Overseas Dilemma

xteehee

Hi there would really appreciate input from you guys regarding some problems i am facing.

I am currently in the army ord-ing in june and is considering options for my studies. I was from NP business studies and i have gotten only a GPA of 3.0 making me unable to study in local university.

I recently got accepted into a French business school for my bachelor's study but my family is very unsupportive of it. They would rather I enrol into SIM-UOL and study in Singapore both due to financial reasons as well as my own well being as if i stay here I could be taken care of in case anything happens to me. As I got accepted directly in to year 2, my school fees will be around 34k SGD which i am willing to take up half on bank loan and half from my family. Living expenses wise i have some savings and am willing to work part time while i am over there. I would really like to study overseas as the exposure and curriculum i feel far exceeds what i would be getting in SIM-UOL. I am really troubled over this issue and wish people who have both studies overseas or SIM can give me some input on this issue.

Cheers!

dilphinus

Unless it's a famed biz school in France, if not it's not worth the $.

Unis in Germany are tuition (fees) free. You may want to look into that.

xteehee

Unless it's a famed biz school in France, if not it's not worth the $.

Unis in Germany are tuition (fees) free. You may want to look into that.

Its ranked top 30 european business school by financial times.

I have researched on germany as those providing free tuition is taught in german and their course runs for 3-4 years.

bugmenot45

Its ranked top 30 european business school by financial times.

that's quite a good ranking. you should go for it! the overseas experience is priceless and employers definitely put value in it (especially for management trainee programs). while SIM-UOL is good, you can't compare it with actually studying on campus.

do you speak french? if you don't, you definitely should start learning now. it would be very useful even if your course is in english.

my own well being as if i stay here I could be taken care of in case anything happens to me.

please, I'm guessing you're 20 or 21... it's time your family stop worrying and start treating you like an adult.

there's this singaporean blogger who has studied in france previously, maybe you can contact him for more info - LIFT: Limpeh Is Foreign Talent: Akan datang: Preparing for university studies abroad

It's always advisable to study on-campus in overseas as and when you can afford it. The reason is that you're opening more doors upon graduation when you come back to Singapore. More doors opened as in you can get into both private sector and public sector jobs where you qualify as a graduate in the latter. I have friends who went on to pursue their degrees in Australia and came back to Singapore being emplaced on a graduate pay scale in one of the statutory boards. That being said, I also know of people who pursued their distance learning programmes with some Australian universities locally and were given a job in government sector but are unfortunately not emplaced on graduate pay scale. Unless you're dead sure that you will not want to work in any government jobs in future, then of course, a distance learning programme can cut cost and let you accrue some savings as compared to a full-fledged overseas degree. Think carefully of what you want to work as and in which sector.

xteehee

that's quite a good ranking. you should go for it! the overseas experience is priceless and employers definitely put value in it (especially for management trainee programs). while SIM-UOL is good, you can't compare it with actually studying on campus.

do you speak french? if you don't, you definitely should start learning now. it would be very useful even if your course is in english.

please, I'm guessing you're 20 or 21... it's time your family stop worrying and start treating you like an adult.

there's this singaporean blogger who has studied in france previously, maybe you can contact him for more info - LIFT: Limpeh Is Foreign Talent: Akan datang: Preparing for university studies abroad

I feel so too. I think its time for me to grow up and act more like an adult. But being in a conventional chinese family i feel like my family is over protective of me and i am not blaming them as i might have allowed them to do so.

What i am worried about is if i am making the right move and will the money that i loan to study overseas be well spent.

bugmenot45

What i am worried about is if i am making the right move and will the money that i loan to study overseas be well spent.

imo, the ROI on the 34k spent is definitely worth it in the long run if you're the ambitious type. if you ask me about spending >150k to go overseas maybe I'll be a bit hesitant to make such a judgement. but 34k? hell, yes.

remember to make the most out of your experience, join lots of activities in school, get internship experience, network with other people.

Successor.

I got some queries.

Firstly, If your family is unsupportive, how would they help you with the school fees while you are there?

Secondly, taking up an overseas studies bank loan requires a guarantor with collaterals, given your situation, would your family be your guarantee?

Thirdly, I understood that you calculated your expenses as 34k for the 2 years.
Does it includes the daily expenses including accommodation, food, transport, entertainment, books and etc? If it only includes school fees, then I believe you will require more then your calculated amount.

Fourthly, do you know that there is a cap on the amount of hours you can work while overseas? In European and American countries, there are laws that protect their own labour force. If you are there, you hold a student visa and can most probably only work part time not exceeding a certain number of hours.
That number of hours is considerably small and will not sustain much and you probably have to fall back on your own.

Fifth, why must you study an undergraduate degree overseas when you have poor financial abilities? Just because you want to go overseas, did you consider your family predicament?
I won't stop you if you are using solely your own money or your family have been saving just for your academic achievements, but clearly this is not the case going by what you have mentioned.
For this I would rather take a local private institution degree and work in Singapore. Don't forget, as a citizen here, you are free to either take up any forms of full time employment, study part time or both.

Lastly, SIM-UOL is IMO prestigious. Attain good results and then apply for scholarship for graduate studies (i.e. Masters degree). You don't need to rely on your parents nor family giving them additional burden, you are relying on yourself.
If you are applying for a job in future, this can be an add-on bonus.

FYI, I am from SIM-UOL.

Havok_ex

Well, I think it would really depend on what university it is. Some 2nd/3rd tier overseas university may be treated the same as a DL degree attained here by some employers. Especially if the name of the university is obscure and not very popular, you may find it difficult to find employment when you come back. And if you are gonna be treated as second to local uni grads, might as well take up a DL degree here since you're gonna end up at the same position. But 34k is pretty decent as compared to other overseas destinations.

Havok_ex

Lastly, SIM-UOL is IMO prestigious. Attain good results and then apply for scholarship for graduate studies (i.e. Masters degree). You don't need to rely on your parents nor family giving them additional burden, you are relying on yourself.
If you are applying for a job in future, this can be an add-on bonus.

IMO, a scholarship for a non-research post-grad is pretty hard to come by. Majority of scholarships are usually given to undergrads or PhDs, the first group being generally unemployed and hence need the aid while the second group adds value in terms of research to the university, pursuant of a masters degree classifies as neither. Not impossible, but extremely difficult, especially if he is coming from a DL degree.

bubblegumcartel

34k nIa, go for it. Don't listen to people discouraging you. You wont regret it especially with the typical DL stigma here.

make sure the school is a good school and not just any weird uni in France. 34k for 2 years sounds abit too good to be true actually.. Do loads of research and you are sure the uni is okay, go for it.

time to live for yourself and not for others. Is your future... Good luck TS

lionelow

Again depends on the uni reputations..... if its those unrecognized one then u better reconsider other options.

34k sounds fishy too.

patryn33

Why fishy? Do some research leh, tuition fee in francs isn't high like uk or oz or USA!

Ie
This is eur$10k+ a yr
Bachelor in Business Administration: Financing your EPSCI studies - Essec

@ TS
Since u are hiding behind a keyboard why not share the name of uni?

Found here?
University and business school ranking in France

No support from family but still can go just go. If u are confident to make it I would just pack up and leave. The opportunity cost isn't high plus the skills u learn will make u attractive in sg.

Some dude here went to Finland study also find employment in sg pretty quickly. Didn't find him complain his paper is DL equ. Ppl willing to step totally outside comfort zone will be rewarded. Biz ppl here, risk takers??

lolita_5

TS got gf or not? If have then just stay in singapore lah

If don't have then go france lor

So simple...:s13:

bugmenot45

Lastly, SIM-UOL is IMO prestigious. Attain good results and then apply for scholarship for graduate studies (i.e. Masters degree).

IMO, a scholarship for a non-research post-grad is pretty hard to come by. Majority of scholarships are usually given to undergrads or PhDs, the first group being generally unemployed and hence need the aid while the second group adds value in terms of research to the university, pursuant of a masters degree classifies as neither. Not impossible, but extremely difficult, especially if he is coming from a DL degree.

very true. the odds of getting a scholarship is against you
- distance learning (no testimonials from UOL faculty itself, no research/thesis)
- masters (not bachelor/PhD)
- business (most scholarships are for humanities/sciences/technology)

additionally, with an SIM-UOL degree, you are limiting your postgraduate options. the top ranked postgrad schools (especially MBA schools) very rarely admit distance learning students. doing your undergrad outside of your home country is definitely a plus point for admissions to grad school, as long as the school is decent ranked.

bugmenot45

Especially if the name of the university is obscure and not very popular, you may find it difficult to find employment when you come back.

if its ranked top 30 european business school by financial times it shouldn't be a problem especially if you're seeking employment in the big MNCs where people are generally more aware of the world outside singapore. looking at the FT list, these are the schools ranked within top 30...

HEC Paris
Insead
ESCP Europe
EMLyon Business School
Essec Business School
Edhec Business School
Grenoble Graduate School of Business

My guess is that TS is choosing Grenoble since their fees would be 34k for 2 years.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.