[Official Thread] Ringgit Exchange Rate

Frank

This evening at Toa Payoh Central. All money changers selling at 2.535. Long queue.

kuku beans

the other day at pepper park complex, I saw one tiong kia queue up want change his leftover ringgit RM$300+++ back to the mamak moneychanger. so I chat him up n offered to buy his ringgit at a mutually good rate for both of us. I told him if sell back, sure kenna poor rate. I ask him sell me, I give u slightly better rate.

then I poach him n ask him go to corner to deal, the stupid moneychanger assistant give me one kind stare like buay song me like that.

so later I dun dare go to his stall change.

their rate was 2.53, sell ringgit. he gave me $334RM n I gave him $130 instead of $132 if follow the 2.53. (coz 334 / 2.53 = 132.02). I saved $2. but anyway i dunno whats the rate they would have bot in from him.

any of u ever undercut moneychangers b4? like ask ppl sell direct to u, cut off the money changer (aka the middle men)?

like u see ppl in the queue holding foreign notes, n its happen that u need those.

tiny

It is common for Malaysian ATMs to have a max of RM1,500 per withdrawal. Not sure about UOB, but Maybank ATMs are like that.

A new ruling to prevent fraud has made all overseas ATM withdrawal only opened upon request (just need to call and activate once).

The new UOB service where there is NO service charge and using the prevailing rate is EXCELLENT! ;)

Any idea which rate they use? Is it the daily TT/OD rate as per UOB Malaysia page?
URL: Rates and Prices - Foreign Exchange Rates

Does the UOB ATM at City Sq allow $200 RM withdrawal? I don't need so much until $1000 RM. If withdraw smaller amounts, UOB still follow the prevailing rate?

SBS2716G

Does the UOB ATM at City Sq allow $200 RM withdrawal? I don't need so much until $1000 RM. If withdraw smaller amounts, UOB still follow the prevailing rate?

Min RM50..they say that the ATM dun have RM10 note. i have wirthdraw before RM100 at 2.561 rate before...

babyrobo

withdrawing from UOB ATM Machine in msia there's no additonal withdrawal fees or charges?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.