also must think of ways to prevent abuse of course lol

StockBot

https://www.etoro.com/en/social-trading-tools/copytrader/

https://www.etoro.com/en/social-trading-tools/copytrader/how-does-it-work/

btw etoro has this system, can copy top trader's trades
looks very interesting too

I generally think that in the current environment, there is a huge demand that retail investors are lazy and just wanna copy the pros

like I buy ARA, so many ppl wanna follow......... I think around 20 SSI warriors follow me and bought ARA lol

whether the system good or not, can debate or think of ways to prevent abuse.... but I think there is demand for such things LOL

Dividends Warrior

just throwing out an idea to see if people like it or not haha
also must think of ways to prevent abuse of course lol

One possible way is to ban those so-called gurus who sells expensive courses from having likes and comments. They can show their portfolios on sgxcafe but the comment and likes functions on their accounts are disabled.

StockBot

Also maybe instead of like or comment function on others portfolio
Can consider giving rating?
Can rate other's portfolio 1 to 10?
How u all think?

strangerjun

The number of users portfolio keep on increasing, it would be good to have a filter criteria e.g. different investing style( value, growth, income)

a comment function below everyone's portfolio for discussion purposes

shokus

People like Ronald K might abuse the system. He will tell people 'See! I got a lot of positive comments and likes on sgxcafe! You must sign up for my course! Sure huat'
I think gathering 'likes' make it prone to abuse leh. Considering that it is very possible to put up fake transactions.

Maybe allow leaving comments on the portfolio? Then people can give suggestions on that person's portfolio. Also can allow the person being commented on to report or delete comments that may be abusive.

Creating a function to see which public portfolio includes a particular counter will be interesting, but not too sure about how useful it is.

Anyway I think the public portfolio might need a revamp soon considering the number of shared portfolios is starting to increase.

starfish.starfish

Is it possible to query who is holding on to a particular counter?

This might be an interesting feature :)

However, Mr Market will already give his verdict whether he likes my portfolio, why do I need others' "likes"? LOL
Bao jiak meh with more likes, so funny.

zzxiaoboizz

This might be an interesting feature :)

However, Mr Market will already give his verdict whether he likes my portfolio, why do I need others' "likes"? LOL
Bao jiak meh with more likes, so funny.
Agreed, the likes wun change a thing
If everyone is buying and copying the same portfolio, that portfolio with most likes will Huat man.. those who copy but enter late will be buying at inflated price
If everyone is buying the same then theres really something wrong with everyone

Sent from Samsung SM-N910G using GAGT

StockBot

If dont want like or comments
Then what features u all like to have under the shared portfolio section?

They have so many public portfolio, i wanna know which are the popular portfolio/counters.... How to do that? Using what features?

I think there is demand on ppl who want to know which are the popular picks

StockBot

I think gathering 'likes' make it prone to abuse leh. Considering that it is very possible to put up fake transactions.

Maybe allow leaving comments on the portfolio? Then people can give suggestions on that person's portfolio. Also can allow the person being commented on to report or delete comments that may be abusive.

Creating a function to see which public portfolio includes a particular counter will be interesting, but not too sure about how useful it is.

Anyway I think the public portfolio might need a revamp soon considering the number of shared portfolios is starting to increase.

I already notice some ppl putting up fake transcation to boost their returns, and i know how to spot the difference on some of it.
Some ppl ego just too strong, they dont want to show a negative portfolio or they wanna be shown higher ranked in default on the shared portfolio page

Currently by default its "ranked" by P&L plus dividends, makes no sense to me

StockBot

Btw i thinking of suggesting a feature that users of sgx cafe can choose to "like" or "comment" on those public portfolios
Then there would be a page that lists these portfolio base on popularity such as highest likes or highest comments

Got this idea from playing this mmorpg game called tree of savior, its like ragnarok online. I basically see the list of popular builds for archer, the one with most likes kinda feels easy to play so i copy its build... Stats,skills, equipment

I think if such mindset will apply on investing? As new investors try to copy the portfolios of popular investors???

Please feedback or comment

Cheers

Up for discussion

zzxiaoboizz

They have so many public portfolio, i wanna know which are the popular portfolio/counters.... How to do that? Using what features?

Suggest groupings lor
Like the ssi dragon investots grp lol

Dividends Warrior

I think a top 20 list of most-owned counters could be useful, especially during a crisis. See what types of counters people hold when the markets are down.

starfish.starfish

some features that I will like to see:

1. For each of my counters in my portfolio, how many have them in their portfolio as well
2. Listing of top counters based on how many have it in their portfolio
3. Expansion of watchlist features, will be interesting to see who have certain counters in their watchlist too.

shokus

I already notice some ppl putting up fake transcation to boost their returns, and i know how to spot the difference on some of it.
Some ppl ego just too strong, they dont want to show a negative portfolio or they wanna be shown higher ranked in default on the shared portfolio page

Currently by default its "ranked" by P&L plus dividends, makes no sense to me

Personally, I would prefer it to be "ranked" either by choice by clicking the top bar. Makes everyone happy.

Suggest groupings lor
Like the ssi dragon investots grp lol

Groupings sounds fun!

potNPan

I think it was last week I set some benchmarks for myself on portfolio performance.

1. XIRR kept at 10% and above
2. P&L + dividends at the top half of positive portfolios on SGXCafe.

There are a few reasons for 2. I think over time the site shared portfolios will become a better representation of the overall market so being up on ranking means my portfolio is "beating the market". Also, taking P&L + dividends forces a bit more emphasis on dividends and "buy and hold" so I don't speculate too much since it doesn't cover closed positions.

Conversely, point 1 balances point 2 so I cannot be too conservative (cannot get 10% being too conservative).

SGXCafe helps me to monitor my KPIs :D.

EDIT: Ya I realise beating the market doesn't usually have the meaning I used here.

akwl88

I think it was last week I set some benchmarks for myself on portfolio performance.

1. XIRR kept at 10% and above
2. P&L + dividends at the top half of positive portfolios on SGXCafe.

There are a few reasons for 2. I think over time the site shared portfolios will become a better representation of the overall market so being up on ranking means my portfolio is "beating the market". Also, taking P&L + dividends forces a bit more emphasis on dividends and "buy and hold" so I don't speculate too much since it doesn't cover closed positions.

Conversely, point 1 balances point 2 so I cannot be too conservative (cannot get 10% being too conservative).

SGXCafe helps me to monitor my KPIs :D.

jin competitive sia :eek:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.