Official MIO TV Thread.......

chuppachop

Probably the Cisco is compatible only with certain HDMI cables......I used the Cisco DVR previously with no HDMI issues....not the non DVR one though....dun believe the Cisco non DVR STB is on wide circulation....so there may not be replies here.

luckyguitar

This bill obviously belongs to someone who has a miotv subscription under their old plan. Are you sure there is no mix-up on your part? What about other members in the same household, anybody else has miotv account? If your answer is no to both, then you really need to call singtel to clarify things.

I am a starhub cable tv user.

In August, I signed up for Singtel's Mio stadium to watch Bpl through the cross-carriage ruling. I was told that the contract would be for 2 years. However I just received a letter saying that my current sports package has ended or will end by 31 Jan 2014 and BPL will only be available as part of mio stadium, Jing Xuan gold etc - and the packages are from $59.90/month

Currently Im paying $46.65(starhub do offset $30/mth) a month, just to watch BPL on my starhub setup box.

Anyone faces the same problem? Is Singtel treating us consumer like a fool? Or are there some clauses that I missed out??

This is what Singtel is forcing me to do.. 2 choose 1.... inevitable price hike..
1544966_10201368757960293_421265702_n.jpg

This is what I am currently paying just to watch BPL
1491295_10201368754240200_144513964_o.jpg

aptget

is this cross-carriage thing still available for BPL/Football channels ONLY ?

i was contemplating on applying MIOTV + 200MBps Fiber thing
I am already on MyRepublic fiber BB plan, getting another FIber plan seems ridiculous. Plus I hear horror stories of OpenNet and opening of second port can take MONTHS

upgrade

Cross-carriage now only apply to BPL, not the other football channels, i.e. not Champions League, not Europa League not FA Cup, not Carling Cup.

And cross-carriage only for local Pay-TV provider, which means now StarHub only for BPL. MyRepublic no local Pay-TV provider, so no cross-carriage.

aptget

Cross-carriage now only apply to BPL, not the other football channels, i.e. not Champions League, not Europa League not FA Cup, not Carling Cup.

And cross-carriage only for local Pay-TV provider, which means now StarHub only for BPL. MyRepublic no local Pay-TV provider, so no cross-carriage.

thanks for the info, yes i understand MyRepublic is NOT a local Pay-TV provider.

so X-carriage applies to BPL, but other channels ? have to pay extra ? damn ...

upgrade

Champions League, Europa League, FA Cup, Carling Cup, I think also Italy Serie A (and Dutch?). All on mio Sports channels 111, 112, 113. All these StarHub chose not to pay for the broadcast rights and they are non-exclusive SingTel.

So no cross-carriage since non-exclusive. Right now, only BPL cross-carriage.

luckyguitar

is this cross-carriage thing still available for BPL/Football channels ONLY ?

i was contemplating on applying MIOTV + 200MBps Fiber thing
I am already on MyRepublic fiber BB plan, getting another FIber plan seems ridiculous. Plus I hear horror stories of OpenNet and opening of second port can take MONTHS

From what i know, MyRepublic's teleport service offers access to Aljazeera sports (now known as Beinsports). Beinsports carries BPL, Champions League, Serie A, Ligue, La Liga and others, almost everything except Bundesliga (btw they have also got the rights for Bundesliga, and will show them next season onwards). You may want to find out more about their teleport service and give Beinsports a try. There is only slightly over 4 months left of the season, if you take up mioTV now just for the footy, then you end up paying for the June and July off season period. Not worth it in my opinion.

If you only need BPL, then go with premierleaguepass.com. I tested it and streaming is stable and quality is pretty good on fibre with a VPN. It is only NZD20 per month (around SGD21).

luckyguitar

Champions League, Europa League, FA Cup, Carling Cup, I think also Italy Serie A (and Dutch?). All on mio Sports channels 111, 112, 113. All these StarHub chose not to pay for the broadcast rights and they are non-exclusive SingTel.

The 3 biggest leagues are BPL, La Liga and Bundesliga. Starhub have got all 3 of them. There are obvious marketing reasons why Starhub don't want to pay for Champions League. FA Cup is probably the only one they need to add to their coverage.

upgrade

In Sep 2012, StarHub cited cost as the reason for not getting the rights to broadcast Champions League. Something like better to spend the money elsewhere. I won't be surprised too the same reason for FA Cup.

chuppachop

Starhub's subsidising of BPL, thinking of grabbing customers is costing them now, dropping chs like MGM, ITV Choice etc. and now even dropping Catch Up service to a number of channels.....going downhill.

luckyguitar

Starhub's subsidising of BPL, thinking of grabbing customers is costing them now, dropping chs like MGM, ITV Choice etc. and now even dropping Catch Up service to a number of channels.....going downhill.

If you want to talk about dropping channels, i can list even more channels that mioTV have lost over the years. MeiAh, BBC, and the list goes on. Some of them are popular channels. Let's be honest, strip out the sports content and mioTV general offerings is simply too weak to compete with Starhub. What Starhub haven't done enough is on the sports side where they have lost ESPN (came back as Foxsports) and cricket content over the years. In the end the only solution is to get both boxes, mioTV knows that and is forcing everyone to upgrade to the gold pack or take up fibre tv bundles. Starhub on the other hand doesn't want to bid for current sports content because it is not commerical viable based on marketing and viewership demand.

In the end, we the consumers are the ultimate losers. Either we cut the cord or continue paying for both boxes to keep everything in the household happy.

croc1977

From what i know, MyRepublic's teleport service offers access to Aljazeera sports (now known as Beinsports). Beinsports carries BPL, Champions League, Serie A, Ligue, La Liga and others, almost everything except Bundesliga (btw they have also got the rights for Bundesliga, and will show them next season onwards). You may want to find out more about their teleport service and give Beinsports a try. There is only slightly over 4 months left of the season, if you take up mioTV now just for the footy, then you end up paying for the June and July off season period. Not worth it in my opinion.

If you only need BPL, then go with premierleaguepass.com. I tested it and streaming is stable and quality is pretty good on fibre with a VPN. It is only NZD20 per month (around SGD21).
My Republic teleport can go aljazera meh?

don't think so

croc1977

The 3 biggest leagues are BPL, La Liga and Bundesliga. Starhub have got all 3 of them. There are obvious marketing reasons why Starhub don't want to pay for Champions League. FA Cup is probably the only one they need to add to their coverage.
Stinktel Mio Sports FA Cup , league cup and Uefa Competition programs are poor. we are paying one of the highest pricing in the world for those content but they simply don't even include studio preview , half time and full time show. even local content on mio stadium has reduced.

i still got mio stadium (free is ending in march) but i rather watch on Now Sports for BPL and Astro Supersports/Fox sports asia BPL/FA Cup and UEFA touraments on my streaming box. not full hd but 720p at least for me is good enough....

luckyguitar

Stinktel Mio Sports FA Cup , league cup and Uefa Competition programs are poor. we are paying one of the highest pricing in the world for those content but they simply don't even include studio preview , half time and full time show. even local content on mio stadium has reduced.

i still got mio stadium (free is ending in march) but i rather watch on Now Sports for BPL and Astro Supersports/Fox sports asia BPL/FA Cup and UEFA touraments on my streaming box. not full hd but 720p at least for me is good enough....

Have la, recently during champions league half time got this sweet lady hosting some highlight shows...... better than nothing. She's quite chio wat :D

croc1977

Not too sure whether S$14.90 add-on just for these contents and more is one of the highest pricing in the world.

mio TV Price Plan for Cable TV | mio TV - SingTel
this one need family plus at basic...not $14.90 nia

even $14.90 i rather watch now BPL got hk mei mei presenting....and Astro got chio my mei mei presenting their goals zone on sunday...

7563412120_339a875321_b.jpg
images

IMG_3171.jpg

Jun Yong

last time still got the melody on mio stadium now **...bo gals host liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.