline also. Now they change!

chunlianghere

HUH???? i really lost u.

3mbps: shldnt hav such problem.?????????????????
lower internet bandwidth no issues? (do you mean if i choose slower internet speeds, i will not stress my phoneline or the miobox so much till my miotv freeze)

bandwidth is nt like frequency what? correct me if i'm wrong. If u're telling me miotv uses 10-15mbps of bandwidth, so if i use a different connection speed of 6mbps or 3mbps, then i wun have such issue (what i infer from you is since different speeds/frequency so wun affect)? BUT at 6mbps or 3mbps, i think my MAX download speed will suffer alot. Isnt it like cutting my own leg to fit into a small shoe.

SO, if i use 10 or even 15mbps, will my miotv freeze?? and why chances of freezing will be higher? care to explain?

sorry i'm a noob with mio infrastructure.

Thanks for any advices. Much appreciated.

miotv is IPTV. going through internet.

so miotv will use 10-15Mbps bandwidth in order to hav clear n lag free experience.

the internet broadband will also going through the same line wit miotv. so the total bandwidth tat is given or attained is important.

the max bandwidth for adsl2+ is 24Mbps. tat will be provided tat the exchange dslam is near to yr hse. means the total distance from exchange to yr hse must be around 500m. (u can check the line attenuation dB from yr modem, got to be 7.0dB)

most of the case, 24Mbps is not always possible. (line condition also will contribute).

so now u shld knw if internet is 10Mbps, either 1 wil suffer.

COL Juay

miotv is IPTV. going through internet.

so miotv will use 10-15Mbps bandwidth in order to hav clear n lag free experience.

the internet broadband will also going through the same line wit miotv. so the total bandwidth tat is given or attained is important.

the max bandwidth for adsl2+ is 24Mbps. tat will be provided tat the exchange dslam is near to yr hse. means the total distance from exchange to yr hse must be around 500m. (u can check the line attenuation dB from yr modem, got to be 7.0dB)

most of the case, 24Mbps is not always possible. (line condition also will contribute).

so now u shld knw if internet is 10Mbps, either 1 wil suffer.

OIC. bravo! given the worse case scenario, so the only possible n realistic solution is, 2 houseline? means 2x10mbps wun have an issue anymore i presume?

btw how to check the line attenuation dB from my modem?

i feel damn dumb :(

thanks a million!

chunlianghere

OIC. bravo! given the worse case scenario, so the only possible n realistic solution is, 2 houseline? means 2x10mbps wun have an issue anymore i presume?

btw how to check the line attenuation dB from my modem?

i feel damn dumb :(

thanks a million!

2wire:
192.168.1.254/mdc (pw: "2wire" if any)

Broadband Link -> Details

st536:
go to 192.168.1.254 -> Broadband Connection -> DSL Connection

COL Juay

2wire:
192.168.1.254/mdc (pw: "2wire" if any)

Broadband Link -> Details

st536:
go to 192.168.1.254 -> Broadband Connection -> DSL Connection

bro, i'm using Aztec duno what model white colour modem. But anw, i login in saw this:

Downstream Upstream
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 21356 1132
Current Rate (Kbps): 21229 1022
Attenuation (dB): 4.5 0.7
SNR Margin (dB): 9.1 8.0
Output Power (dBm): 19.5 1.9

SO, I do not have that 7.0db. mine should be 4.5db? shorter db better or longer? i do not really get the measurement units.

but i called singtel and literally screw them. and now they say,
"as long as the houseline, miotv, broadband services are ALL UNDER the same NRIC, singtel WILL provide you with an OPTIONAL ADDITIONAL houseline FREE FREE FREE with NO quarterly subscriptions ($25/3mths), houseline activation fees ($50) and number tracing fees ($50) just normal usage charge if you call out.

Now i'm gonna screw the singtel manager at Bugis Outlet. ZZZ waste my saliva n effort.

chunlianghere

bro, i'm using Aztec duno what model white colour modem. But anw, i login in saw this:

Downstream Upstream
Attainable Rate (Kbps): 21356 1132
Current Rate (Kbps): 21229 1022
Attenuation (dB): 4.5 0.7
SNR Margin (dB): 9.1 8.0
Output Power (dBm): 19.5 1.9

SO, I do not have that 7.0db. mine should be 4.5db? shorter db better or longer? i do not really get the measurement units.

but i called singtel and literally screw them. and now they say,
"as long as the houseline, miotv, broadband services are ALL UNDER the same NRIC, singtel WILL provide you with an OPTIONAL ADDITIONAL houseline FREE FREE FREE with NO quarterly subscriptions ($25/3mths), houseline activation fees ($50) and number tracing fees ($50) just normal usage charge if you call out.

Now i'm gonna screw the singtel manager at Bugis Outlet. ZZZ waste my saliva n effort.

Attenuation: lower is better. lower is shorter distance.
SNR Margin: higher is better.

liangtam

Ask for it before they come install lor.
Make sure they bring in a new wiring and not split pairs.

chunlianghere

lol, meaning my distance is short, den i can attain 24mbps?? hahaha.. i still want the extra phoneline for convenience sake though.

tat would hav to leave it to the backend to c if possible. the linestats u shown is 21Mbps nah..

COL Juay

after MUCH hassle and a super long wait for the processing to be approved. starting at 845pm and left hello shop at 1030pm zzz.they're giving me that 2nd houseline and providing me free cabling and a new wall socket right into my room from outside my house. CHEERS. finally singtel is less dumb..

let's hope the internet speed is as gd as starhub's 12mbps though singtel's offer is 10mbps.

tinsel77

anyone notice that the HD blue light indicator on their set top box is now on? And the signal that comes in is HD? or is it my setting got problem? Switch on the tv this morning and all the free-to-air channels super sharp but compressed, ie. 2 black bars on each side.

COL Juay

anyone notice that the HD blue light indicator on their set top box is now on? And the signal that comes in is HD? or is it my setting got problem? Switch on the tv this morning and all the free-to-air channels super sharp but compressed, ie. 2 black bars on each side.

go to options and stretch your tv to fit probably. all the while the images were alittle super sharper.

newcell

Posted this immediately after miotv box firmware upgrade.

On 10Mbps / watching HD channel / surfing youtube
absolutely no freezing on both. Well done Singtel.:)

*All from same line, no second line for miotv, with homeplug.

4557483724_dd0ce78989_b.jpg

4559311299_25a05f66fd_o.jpg

chunlianghere

Posted this immediately after miotv box firmware upgrade.

On 10Mbps / watching HD channel / surfing youtube
absolutely no freezing on both. Well done Singtel.:)

*All from same line, no second line for miotv.

yr linestats pls..:o

idiort

mine still freezing for livetv.... video on demand no problem,never freeze...

shud be bandwith problems.. sian.. waiting for them to call me back again..

its dedicated line for miotv only somemore..

Francis85

Backend Issues, got some problems with profile for MIO TV...... If live channel freeze and VOD dun is profile problems......

mine still freezing for livetv.... video on demand no problem,never freeze...

shud be bandwith problems.. sian.. waiting for them to call me back again..

its dedicated line for miotv only somemore..

idiort

Backend Issues, got some problems with profile for MIO TV...... If live channel freeze and VOD dun is profile problems......

backend isssues. profile problems.. meaning singtel side rite?? technician came down few times already sia.... dun think its the wiring issue....

oh well,cant watch champions league tonight,they will call me back tml,hopefully can get it settled b4 barca vs inter :D

newcell

If they came down few times and still couldn't resolved,
possibly more than backend issues. If it is profile
issues, normally over the phone should had corrected.
Shouldn't be several attempts, doesn't sound right.

Francis85

Can screenshoot modem readings page, so that I can help u further.....

backend isssues. profile problems.. meaning singtel side rite?? technician came down few times already sia.... dun think its the wiring issue....

oh well,cant watch champions league tonight,they will call me back tml,hopefully can get it settled b4 barca vs inter :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.