Overseas Dilemma

Successor.

Dont think people take alot of care typing **** into the forum. Gove him the benefit of doubt la

Lols, I read one of the thread concerning ACCA and SQP.

He mention that he is a hiring manager and says everything he could just to make going to ACCA less creditworthy.

And in his explanation, his Grammar usage is terrible and hence it is not a one off case and benefit of doubt should be given.

Do you think such trolls should even be trusted at all?

Successor.

A handful of person doesn't mean it's easily possible
It is also possible one could be like gates! One succeeded so can u study for what?

So what makes you think that there are a lot of those graduated from NUS, NTU (degree studied on campus and have considerably high world ranking according to QS) succeeded and make it?

Why do you have to totally discredit the worth of distance learning? Just because it isn't done on campus itself?

You need to understand that there are a lot of people who simply do not have the finance to go overseas and can't get into local university. So why can't a second chance be given.

And please go and do some research, there are quite a few whom after completion of SIM-UOL degree and get into LSE, ICL and other good UK and US universities. Some even had scholarship to complement that.

Before that, please stop sounding like distance learning is unworthy just probably you may have been from some top universities and your parents is rich enough to send you there without a scholarship.

patryn33

What's the wall of rant? Did I insinuated so? Wow! So defensive and stress out? My parents this and that is my biz, not like those successful sim UOL give u part of their success. Lol reality bites dear.

Sim UOL is a great program however the key here is few not some has gone to those uni.
End of the day one has to work hard to achieve one dream.
Overseas only provide experience and maybe helpful.
Anyway TS has decided so what's the squabbling?

Successor.

By your words "A handful of person doesn't mean it's easily possible"

You said "Sim UOL is a great program however the key here is few not some has gone to those uni."

So, quote me the statistics that those from NTU and NUS has ALOT going to top universities to pursue postgraduate studies then.

You also indirectly insinuated distance learning have only 1 or 2 success case. So please quote me ALOT OF cases where there are plenty of those people like gates and came from a top university then.

Stop twisting your words when you just totally discredited distance learning earlier.

Just because you (I mean your parents, cause you are as poor as a beggar) some money, you have to so high-handed?

What a hypocrite.

bubblegumcartel

ok la, since TS already decided to go overseas can we dont squabble among ourselves? Pls dont sinkie pwn sinkie again lei. Simi DL vs overseas vs local degree debate coming up soon I feel. We are all sinkies okay, pls stick to giving constructive advice and stop putting down ppl...

Biogentic

He mention that he is a hiring manager and says everything he could just to make going to ACCA less creditworthy.

And in his explanation, his Grammar usage is terrible and hence it is not a one off case and benefit of doubt should be given.

I don't really take his comments seriously. First, ACCA is well heard of in the international stage. I have spoken to colleagues from countries like India, Denmark, Romania and they all know what is ACCA and some of them are taking that to complement their existing qualification. With ISCA coming out with CA Singapore relatively less than a year, it is senseless to come out with conclusion that ACCA would be worthless next and ISCA SQP would be the top accounting qualification. Singapore is a very small country, be it CPA Singapore or CA Singapore, our accounting designation is not well regarded in the international stage simply because of the limited number of members we have in the association. Majority of the members would be Singaporean and with such limited number, it is difficult to reach world stage unlike others like AICPA, ICAEW, CPA Australia, etc and not excluding ACCA.
Lastly, English linguistic capability doesn't determine whether a person can be trusted or not, credible or not. It only show how well u can communicate that's all, so I wouldn't put that as part of the argument to put him off

Kyoji83

Yes I did: yes I was accepted and I did applied

Any acceptance letter to show?: Yes

What is a hr leader?: HR Leader is just a term & to some Org is a job title. Can be a Manager or Site HOD onward.

VP or P?: My Org only have Snr VP(HR). Follow by a few Regional HR Leaders which is Snr / HR Director level.

Your bro in law: His academic profile is very good. What about his career profile when he apply INSEAD?

Yes I did is yes I did apply or yes I was accepted and I did applied??
Any acceptance letter to show?

What is a hr leader? VP or P?

My bro in law didn't get into insead. Only manager then at PSA. Was a PSA scholar only offer STB scholarship to read Msc at the Cornell program.

Kyoji83

I may have used the wrong word 'easy' because I am able to get into INSEAD through my 1st application.

I welcome your friend to share my profile through you.

I also hope that your friend can share the calibre & profile of the successful applicants through you to those who are interested to study INSEAD since your words in HWZ is more trustworthy then mine.

From a Keyboard warrior who claim that he is a successful INSEAD applicant.

He used the word easy. A friend who went to LSE on campus said the competition was tough. VS a DL grad who said it's easy. A real life friend, vs maybe a keyboard warrior. Who do you think I should believe?

Btw, I've met a few others who went to Insead and these people were from prestigious unis. I have a friend working in Insead (supporting the programmes). So it won't be difficult for me to snoop around and ask (if I want to).

In which way am I looking down at DL grads?

I know people who have graduated from Insead.

Kyoji83

I am not smart and far from being a talent but I am an average student & worker.

If you are still living in the 90s or early 2000s, my wake up call to you is that not all large MNCs (fortune 500 companies) are willing to pay for your school fees (Master Degree & above) when they are cutting operation cost in Singapore.

So far the MNCs that I work for are from fortune 500 companies & I can tell you that they do hire distance learning graduate & I am one of them.

My Org at that point of time is willing to partially pay for my course fees with bond. Like what you say, my worry is failing the course & needs to repay the course fees when I have 3 children to feed & my position does not require me to have a Master Degree.

That's why you need to gain employment in a company which is willing to pay for your school fees. And most of the time it is only the large MNCs who can afford it. Which comes back to my point that the large MNCs especially fortune 500 companies usually don't hire distance learning grads.

Anyway With your standard of English even if you are accepted, I don't know how you are going to pass all of the modules and graduate.

since it was easy for you to get into Insead while others are facing pretty tough competition in getting in, you must be quite smart and a talent. Why didn't your company want to sponsor you since you will be a gem to the company? Becos you aren't generating revenue and is a cost center?

Kyoji83

Yes, I am referring to the SG campus instead of the French campus.

As for people from India gaining entry into INSEAD SG campus, you can go to the campus & see for yourself if this is true or not =P

I've also heard of people from India gaining entry into INSEAD SG campus. I believe he was referring to the SG campus instead of the French campus... To be honest, as long as you land yourself onto a pretty sweet job, coupled with good GMAT scores and money, you can do your MBA in a good uni.

Kyoji83

I am just sharing my experience as a Recruiter regrading ACCA. And because of SQP is new, I just share my though in HWZ.

In this thread, I am just sharing my experience as a successful INSEAD applicant.

I have nothing to gain or lose if you chose not to believe me & treat me comment as trolls.

bugmenot45

off topic but: I'm getting this impression that people on this thread seem to think that there is a different admission standard for the SG campus and the French campus? As stated on their website - Please note that campus preference is not taken into account in the selection of candidates, which means that we consider an applicant's campus preference only after we have made a decision on whether or not to admit him or her. Also, in order to balance the class size and diversity across campuses, it is not possible to guarantee all selected candidates admission to their preferred campus.

If you know how the INSEAD system works, it is entirely possible for you to be admitted to the Singapore campus but you spend 3 out of 5 of your semesters in the French campus instead.

As for people from India gaining entry into INSEAD SG campus, you can go to the campus & see for yourself if this is true or not =P

I don't understand this obsession with pointing out that Indians are gaining entry into INSEAD SG? Big deal? What is it supposed to show?

bugmenot45

Kyoji83

off topic but: I'm getting this impression that people on this thread seem to think that there is a different admission standard for the SG campus and the French campus? As stated on their website - Please note that campus preference is not taken into account in the selection of candidates, which means that we consider an applicant's campus preference only after we have made a decision on whether or not to admit him or her. Also, in order to balance the class size and diversity across campuses, it is not possible to guarantee all selected candidates admission to their preferred campus.

If you know how the INSEAD system works, it is entirely possible for you to be admitted to the Singapore campus but you spend 3 out of 5 of your semesters in the French campus instead.

1) They will take into consideration about your preferred campus especially if it is located at your country of residence or home country.

2) There is always a waiting list for my preferred campus or there is always a thing call deferment.

3) The different between SG campus & French campus is the way their working culture & the way they speak their English. I strongly believe that I speak better English then the french because I have work in french MNC before. My family is in Singapore which is a factor that I take into consideration.

I don't understand this obsession with pointing out that Indians are gaining entry into INSEAD SG? Big deal? What is it supposed to show?

I do not know why you wish to comment about it when I did not point out if there are people from India gaining entry into INSEAD SG campus. I only ask bubblegumcartel to go to the campus & see for himself if this is true or not.

bubblegumcartel

Edmwers Jin funny one, sharing experiences also kena kpkb... I suggest u ignore them and move on to other threads. To them DL grads always cannot get into top programs and good jobs ignoring what ppl said they have achieved...

Typical sinkie pwn sinke.

Kyoji83

I do not see much different between our email correspond. So the answer is no. However I feel that they are not better then me or I am worst off then them.

But can you write better than them? :s22:

Havok_ex

Edmwers Jin funny one, sharing experiences also kena kpkb... I suggest u ignore them and move on to other threads. To them DL grads always cannot get into top programs and good jobs ignoring what ppl said they have achieved...

Typical sinkie pwn sinke.

Well, sometimes you can't blame them right? If DL-grads are on-par or even better than local grads, top students from JC/poly would be clamouring for places at SIM instead of NUS, but thats not the case is it? Strong evidences of successful DL-grads are still unavailable. Until SIM publishes graduate employment surveys like NUS/NTU, we can't really trust what anyone has to say about DL grads.

Its not a matter of putting others down. Let's take this thread for example. If anyone still remembers, TS wanted to know if he should go overseas or take DL degree here. Since there is little evidence of success for DL grads, the most obvious route to take is to go overseas. Its not about belittling the DL route but choosing which of these routes may garner a higher chance of success.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.