Official MIO TV Thread.......

schmeichel

just solved the aspect matter on my mio tv.

actually i found the answer when i did a search in hwz forums.

anyway, for the benefit of those who are wondering, i went into menu, and adjusted the screen settings to 1080i.

after that, exited menu. then pressed the # button which is the aspect button, and stopped at 'stretch' . now it looks ok and quality is definitely better than just now.

cheers.

Houdineer

i bought 2 exact tvs one for the living room and another for another room... one day, i was freaking bored, i put both tvs together... plugged in hdmi cables for both starhub and miotv... and i compared... i must MioTV definitely win on HD man... definite eye candy on miotv... for starhub... seems quite dull... i optimised both settings.. but it seems starhub can only do so much... lol... :D

cstanhwz

i bought 2 exact tvs one for the living room and another for another room... one day, i was freaking bored, i put both tvs together... plugged in hdmi cables for both starhub and miotv... and i compared... i must MioTV definitely win on HD man... definite eye candy on miotv... for starhub... seems quite dull... i optimised both settings.. but it seems starhub can only do so much... lol... :D

I noticed that using hdmi on the hd interactive (cisco) box, the colour like a bit dull.

mbgeow

how r my case..sian sia what external wiring issues.. nobody came down my hse to check leh..
it say underground cables.. anyonw got encounterb4?

SimonLam

just solved the aspect matter on my mio tv.

actually i found the answer when i did a search in hwz forums.

anyway, for the benefit of those who are wondering, i went into menu, and adjusted the screen settings to 1080i.

after that, exited menu. then pressed the # button which is the aspect button, and stopped at 'stretch' . now it looks ok and quality is definitely better than just now.

cheers.

oh yes..that was the step :) dunno why the setting went off today and need to set it back.

mbgeow

but nobody here encounter the same problems as mi.. as in underground cable isses..???
or external wiring problems as they claim??

Houdineer

got lah... take 2-3 days to rectify... depends on the gravity of the situation... dont worry lah...

Frayzer

Just wondering, for those who uses the HDMI cable, do you guys turn off the main supply of the MioTV STB or you guys just put it on stand-by mode?

I am annoyed by the fact that I have to do the HD settings whenever I start up the STB because the STB just wouldn't remember the HD settings. It always go back to the default 4:3 ratio.

I tried calling Singtel and they say just put it on standby mode and pay extra $4 every month for my electrical bill just so there is no need for me to do the HD settings.

WestGuy

Just wondering, for those who uses the HDMI cable, do you guys turn off the main supply of the MioTV STB or you guys just put it on stand-by mode?

I am annoyed by the fact that I have to do the HD settings whenever I start up the STB because the STB just wouldn't remember the HD settings. It always go back to the default 4:3 ratio.

I tried calling Singtel and they say just put it on standby mode and pay extra $4 every month for my electrical bill just so there is no need for me to do the HD settings.

My STB remembers the Aspect Ratio even when i unplug the power.

Frayzer

Crap, both my aspect ratio (which I set to stretch) and 1080i HD settings will always return to it's default settings when I turn off the main power supply. It's really frustrating.

Anybody can help me out here?

SimonLam

mine is ok. off power can go back to 1080i HD and stretch settings.

Only once that it resetted. Maybe Singtel do a reset on my STB.

seeyourhead_jiejie

i off the mains for the tv/stb/modem every night..
no problem at all. it remember the screen setting the next day when it boot up.

i am oso using HDMI cable.

cstanhwz

I also turn off the power to the modem and Mio TV box.

No issue the next day regarding the settings.

Can remember the last ch I was viewing too.

But I'm using component video.

Used to have the settings reset issue before some update by Singtel.

After the update, the thing can remember the settings now.

Frayzer

Wow, I told them that "I was informed that there is a update which would save the settings" and they just ask me leave at stand-by mode.

Anyway, thanks guys for the help!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.