Overseas Dilemma

lionelow

Edmwers Jin funny one, sharing experiences also kena kpkb... I suggest u ignore them and move on to other threads. To them DL grads always cannot get into top programs and good jobs ignoring what ppl said they have achieved...

Typical sinkie pwn sinke.

Actually the discussion is not about what foreign unis vs DL but rather on TS dilemma with his family commitments too. Do consider what TS wrote on page 2. We are all trying to help him.

bubblegumcartel

Yeah, but this thread is slowly evolving into why DL cannot get into top MBA discussion which is completely irrelevant... Then u get ppl saying even my friend from on campus cannot get into top MBA, no chance for DL to get into top MBA and all. TS never ever did say he want to do MBA at all, he just asked if he should go overseas

Kyoji83

I thought I have given you permission to share my profile since it won't be difficult for you to snoop around and ask your friend who are working in INSEAD to check on me?

I may have used the wrong word 'easy' because I am able to get into INSEAD through my 1st application.

I welcome your friend to share my profile through you.

I also hope that your friend can share the calibre & profile of the successful applicants through you to those who are interested to study INSEAD since your words in HWZ is more trustworthy then mine.

From a Keyboard warrior who claim that he is a successful INSEAD applicant.

He used the word easy. A friend who went to LSE on campus said the competition was tough. VS a DL grad who said it's easy. A real life friend, vs maybe a keyboard warrior. Who do you think I should believe?

Btw, I've met a few others who went to Insead and these people were from prestigious unis. I have a friend working in Insead (supporting the programmes). So it won't be difficult for me to snoop around and ask (if I want to).

Why don't you GPGT your acceptance letter?

DARTHNERD

this thread has an interesting turn of events but I just stick with TS's concerns.. There are three main points you need to take note and of course some of the hwz guys might have mentioned it...

1) Expenses - have you done them well? you need to consider living expenses such accommodation, food, HP/internet bills and emergency funds like going to see doctor and etc. also, if you are thinking to cook for your every meal while studying overseas to cut cost. forget it man, I tried doing it and it is so hard even though i cook once for 5-6 meals.. while assignments and exams comes together like mad, buying food is no choice because you might not have time to cook, wash your own clothes or even sleep.. why i say it, cos it happened to me and i ate instant mee most of my time.. ahha

if your family is facing some $$ problems, just study locally through DL is not bad either. I did my DL degree and i enjoyed it.

2) working part time - can you really handle it? are you that talented to maintain at least a credit in a good UNI? working PT and studying in a good uni is not easy at all.. i seen my friends doing it and they all managed to get credit grade which is the highest.. so it really depends what is your aim. in my point of view, you are going to uni to study and learn new things. if possible, get good grades unless you choose all the modules that you already did before in poly but what is the point of doing it again?

3) home sickness - can you handle it? I didn't handle it that well during my first month when I was in Australia.. if you think NS is the same, you are wrong because I was wrong and I thought I can handle it well.

do speak to people who has overseas experiences that would be a good start.. for example, patryn33 previously helped me with my decision making to study overseas and i asked him alot of questions which are time consuming.. I also spoken to alot of people who went overseas to work/studies.. Well, hope my points helps you in your decision making..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.