Parc Greenwich EC

fluxos

Quite normal la. It is just like the stock market. Haha! Usually if you are late in the game, you FOMO then in the end, you end up paying more. If you need a roof to stay, then everyone FOMO because now Covid19 and development got delayed. If you are those purely for investment, more hold back until they can find a good bargain. Ppl cited more expensive land, higher building cost hence price always up and up. Well, I tend to disagree. Look at China now. Evergrande is one good example that when you enter the market is crucial. I also don’t buy the story about minister saying EC is like buying a Lexus at Toyota price. End of the day, if u lose $, it is ur own problem. Those in Hyflux bonds or bought some stupid bonds sold by banks will know what I mean. When u really reach the top 20 to 30% of Singaporean (elites), you will have different kind of investment vehicle and property is one of them. Haha! If you only invest in 1 thing, then you are an elite wannabe la. Lol!
But of course if you buy it as a roof, then no good or bad time, good or bad price, good or bad location. You simply need a roof to shield you from rain and shine.
One thing I always asked myself. If I were to buy something at $x, can I sell it to the next sucker at $x + y? Put myself in that sucker shoe and say whether it makes sense. Investment is like that lo. If next sucker not willing to buy, then talk is just theory. Good to find ppl who have the same belief. But to say something crude, sometimes all come together and die together. But at least can all go honglim park to protest together. We r really fortunate to be able to come here and debate all about properties….one thing about buying property is about buying a hope. Once you buy, you hope the sky is the limit.

cheers and Huat to everyone!!
One can hardly go wrong buying an EC, FOMO or not. There is no sure win investment, but from a risk-adjusted perspective, HDB and EC are the safest property investment one can make in Singapore as they are subsidized housing. Brand new condos at 10XX, 11XX, 12XX psf simply does not exist in the brand new private market, only EC.

HDB/EC are truly a Singaporean privilege. I wish I learnt that earlier.

Climber

BTO and new EC will make money. But at what cost? 5 years building period + 5 years MOP. Annualised your return is it decent? Don’t forget once an EC will always be an EC.

luxerio

BTO and new EC will make money. But at what cost? 5 years building period + 5 years MOP. Annualised your return is it decent? Don’t forget once an EC will always be an EC.
true to that statement. But why is that so? Nowadays EC, the design, workmanship and quality are on par or almost matching PC liao. of course cannot compare to those luxury PC, but definitely can fight those PC at OCR.

skpuppy

Previously I show a video. To me, HDB and EC are to stay. The 10 years of investment and lock down is not worth it. Time = uncertainty. I keep hearing no new condo can launch at $1200. But never hear of market correction? At some time, it will come. Question is whether you have the balls to buy. Ppl mentioned apple cannot correct 30% but it did in March 2020. Many who have the balls to buy huat. But can you buy apple at peak and sure make money? Of course! In the next few years, still huat. Same as property la. You can still huat when u buy high. To me, it is about risk assessment.

fluxos

Previously I show a video. To me, HDB and EC are to stay. The 10 years of investment and lock down is not worth it. Time = uncertainty. I keep hearing no new condo can launch at $1200. But never hear of market correction? At some time, it will come. Question is whether you have the balls to buy. Ppl mentioned apple cannot correct 30% but it did in March 2020. Many who have the balls to buy huat. But can you buy apple at peak and sure make money? Of course! In the next few years, still huat. Same as property la. You can still huat when u buy high. To me, it is about risk assessment.
Why did you appeal to buy an EC (Ola) if you think its not worth it?

skpuppy

Why did you appeal to buy an EC (Ola) if you think its not worth it?
I decided not to after doing all the calculations. Plan to buy resale private after income ceiling exceeds by too much. Agents said very difficult to get approval anyway
I considered initially from a perspective of diversification. Comparing the risk of investing in equities vs properties if I were to plough in $x over next 10 + 5 years.

Climber

true to that statement. But why is that so? Nowadays EC, the design, workmanship and quality are on par or almost matching PC liao. of course cannot compare to those luxury PC, but definitely can fight those PC at OCR.
I agree only for newer ECs, unfortunately the bulk are not on par, I’ve been to a few and workmanship is much to be desired. And hence this stigma will remain.

Passerboy

One can hardly go wrong buying an EC, FOMO or not. There is no sure win investment, but from a risk-adjusted perspective, HDB and EC are the safest property investment one can make in Singapore as they are subsidized housing. Brand new condos at 10XX, 11XX, 12XX psf simply does not exist in the brand new private market, only EC.

HDB/EC are truly a Singaporean privilege. I wish I learnt that earlier.
BTO and EC are two safer property vehicle.. Brand new condo at $12xxpsf if u look into the market last year can probably find - Treasures at Tampines, now I don’t think so.

skpuppy

BTO and EC are two safer property vehicle.. Brand new condo at $12xxpsf if u look into the market last year can probably find - Treasures at Tampines, now I don’t think so.
I would say BTO is like super safe. Low quantum. EC is in between. I would say chances of profit is super high and quantum is reasonable. The only risk the the long waiting time. Interest can only go up. Without this interest component (Sora), I think definitely worth getting EC like many ppl say. As long as government control EC supply, there will be huge demand from HDB upgraders

CaptainSGP

Parc Greenwich imo is much better than both the Yishun and Tengah EC to come next year, so if u bought Parc Greenwich congrats to u, if waiting on the sideline can consider since there is keen interest here :) Sadly am one of those ineligible too.
Would u choose PG over Yishun Ave 9 EC with Sea View for own stay ? North facing units will have Sea view but it’s not going to be permanent. Current forested area is a SAF training ground but zoned for housing under URA masterplan.

I won’t be surprised if the Yishun Ave 9 EC seaview units cross 1400psf. Sing Holdings known for squeezing every last bit of profits from buyers, based on their Parc Botannia pricing strategy.

skpuppy

Interesting read about facing YCK n all the fengshui talk. I am staying in HPR at the stack closest to main entrance.

At the beginning there are alot of talks about the surrounding environment, near a small palliative care hosp etc but after the first hurdle and alot just went ahead to buy its a comfortable environment to stay in and the upcoming MRT station nearby is a bonus (just nice coincide with our 10yrs privatisation. )

The only bane is facing or close to YCK indeed got more traffic noise n noisy motorcycle n car that zoom pass in the dead of night (if you on aircon to sleep at night, closing all window helps). In the day to me its white noise since my first home was right along a main road (but not as busy as YcK road) and in front of a LRT track.

I remember in 2017 when news say HPR soldout in a day many netizens say we are kumgongs $850psf also buy, bad economy etc, now people say our developer is kumgong to price so low lol.
Since already buy plse just enjoy your beautiful home...those that are still looking happy hunting :)
Since you stay near this palliative care hospital, did u get affected by all the “yin” energy like people say here? Probably more “yin” than normal hospital and community hospital? Since you are leaving next to it, maybe can give insights to some potential buyers.

Passerboy

Would u choose PG over Yishun Ave 9 EC with Sea View for own stay ? North facing units will have Sea view but it’s not going to be permanent. Current forested area is a SAF training ground but zoned for housing under URA masterplan.

I won’t be surprised if the Yishun Ave 9 EC seaview units cross 1400psf. Sing Holdings known for squeezing every last bit of profits from buyers, based on their Parc Botannia pricing strategy.
Of cos Parc Greenwich, simi sea view will the Yishun site bring though, it’s quite a ulu site.. Parc Greenwich at least have a small Heartland Mall opposite it and Seletar Mall nearby. The Yishun site doesn’t, nearest is Northpoint which is also a 10-15min bus ride away I think.

skpuppy

I am not staying at those blocks beside the hosp, didnt hear any neighbors near there feel anything negative.

I think it's all in our own mind and beliefs. The older I get the more I believe its ok, maybe more zen 😌 😅
I read comments about hospitals. I thought your neighbours all like walking dead. Zombies walking around due to the aggressive yin energy. Like that psf also should increase from $850psf to $1300psf now la. Lol

skpuppy

Of cos Parc Greenwich, simi sea view will the Yishun site bring though, it’s quite a ulu site.. Parc Greenwich at least have a small Heartland Mall opposite it and Seletar Mall nearby. The Yishun site doesn’t, nearest is Northpoint which is also a 10-15min bus ride away I think.
I would take seaview. Very exclusive just like mountain view. Shopping malls cannot fight seaview la.

CaptainSGP

I think majority of Yishun EC buyers will drive. Wait till it launch & u will see multiple images of sea views from the agents in your YouTube/Instagram stories 😂

fluxos

Interesting read about facing YCK n all the fengshui talk. I am staying in HPR at the stack closest to main entrance.

At the beginning there are alot of talks about the surrounding environment, near a small palliative care hosp etc but after the first hurdle and alot just went ahead to buy its a comfortable environment to stay in and the upcoming MRT station nearby is a bonus (just nice coincide with our 10yrs privatisation. )

The only bane is facing or close to YCK indeed got more traffic noise n noisy motorcycle n car that zoom pass in the dead of night (if you on aircon to sleep at night, closing all window helps). In the day to me its white noise since my first home was right along a main road (but not as busy as YcK road) and in front of a LRT track.

I remember in 2017 when news say HPR soldout in a day many netizens say we are kumgongs $850psf also buy, bad economy etc, now people say our developer is kumgong to price so low lol.
Since already buy whatever EC already plse just enjoy your beautiful home...those that are still looking happy hunting :)
Congrats, HPR was a great buy. ECs along YCK like HPR and Topiary all huat big time. Parc Greenwich is latest EC to launch along YCK..

Passerboy

I would take seaview. Very exclusive just like mountain view. Shopping malls cannot fight seaview la.
Real Sea view we are talking about condos along the Marine Parade area, definitely not the Yishun one. I think the “sea view” he is referring is the one near the Punggol side.

fluxos

Real Sea view we are talking about condos along the Marine Parade area, definitely not the Yishun one. I think the “sea view” he is referring is the one near the Punggol side.
Johor Pasir Gudang view… but not blocked for 2-3km.. decent

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.