Official Xperia Z Thread

tikokia

GUYS I HAVE SOLVED THE STUPID MYSTERY TO THE LED NOTIFICATION LIGHT NOT WORKING! AND THE VIBRATE MODE PHONE STILL RINGING ISSUE!

I Was on my way to service centre on the MRT when i solved it, so I had to U turn back home :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

bigbadber

This is what I learnt last night,

Batt was at $14%. I was playing this HD mahjong game.

So I plugged in USB cable to charge while playing. XZ placed on bed.

Later, it auto shutdown. KNN panic sia!

So I wondered. Isit too hot thats why auto shutdown? Cos i placed it on bed, poor ventilation? Or no batt? Cannot be no batt what, cos I even saw the battery charging icon.

I plugged to PC Companion, no use.

I Googled for 'how to force start', it said,

Hold power button and volume up for 5 seconds. Phone will vibrate. This will cause phone to force shutdown. But why would I wanna shutdown when its already off and not responsive?

Anyway, I tried it several times and finally got a response. It vibrated.

So I assumed its off as suggested by Google.

Further instructions said then you can begin to boot up the XZ as usual.

I did. Then battery indicated at 1% only. So I let it charge, checked back and it climbed to 2%....

PHEW!

Now the qn is: How come the battery depleted faster than it was charging when I played game and charge at the same time?

I implore someone to experiment this to see if my encounter is valid. -> when ur battery is low, like 10% to 15%, charge ur phone and play a game or watch a movie. See whats the result. Also putur display higher a bit.

tikokia

THE LED is failing and CANNOT set to VIBRATE MODE COS OF 3RD PARTY LAUNCHER! ZZZ

ricochet

so everyone have led issues if set to stamina mode? I only face this under stamina mode. Works ok w/o stamina mode. Using stock launcher

Also stamina mode is dodgy. I have whatsapp in white list but it does let it through. Reboot solve this issue until something trigger the issue again

MasK

This is what I learnt last night,

Batt was at $14%. I was playing this HD mahjong game.

So I plugged in USB cable to charge while playing. XZ placed on bed.

Later, it auto shutdown. KNN panic sia!

So I wondered. Isit too hot thats why auto shutdown? Cos i placed it on bed, poor ventilation? Or no batt? Cannot be no batt what, cos I even saw the battery charging icon.

I plugged to PC Companion, no use.

I Googled for 'how to force start', it said,

Hold power button and volume up for 5 seconds. Phone will vibrate. This will cause phone to force shutdown. But why would I wanna shutdown when its already off and not responsive?

Anyway, I tried it several times and finally got a response. It vibrated.

So I assumed its off as suggested by Google.

Further instructions said then you can begin to boot up the XZ as usual.

I did. Then battery indicated at 1% only. So I let it charge, checked back and it climbed to 2%....

PHEW!

Now the qn is: How come the battery depleted faster than it was charging when I played game and charge at the same time?

I implore someone to experiment this to see if my encounter is valid. -> when ur battery is low, like 10% to 15%, charge ur phone and play a game or watch a movie. See whats the result. Also putur display higher a bit.

Mine "died" on me this morning, but my batt was >50%. Normal power on sequence wasn't working.. The only thing that worked was Vol+ and power button together.
I really hope this doesn't happen again.. :eek:

sunnycrowe

LTE is overhyped... I hav problem on some websites like hardware forum.... Openin page is ok but when I click nex pg it jus got stuck there.. Hav to refresh or even close browser.. This happened many times... Using chrome...

Previously I use IE on 3g n nev encounter such problem

year2013

Ohk guys - I CONFIRM RIGHT NOW BATTERY LIFE IS VERY POOR.
- With Brightness set to Minimum
- Playing Temple Run 2 for 10-15mins
- Browing intermittently for 4-5 hours (using XDA app and Chrome Browser)
- Youtube Videos for 5mins
- No Calls
- Bluetooth, Wifi, NFC all off
- No Message
- No Music/Video

Xperia Z DEAD after 5 hours..I hope next update will fix or improve this battery drain.
Xperia Z battery life as poor as iPhone 5

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Restrict background data for apps you seldom use/need to update, example, games which you dun really need to update always. Helps to save bit more juice.

And battery usage difference from user to user, you might not get that amount of juice doesn't mean others is in the same boat as you.

My previous XS can go one full day with normal usage but some can't. My current IP5 can last over a day with whatapps and playing battle cats, but some can't.

End of the day, you need to monitor it. Battery life does improve as you use.

meggidodimus

GUYS I HAVE SOLVED THE STUPID MYSTERY TO THE LED NOTIFICATION LIGHT NOT WORKING! AND THE VIBRATE MODE PHONE STILL RINGING ISSUE!

I Was on my way to service centre on the MRT when i solved it, so I had to U turn back home :vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

bro care to share whats the solution to solving the mystery?

scubyti

Ohk guys - I CONFIRM RIGHT NOW BATTERY LIFE IS VERY POOR.
- With Brightness set to Minimum
- Playing Temple Run 2 for 10-15mins
- Browing intermittently for 4-5 hours (using XDA app and Chrome Browser)
- Youtube Videos for 5mins
- No Calls
- Bluetooth, Wifi, NFC all off
- No Message
- No Music/Video

Xperia Z DEAD after 5 hours..I hope next update will fix or improve this battery drain.
Xperia Z battery life as poor as iPhone 5

bro, please manage your devices... i am on my 3rd charge and the battery and jelly bean wakelock is awesome compare to my X-Arc or X-S.

Here's some tips for you....

1. Android battery is base on display time on. Most of my xperia devices could easily get 3 hours per day. XDA forummers using X-Z are getting 3.5-4 hours display time on per day. So i believe it's fair to base your usuage on screen time on.

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to1_500.png

2. Android battery must be manage by auto-sync, refresh interval and wakelocks. Usually i open each and single apps to set the refresh interval to my desire hours or turn it off if not neccessary. You can check your screen on vs awake time. If the little blue lines matches, your os is doing fine. If it's not, please kindly manage on the above again.

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to2_250.png

3. Jelly bean had an features over ICS because you can restrict mobile data by application level instead of the entire OS. You can go to Data-Usage, click on each and single application that uses alot of background data like Facebook. You can manually disable facebook to use background data. This will prevent this apps from sucking battery/data when your screen is off.

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to3_250.png

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to4_500.png

By managing your autosync, refresh interval and background data, android's battery tend to last better. The beauty of iOS is you need not worry about the above because it's an enclosed eco-system that you can only breathe apple scent inside and nothing else. In short, boring....

Enjoy and hope all is well...

year2013

bro, please manage your devices... i am on my 3rd charge and the battery and jelly bean wakelock is awesome compare to my X-Arc or X-S.

Here's some tips for you....

1. Android battery is base on display time on. Most of my xperia devices could easily get 3 hours per day. XDA forummers using X-Z are getting 3.5-4 hours display time on per day. So i believe it's fair to base your usuage on screen time on.

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to1_500.png

2. Android battery must be manage by auto-sync, refresh interval and wakelocks. Usually i open each and single apps to set the refresh interval to my desire hours or turn it off if not neccessary. You can check your screen on vs awake time. If the little blue lines matches, your os is doing fine. If it's not, please kindly manage on the above again.

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to2_250.png

3. Jelly bean had an features over ICS because you can restrict mobile data by application level instead of the entire OS. You can go to Data-Usage, click on each and single application that uses alot of background data like Facebook. You can manually disable facebook to use background data. This will prevent this apps from sucking battery/data when your screen is off.

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to3_250.png

tumblr_mj33gkvtMH1s7tl1to4_500.png

By managing your autosync, refresh interval and background data, android's battery tend to last better. The beauty of iOS is you need not worry about the above because it's an enclosed eco-system that you can only breathe apple scent inside and nothing else. In short, boring....

Enjoy and hope all is well...

Bro, I have used all devices you mentioned above and agree that XZ's battery is better than Xperia Arc or XS but I am coming from Galaxy Note 2 and m comparing with that, I know that battery of Note 2 is 3100mAh+ but then also XZ 2300mAh should atleast work for a full day !!!
Lets see the battery life of HTC One and S4 - they will be 1080p display, I think display is eating too much battery, m heavy user and my phone's battery can only last for 5-6 hrs.

I think you NOT using display much, try to use your phone continuously for 4-5 hours, do not do anything - just keep the screen ON - then report plz !!!

scubyti

Bro, I have used all devices you mentioned above and agree that XZ's battery is better than Xperia Arc or XS but I am coming from Galaxy Note 2 and m comparing with that, I know that battery of Note 2 is 3100mAh+ but then also XZ 2300mAh should atleast work for a full day !!!
Lets see the battery life of HTC One and S4 - they will be 1080p display, I think display is eating too much battery, m heavy user and my phone's battery can only last for 5-6 hrs.

I think you NOT using display much, try to use your phone continuously for 4-5 hours, do not do anything - just keep the screen ON - then report plz !!!

like i say, if your phone go flat after 5 hours, how much time is your screen on?
if you get 4hours of screen time, i say your phone is very good....

Base on my screen shot, i had 1.5hours of screen time on and 56% of battery left which can technically get me to >3hours. I never use a note2 and will never use any so i dont really care about how note2 perform... It's fugly in my own opinion..... HTC one is a 4.7/4.8" screen which is not fair to compare. As for S4, i dont give a damn honestly... Plastics, amoled and korean, the ultimate poision to me....:s13::D

year2013

like i say, if your phone go flat after 5 hours, how much time is your screen on?
if you get 4hours of screen time, i say your phone is very good....

Base on my screen shot, i had 1.5hours of screen time on and 56% of battery left which can technically get me to >3hours. I never use a note2 and will never use any so i dont really care about how note2 perform... It's fugly in my own opinion..... HTC one is a 4.7/4.8" screen which is not fair to compare. As for S4, i dont give a damn honestly... Plastics, amoled and korean, the ultimate poision to me....:s13::D

Hmmm..lets see, still hoping that next couple of updates will help as far as battery drain is concerned.

PongRareRare

I think the prob is continuously... Currently my batt at 21%... Used 16 hours 50 min... Screen use: 4 hours 6 min

joo_ng

hwz reports 398 for M1 with valuesurf :s11::s11::s11:

Price for M1 is still 498 and give the wireless earphones?
Singtel is 388 and get the NFC speakers?
Starhub is 398 without anything?

all assuming the 39 ++ plan a month

M1 value surf $398. headphone while stock last.

wanted to re-contract with Singtel. Pissed off when they wanted to load me another $50 for corporate plan and to pay for the sim card. Totally absurd how they retained their customers.

In the end, number port over to M1 with zero $ for sim card under corporate plan and no $50 top-up. saving of almost $90.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.