Official Xperia Z Thread

iinspired

M1 value surf $398. headphone while stock last.

wanted to re-contract with Singtel. Pissed off when they wanted to load me another $50 for corporate plan and to pay for the sim card. Totally absurd how they retained their customers.

In the end, number port over to M1 with zero $ for sim card under corporate plan and no $50 top-up. saving of almost $90.

m1 cut the discount for CIS plans (at least for my company) while Starhub only give me 12 mths free CID and autoroaming.... and i need both , so even though i need to pay $50 more, singtel still give me the best deal for 24 months.

meggidodimus

wanted to re-contract with Singtel. Pissed off when they wanted to load me another $50 for corporate plan and to pay for the sim card. Totally absurd how they retained their customers.

In the end, number port over to M1 with zero $ for sim card under corporate plan and no $50 top-up. saving of almost $90.

my plan with M1 haven't ended, so have to use sibling's plan with singtel to recontract. problem now is my sim card is not micro sim, scared of cutting myself haha. scared cut liao, spoil, then the XZ cannot use, then pay 40 dollars to get new microsim from M1.

hush66

my plan with M1 haven't ended, so have to use sibling's plan with singtel to recontract. problem now is my sim card is not micro sim, scared of cutting myself haha. scared cut liao, spoil, then the XZ cannot use, then pay 40 dollars to get new microsim from M1.

Go to an ah beng mobile shop and ask them to cut for you for a fee.

Gaghiel

m1 cut the discount for CIS plans (at least for my company) while Starhub only give me 12 mths free CID and autoroaming.... and i need both , so even though i need to pay $50 more, singtel still give me the best deal for 24 months.

same case for my company (reduced to 10%), unless you have loyalty voucher/bill rebate to offset, singtel still give better overall value for 24 mths. but heard singtel roaming charges is higher (not sure if that's true) and not second billing.

just realized this when my colleague re-contract with singtel. dont recall there is such rule last time.

Gaghiel

you have citibank m1 card? maybe can try to ask if they could waive the fee for new simcard for your line.

OnLyOnE

I was testing out different settings with our XZ, just a random indoor shot, so, don't ask me for photos, try it yourself to see if you come to a same conclusion as me.

Basically, I was playing around with the ISO setting and HDR

ISO100 with HDR --> lowest amount of noise but underexposed
ISO200 with HDR--> slight noise but definitely usable with balance exposure
ISO400 with HDR --> it is usable if there is no cropping involve but noise is notably higher
AutoISO (1000) with HDR --> definitely not usable, period

Conclusion: It seems at least to me the best overall shot with noise and exposure in mind is ISO200 with HDR, for indoor or none-natural lighting scene.

sunnycrowe

Net surfing is the biggest batt drainer.. If on wifi even worst....

Las time using note 1, i was charging n surfing net at the same time... Every 5 mins the batt wil drop by 1%, meaning it used batt more than it charge...

The sony stamina mode is only gd when screen is off, as data is switched off....

For note, i charged 100% at night and the batt drops to 90% in morning when i wake up..... For my tx n z, at most drop 1%..

iinspired

I cut my sim myself. From full to micro then to nano... it is not that tough (except for nano due to the slimmer profile). Either use a template downloaded from online or borrow a microsim to draw the outline on your simcard to help you. XZ simcard slot seems to be quite fragile (to me), so need to take extra care. I am more worried if i cannot take it out.. push is usually easy..but to pull out, the size must be correct.

but again the worst that can happen is... you pay $40.

daniel_83

Took some photos to show off on fb the waterproof feature of xperia z :D

601449_10151368055873031_297968328_n.jpg

vh9pn4.jpg

wolvie77

Hi! all. i played with demo set of Z. noticed the shortcut icons at the top of screen cannot customise like my S3. is there a workaround? can recommend any apps? also when i set the autorotate on, the homescreen doesn't seem to rotate to landscape when i tilt. is it suppose to be like this?

bemylove

anyone with the real retail units still feel the OS lags more than it should?
sony own xperia V the james bond phone felt faster flipping through screens and scrolling menus....

can android show fps counter? i wonder is the cpu or gpu slowing down Z...or maybe the ram bandwidth??
if i guess, the OS like drop from 60fps to 40fps most of the time if you flip/scroll fast. quite unstable performance..

OnLyOnE

Tried again with ISO and HDR on a partly underexposed scene. ISO200 with HDR proved the best setting at least to me. Superior auto might work wonders outdoor broad daylight but indoor, it is better to do normal setting and play around with your ISO and HDR.

Just so in case some of you didn't realize, this HDR is not exactly HDR but another technique always associated with HDR which is called Exposure Fusion or known to some people as DRI - Dynamic Range Increase.

kollybie

this verison create some sluggishness in term of swiping left and right between pages. Waiting for a good ROM for xperia Z. I believe xda developer is working on ROM to fit Xperia Z :). I previously use S3 LTE with custom rom its performance is really a beast. Waitng for good ROM to compliement this beast. Hopefully a good kernel would boast the battery and performance. :)

meggidodimus

I cut my sim myself. From full to micro then to nano... it is not that tough (except for nano due to the slimmer profile). Either use a template downloaded from online or borrow a microsim to draw the outline on your simcard to help you. XZ simcard slot seems to be quite fragile (to me), so need to take extra care. I am more worried if i cannot take it out.. push is usually easy..but to pull out, the size must be correct.

but again the worst that can happen is... you pay $40.

i cut my own microsim too

record:
4 wins
0 lose

haha

haha seems very easy to do hor? saw online DIY, seems like only nano sim is the most jialat one

Go to an ah beng mobile shop and ask them to cut for you for a fee.

haha, think ah beng shop charge 10 dollars or so, oh but why u all say the microsim slot is fragile?

cutiedoggy92

cutting to microsim should be fine. mine had problems detecting cause mine is nano sim plus adapter then the sim like not flush to the adapter so need sand down..

had a scare sia, at first was fine till today cant detect, even went service centre lol but after sanding down the sim now so far so good.

yhw22

After repairing using pc companion, socialife become incompatible. When click on it, it go to Google play and said incompatible. How?

iinspired

haha seems very easy to do hor? saw online DIY, seems like only nano sim is the most jialat one

haha, think ah beng shop charge 10 dollars or so, oh but why u all say the microsim slot is fragile?

if you open the XZ simcard cover, you will find a rubbery soft tray, which seems to be just sit inside a microsim slot. you need to pull out the soft tray, which will fit a microsim. Rest your microsim on it, then push the tray into the microsim slot. And the tray will just sit in the slot, does not seems to be secured....

My card is DIY cut one, i am not sure if the slot...can accept those slightly too big or small so i dare not push hard..... I used to use it on s3 and it got struck and i have to use pin to push it out....so for this XZ, i dont know how much allowance that microsim slot has ... and the way the tray/ slot is designed, i am not sure if any tools can help me if it is struck....:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.