Overseas Dilemma

patryn33

Cost of living many times is a variable cost, if one if frugal not hard to spend 10% less than suggested expenses.
Next for read thread or not??

Another thing students can work in France off campus, unlike states. Easier if students speaks French naturally, full time employment is hard. Est living per mth is ~eur$800
Working while enrolled > CampusFrance

patryn33

TS got gf or not? If have then just stay in singapore lah

If don't have then go france lor

So simple...:s13:

Have gf must stay meh? It's a good test of relationship.
Many of my friends still go, some married to their sweet heart other found new love in a foreign land or love in sg moved on.

Gf may not be there a lifetime, experience overseas stays

xteehee

Yea GGSB is the institute I was accepted to. Thanks for all the constructive comments, I have done my due diligence researching about cost of living, reputation of the school, working in France etc.

I am worried that as I don't speak french i have a lower chance of finding a part time job during my course of study as well as the repercussions of working and studying at the same time.

No i don't have a girlfriend but what is holding me back is my parents as they are not young anymore and i feel guilty for leaving them albeit i have two older brothers in Singapore. I just don't want them to worry about me when i am over there but they definitely will.

I am also unsure of whether spending all the money to study overseas is worth it as compared to studying SIM-UOL here in SG. I know the cost is not like more then 100k like in UK or Australia but being brought up in a low-middle income family the money spent in my eyes is still a lot.

As i have yet to step out to the working world i do not know what employers look for in a fresh graduate and i have been told that a degree is just a paper to opening job opportunities and what i get in France will be the same as SIM-UOL.

All my instincts is telling me to go and look at the world in a different perspective and that the experience i will gain from going there is invaluable but as you can see there are a lot of factors i have to consider so i am just hoping to get some advice/comments from you all.

bugmenot45

what is holding me back is my parents as they are not young anymore and i feel guilty for leaving them albeit i have two older brothers in Singapore. I just don't want them to worry about me when i am over there but they definitely will.

what if you company sends you abroad to work next time? are you going to say no and let your parents hold back your career progress? this is a very likely question that you'll face next time too. it is after all, only 2 years. it'll be over before you know it (and sg-europe air fares have been dropping!!).

i have been told that a degree is just a paper to opening job opportunities and what i get in France will be the same as SIM-UOL.

I've not seen anyone with a SIM-UOL degree enter a management trainee program in any fortune 500 MNCs but I've seen plenty of singaporean who graduated from overseas universities (and not just first-tier HYPMS/oxbridge schools) who managed to get into them. if you want to join an MNC, an overseas education helps. if you're alright with starting your career in a local SME, then SIM-UOL is fine. case in point - just look at the internships that SIM-UOL offers - very few MNCs.

about not speaking french - start learning! there are many free resources online, here's one you can start with: http://www.fsi-language-courses.org/Content.php?page=French

bubblegumcartel

The French hates ppl who speaks English... Start learning French now..

to be honest, on campus is always better than DL. Like what the bros said, its easier to get into grad schemes with ur degree. As for part time work, it can be quite difficult to find in this economic climate since they always prefer to hire their own locals and many grads in the Europe are working in these part-time jobs. But u can always try finding work in a Chinese supermarket or restaurant though... Are you depending on part time work for your expenses and rent

np business...just find a job w ur dip bah..

want do a degree do it part time then...Best of both world. full-time job w income plus ur degree on a part-time basis.

I always feel that this is the best method to attain a degree if one fail to enter the local universities.

lolita_5

Have gf must stay meh? It's a good test of relationship.
Many of my friends still go, some married to their sweet heart other found new love in a foreign land or love in sg moved on.

Gf may not be there a lifetime, experience overseas stays
say it nice is test of relationship
say it not nice is increasing the probability of parting ways

2 mere years in a foreign land worth more than a potential partner for the rest of your life?

lolita_5

Yea GGSB is the institute I was accepted to. Thanks for all the constructive comments, I have done my due diligence researching about cost of living, reputation of the school, working in France etc.

I am worried that as I don't speak french i have a lower chance of finding a part time job during my course of study as well as the repercussions of working and studying at the same time.

No i don't have a girlfriend but what is holding me back is my parents as they are not young anymore and i feel guilty for leaving them albeit i have two older brothers in Singapore. I just don't want them to worry about me when i am over there but they definitely will.

I am also unsure of whether spending all the money to study overseas is worth it as compared to studying SIM-UOL here in SG. I know the cost is not like more then 100k like in UK or Australia but being brought up in a low-middle income family the money spent in my eyes is still a lot.

As i have yet to step out to the working world i do not know what employers look for in a fresh graduate and i have been told that a degree is just a paper to opening job opportunities and what i get in France will be the same as SIM-UOL.

All my instincts is telling me to go and look at the world in a different perspective and that the experience i will gain from going there is invaluable but as you can see there are a lot of factors i have to consider so i am just hoping to get some advice/comments from you all.
Seize the opportunity, your parents will still be your parents after 2 years. Since TS no gf (or u can say burden) then just go lor

lionelow

Really depends on TS but I personally think its a big risk..... i rather to study in SIM-UOL then MBA in insead.

lionelow

have you met any distance learning grads in any top-tier MBA (not MSc) school? I haven't.

'nuff said.

I remember few mths or last year I came across a EDMW thread where a guy said he's a SIM holder working in a govt sector and got accepted by INSEAD.

Kyoji83

1) I am a DL degree holder. I can tell you that with my experience & qualification, it is easy to get into INSEAD. The challenge I face is opportunity cost in term of $.

2) The guy may use his Poly Dip to get a job in Govt Sector while he is a UniSIM or SIM-DL degree holder. Some Govt Sector like SPF also recognize DL Degree.

I remember few mths or last year I came across a EDMW thread where a guy said he's a SIM holder working in a govt sector and got accepted by INSEAD.

dilphinus

1) I am a DL degree holder. I can tell you that with my experience & qualification, it is easy to get into INSEAD. The challenge I face is opportunity cost in term of $.

Do you even know what you are talking about? Have you even attempt to apply for Insead?

FrostWurm

You applied and got accepted? :s22:

bubblegumcartel

Do you even know what you are talking about? Have you even attempt to apply for Insead?

Insead got campus in singapore what. Btw, MBA dont look at your degree only, they look at your employment history and the firm you work in...

Why r u looking down on DL grads? You never hear before doesn't mean dont have.

lionelow

Insead got campus in singapore what. Btw, MBA dont look at your degree only, they look at your employment history and the firm you work in...

Yeah Insead need high GMAT scores of 700+ work experiences and recommendation letter but fees high.

patryn33

Yes, I did. During that period of time, I report directly to my Regional HR Leader for a MNC & have his recommendation with other recommendation/testimonial/merit.

Yes I did is yes I did apply or yes I was accepted and I did applied??
Any acceptance letter to show?

What is a hr leader? VP or P?

My bro in law didn't get into insead. Only manager then at PSA. Was a PSA scholar only offer STB scholarship to read Msc at the Cornell program.

dilphinus

In which way am I looking down at DL grads?

I know people who have graduated from Insead.

patryn33

EDMW... Not sure if I can believe....
There are pics? Loads of bull shitting there haven't u noticed?
Wondergirl kena aids, next death etc.... Sign..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.