Official MIO TV Thread.......

SimonLam

u mean connect direct cable from 2wire to mio box? (paiseh i haven't explored the mio box yet... duno if got the ethernet port to do so)

Can try first..i am using a 5m cable to mio box. Don't have any issues with HD5 and any channel switching or hang.

Make sure you power on the 2wire, then power on the mio.

weng

roger. will try tomw and update.. thanks guys!

btw, so assuming if connect direct cable is ok, means it's the comtrend liao la?

my internet seems to be ok. did a speedtest and it's quite zhun at my subscribed speed. ping is abt 50ms. duno if these indicate anything?

weng

ohya.. stupid me... must be sleepy... of cos the mio box got ethernet port! if not how to connect the comtrend! :s13:

chunlianghere

ohya.. stupid me... must be sleepy... of cos the mio box got ethernet port! if not how to connect the comtrend :s13:
u must be slping when installation.:yawn:

i tink tat comtrend cannot transfer the amount of bandwidth needed for hd5.

but than 1000Mbps aztech homeplug shldnt be a problem liao..

weng said:
roger. will try tomw and update.. thanks guys!

btw, so assuming if connect direct cable is ok, means it's the comtrend liao la?

my internet seems to be ok. did a speedtest and it's quite zhun at my subscribed speed. ping is abt 50ms. duno if these indicate anything?
u mean the ping? or?

SimonLam

u must be slping when installation.:yawn:

i tink tat comtrend cannot transfer the amount of bandwidth needed for hd5.

but than 1000Mbps aztech homeplug shldnt be a problem liao..

u mean the ping? or?

Thats why i suggest he do a try on hard cables first. if not $199 fly...

pop

I just got my miotv installed. It is connected using HDMI but I notice slight but obvious flickering especially when looking at words in the substiles and ticker news. When I connect using the 3-colour avi cables, there is hardly any flicker.

Anyone experience the same thing? Isn't HDMI supposed to give better picture quality? Any ways to resolve this? Thanks.

anime_toys08

Can try first..i am using a 5m cable to mio box. Don't have any issues with HD5 and any channel switching or hang.

Make sure you power on the 2wire, then power on the mio.
my cable direct still hang when switching channel :o

(_ _") somemore using 2nd line one haha

vsmart

I just got my miotv installed. It is connected using HDMI but I notice slight but obvious flickering especially when looking at words in the substiles and ticker news. When I connect using the 3-colour avi cables, there is hardly any flicker.

Anyone experience the same thing? Isn't HDMI supposed to give better picture quality? Any ways to resolve this? Thanks.

same thing here, flickering is quite obvious when connected with HDMI cable. called singtel technical support, their suggestion is not to use HDMI

pop

same thing here, flickering is quite obvious when connected with HDMI cable. called singtel technical support, their suggestion is not to use HDMI

Thanks for sharing. I am playing around before I call them. Just tried the component cable (red blue green) and I get the same problem. Only when I use the av cable (red yellow white) I don't get the flickering. But this means I cannot watch HD?

komatineni

Quite strange.. I've been using with HDMI for some time and no flickering. Also I doubt the SingTel cust care feedback on non using the HDMI..

shioamn

anyone knows what is the cordless plug provided by singtel?
they say its for wireless connection between mio-box & modem and oso can be used on pc...
is it useful?
i dun wanna pay extra charge for it if it is not optimised....

Houdineer

ONe Very urgent question

when i about to sign up for the MioHome package...the sales person say canot have 2 modems working together.

my house layout is such that the MioTV will be in the living room together with the 2Wire modem that they provide...

I intend to use a normal modem for my broadband in my room. The sales say canot...
how come ah ?

I dun intend to use homeplugs btw...

My room have a phone wall jack just beside my CPU...

because of a single telephone line, you cannot have 2 modems on a single DSL... your modem won't sync.... if you intend to have 2 modems, need 2 tel line... homeplugs are sucky, unless you get the wireless ones called Ruckus... get a dedicated line for your miotv... then your internet 1 line... this way, both wont affect each other...

Houdineer

anyone knows what is the cordless plug provided by singtel?
they say its for wireless connection between mio-box & modem and oso can be used on pc...
is it useful?
i dun wanna pay extra charge for it if it is not optimised....

the home plug is for transfer of data CORDLESSLY through either your power supply or air interface wireless.... mainly meant for MioTv... your internet will lag quite a little if you connect by lan to the other side of the home plug... best is direct ethernet cable from modem to miotv box or pc... :D

Houdineer

Thanks for sharing. I am playing around before I call them. Just tried the component cable (red blue green) and I get the same problem. Only when I use the av cable (red yellow white) I don't get the flickering. But this means I cannot watch HD?

got do the screen settings when you connected the hdmi? it's under the miotv options... set it to 1080i..... damn good eye candy...:D but must see, tv support bo?

~WindzStriker~

because of a single telephone line, you cannot have 2 modems on a single DSL... your modem won't sync.... if you intend to have 2 modems, need 2 tel line... homeplugs are sucky, unless you get the wireless ones called Ruckus... get a dedicated line for your miotv... then your internet 1 line... this way, both wont affect each other...

noted...

anyway i sign up for MioHome le

FOC 2nd line

installing soon ;)

weng

update...

tried again with comtrend this afternoon. modem side swapped 2 sockets, both totally cmi. picture not appearing at all. forever stuck at the mio tv splash screen.

connect via cable direct, flawless. HD5 no problem.

heck, went to sls to find the aztech one. my friend was telling me his aztech 110E and EW is working very well compared to the singtel one (duno his is which one. probably comtrend also).

everywhere only got 110E and EW, dun have the 109EP. i need the a/c bypass cos not enough sockets. in the end managed to find at mediapro. bought 2 x 109EP. came back and tested. perfect! no hiccup at all so far. and HD5 is perfect too!

stupid comtrend. gonna call singtel tomw see whether they can take back and stop charging me $5/mth or not. :o

SimonLam

update...

tried again with comtrend this afternoon. modem side swapped 2 sockets, both totally cmi. picture not appearing at all. forever stuck at the mio tv splash screen.

connect via cable direct, flawless. HD5 no problem.

heck, went to sls to find the aztech one. my friend was telling me his aztech 110E and EW is working very well compared to the singtel one (duno his is which one. probably comtrend also).

everywhere only got 110E and EW, dun have the 109EP. i need the a/c bypass cos not enough sockets. in the end managed to find at mediapro. bought 2 x 109EP. came back and tested. perfect! no hiccup at all so far. and HD5 is perfect too!

stupid comtrend. gonna call singtel tomw see whether they can take back and stop charging me $5/mth or not. :o

glad it works now for you :)

pop

got do the screen settings when you connected the hdmi? it's under the miotv options... set it to 1080i..... damn good eye candy...:D but must see, tv support bo?

can't find 1080i under options. mine has normal, stretch, zoom1, etc. It is set to stretch which fits the screen nicely but if i choose normal, the screen is smaller.

cochran

Can i check here.

What is the cheapest plan i can sign with singtel mio tv to get the modem and tv box?

Am i able to add in a 2nd tv box? And wats the price will be?

Thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.