OnePlus 10T

ranmaru1987

anyway.. if u need full power then enable full performance mode lo.. no need then dun enable lo.. that's the whole point of adding these options right.. so we consumers have a choice.. it's not as if they are throttling it without giving consumers a choice like they used to..

final1

anyway.. if u need full power then enable full performance mode lo.. no need then dun enable lo.. that's the whole point of adding these options right.. so we consumers have a choice.. it's not as if they are throttling it without giving consumers a choice like they used to..
Good point.

But, it should be the other way around if you ask me.

Normal performance should be the default.

Reduced performance to control heat can be enabled by user as an option.

Now, it is the reverse for this phone. One reason why android phones are troublesome is that there are many manufacturers and each phone has its own 'unique' features. Sometimes good sometimes bad.
To me, this is a bad feature but luckily it can be worked around in settings.

Imagine if you are a noob and you did not read my post and you bought this phone and just use it out of the box. You would have paid for a snapdragon 8+ gen 1 but only getting snapdragon 888/888+ performance and you would be none the wiser.
WTF.

ranmaru1987

Good point.
But, it should be the other way around if you ask me.
Normal performance should be the default.
Reduced performance to control heat can be enabled by user as an option.
Now, it is the reverse for this phone. One reason why android phones are troublesome is that there are many manufacturers and each phone has its own 'unique' features. Sometimes good sometimes bad.
To me, this is a bad feature but luckily it can be worked around in settings.
Imagine if you are a noob and you did not read my post and you bought this phone and just use it out of the box. You would have paid for a snapdragon 8+ gen 1 but only getting snapdragon 888/888+ performance and you would be none the wiser.
WTF.

ya lo.. I think they also need to let users know whether is throttled or not.. not give fancy names such as optimised, enhanced processing, performance, etc etc..

Yongkit

the spec of this phone is attractive , however Shopee OnePlus official store with good promo discount on going still surprisingly low unit sold ?

Alexz_Hong

review from our neighbours. he mentions performance lacklustre (probably in regards to genshin) compared to ROG 6 with same chip. he suspects it's more aggressive at throttling since phone temp is very conservative.

But anyway, in his video did see the FPS go up to near 60, so maybe it's not as aggressive as the reno8 Pro where there is a 50FPS cap. so maybe medium graphics can still go 60fps? but still, kinda weird since the Ace Pro can clearly perform better. so why would they even throttle this much?

Phen8210

I am just showing the stability of the sd8+g1 based on sustained performance under long period of time and not to show off how high sd8+g1 can score in benchmarks

For some people, sd778g+ can performs really well because they dont game, just whatsapp, youtube, telegram, social media apps.

Yeap, that's the entire purpose of sd 8+ gen 1, the sustained performance.

https://www.androidauthority.com/snapdragon-8-plus-gen-1-vs-8-gen-1-3191343/
1x run
1.png

20x sustained run
2.png

In summary, the SD 8 Gen 1 was guilty of only providing good benchmark numbers, and there was no point as it could not sustain performance. The existence of SD 8+ gen 1 was to rectify this, and it did.

SD 8 Gen 1 is the scenario of having a lousy default setting. It was not suitable for prolonged usage except on phones with a heavily optimized cooling system, which is only a few. In most phones, that has resulted in poorer overall performance, as shown in the graph above.

Moving forward, all default settings should be optimized and sustain performance like the SD 8+ Gen 1. Going all out on steroids like the SD 8 Gen 1 to score well in benchmarks is detrimental for real-world usage and heading towards dangerous territory for all consumers.

Also, the performance mode option allows users that can keep the temperatures in check to obtain better performance. If the chip is throttling, the overall performance will be worse, which explains why it's not the default mode.

Anyway, I'm glad snapdragon has not let history repeat itself. Not sure why people are asking for a death wish.

final1

the spec of this phone is attractive , however Shopee OnePlus official store with good promo discount on going still surprisingly low unit sold ?
1. Oneplus reputation not so good since say, oneplus 7 (?)
2. ColorOS drama.
3. Starting at $809 still is quite a big chunk of money for many people. Personally I think it is reasonable. But, after launch you will find it cheaper in carousel. So, actually, no point pre-ordering unless you want the lucky draw chance.
4. This phone is mostly only for gamer and is built for android gamers.
5. Snapdragon 8 gen 2 less than half a year away.
6. iphone 14 is 1 month away. And, iphone 13 with A15 is already faster than this phone. No need to say A16. I am sure there are many users like me who swap between android and iOS as and when we feel like it.
7. Actually, for most people, smartphones were already fast enough for most users since, say, snapdragon 845.
8. Recession (?). Tighten belt.

Alexz_Hong

built for gamers? think again..

HWZ tag a bit not same liao. saw this video earlier also. throttling quite hard for the global version 10T somehow. it looks a little worse than the gaming test done by NL Tech i think, but quite similar FPS overall. don't know why they even took this approach considering the Ace Pro tested by Chinese reviewers performed so much better in Genshin, and it's basically the exact same phone. :/ Oh and NL Tech's review also mentioned some games that are supposed to be able to run at higher refresh rates are limited to 60 too. seems like there might be a whitelist of games that are allowed to use the higher refresh rate.

This also means the Ace with 10R ROM actually runs Genshin better than the more expensive 10T. :ROFLMAO:

ranmaru1987

HWZ tag a bit not same liao. saw this video earlier also. throttling quite hard for the global version 10T somehow. it looks a little worse than the gaming test done by NL Tech i think, but quite similar FPS overall. don't know why they even took this approach considering the Ace Pro tested by Chinese reviewers performed so much better in Genshin, and it's basically the exact same phone. :/ Oh and NL Tech's review also mentioned some games that are supposed to be able to run at 120 are limited to 60 too. seems like there is a whitelist of games that are allowed to use the higher refresh rate.
This also means the Ace with 10R ROM actually runs Genshin better than the more expensive 10T.
:ROFLMAO:

OnePlus all along liddat leh.. even mlbb also only can run at 60fps.. my dad's Poco x3 pro can run at 120fps.. lol..

Alexz_Hong

OnePlus all along liddat leh.. even mlbb also only can run at 60fps.. my dad's Poco x3 pro can run at 120fps.. lol..
i think might be a region thing though. OnePlus Ace with 10R's firmware doesn't seem to be artificially throttled as hard. it can't run 60FPS highest graphics in genshin at 60 all the way, but it will at least do so as long as it can. then when phone heats up then throttle a bit. even then it doesn't seem to be throttling that hard immediately. Which is more like how a normal phone should be performing.

Another example is OPPO reno8 Pro. local version hard cap around 50FPS, but Chinese version reno8 Pro+ behaves like usual D8100 phones based on reviews I've seen. Maybe they are choosing not to limit performance in China and India specifically? or maybe since 10R is India only i think, they just didn't care to go and throttle? maybe they think global market don't care since the handful of western reviews I've seen mostly praising the performance. have even seen a youtuber saying "everything from genshin to COD mobile runs beautifully at 60FPS while graphically maxed out." but then he didn't show FPS counter.

another that did show FPS... the FPS numbers seems to be similar to NL Tech and Golden Reviewer. :ROFLMAO:

clydeteo22

Am looking to get a 2nd charger for the 10T and the closest one in the market is the Realme 150W. Believe it should also work for the 150W for Oneplus since they use the same SuperVooc tech?

Loser

Am looking to get a 2nd charger for the 10T and the closest one in the market is the Realme 150W. Believe it should also work for the 150W for Oneplus since they use the same SuperVooc tech?
Yes should be can but be sure to get the charging cable also.

Best is to ask the seller but most likely than not is can since same proprietary standard.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.