PASIR RIS PUNGGOL GRC DISCUSSION

Gruffy

I cannot recall when I've seen my MP here at Sengkang. They certainly haven't been to my house. I hope the SDA would put some thought into organising more community events in SK, but realistically, the ward is quite large, and after hearing about WP's obstacles with the CCC and PA, SDA might have tough luck with funding.

But it doesn't bother me.

Sent from HTC One X+ using GAGT

Mirage_97

I cannot recall when I've seen my MP here at Sengkang. They certainly haven't been to my house. I hope the SDA would put some thought into organising more community events in SK, but realistically, the ward is quite large, and after hearing about WP's obstacles with the CCC and PA, SDA might have tough luck with funding.

But it doesn't bother me.

In their rally speech, harminder pal Singh promised PRP voters that they will hold an event every 2 weeks or so

Alphidius

Too many FT around Punggol area...
I will decide my vote on polling day itself...
If so much as an FT piss me off on my way to the polling station...

ussr_1991

Desmond sda guy can't even speak properly, wp should go prp next ge!

Give him a break. He got speech disability.

But vote him in, is to teach PAP a lesson of the fatal flaw of GRC.

In history, we have Cao Cao's mega chained ship burnt.

In modern history, GRC known as Party Block Vote is only practiced in Singapore and 3 other african nations.

Like I say before if WP contest, high chances they would win but dunno why they dun contest whereas SDA lost a few time liao still wanna contest

Even some of us pick SDA, tat doesn't mean they would win end of the day as u have to see the overall votes as pasir ris punggol grc has mani PR & new citizen

cos this grc too big....got pasir ris and punggol split by an expressway....logistically very xiong

Dun care liao.

If u void vote or vote pap, pap thinks singaporeans approves what they are doing and screw us more all over again for the next 5 years.

forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/all-netizens-edmw-5162872.html#post96365452

ussr_1991

In their rally speech, harminder pal Singh promised PRP voters that they will hold an event every 2 weeks or so

Walau. U all must consider that Desmond Lim, SDA culture is inherited from CST's style when Desmond helped to manage Potong Pasir Town Council for 20+ years since 1992.

CST's imperfect (So as everybody, LKY, CSJ, LTK, me etc Everybody do make mistakes) put aside, these events are part of social gathering / interaction as part of the kampong spirit.

Surprisingly for the amount of respect Chiam has, nobody want to spread his personal ground touch into own backyard. Isn't that sad?

If u don't like, don't go for it. Simple as that. BTW, RC do organize weekly karaoke weekly or monthly. That itself is a event.

On top of that, durian trips to JB organized by both PAP & WP wards are also considered as event.

And carnival style like Chinese New Year period, can be also part of event and the wide definition of 'event' means event managers has more jobs.

Sinkies got more job also kpkb. Jin sad what u want sia.

Zelphon

This evening, I shook hands with Mr Sunny Wong Way Weng, of SDA... He is part of the team contesting Pasir Ris - Punggol GRC... He was giving out flyers at Punggol MRT and sadly, no one seemed to notice him... Perhaps it was due to poor lighting.. or everyone were rushing home after a hectic day at work.. or perhaps he was alone... Yes... He was giving giving out flyers alone without any entourage...

I walked up to him, shook his hands and had a quick 5 minute chat with him... I told him flatly that their chances at winning is slim...And he agreed... He knows that they are fighting an impossible battle... Yet he fights on... Why???

He said " We fight to give everyone a voice.. An alternative voice.." Yes.. just a simple "voice".. Against the overbearing majority in Parliament, we need "voice"... To the majority, this "voice" is merely a "whimper" now... Hopefully, after this GE, it will be a "ROAR" !!!

I told him that I will support him...
I told him that even though you will lose this battle..
I want you to at least get back your deposit..
I want you to continue fighting...

Because I do not want this "voice" to be extinguished...

malagas01

This evening, I shook hands with Mr Sunny Wong Way Weng, of SDA... He is part of the team contesting Pasir Ris - Punggol GRC... He was giving out flyers at Punggol MRT and sadly, no one seemed to notice him... Perhaps it was due to poor lighting.. or everyone were rushing home after a hectic day at work.. or perhaps he was alone... Yes... He was giving giving out flyers alone without any entourage...

I walked up to him, shook his hands and had a quick 5 minute chat with him... I told him flatly that their chances at winning is slim...And he agreed... He knows that they are fighting an impossible battle... Yet he fights on... Why???

He said " We fight to give everyone a voice.. An alternative voice.." Yes.. just a simple "voice".. Against the overbearing majority in Parliament, we need "voice"... To the majority, this "voice" is merely a "whimper" now... Hopefully, after this GE, it will be a "ROAR" !!!

I told him that I will support him...
I told him that even though you will lose this battle..
I want you to at least get back your deposit..
I want you to continue fighting...

Because I do not want this "voice" to be extinguished...

You are kind indeed...my friend and his wife in punggol will be voting for SDA too....

Gruffy

My thoughts are that SDA is not going to have an easy job here in PSP.

I attended their rally in Pasir Ris Park. I think they will bond much better with the residents when they meet them in person. Because, up close, I found them all very genial and remind me of the old neighbours I used to have (in Bedok).

Reliving the kampung spirit is a lovely idealistic dream.

For me, SDA reminds me of good hearted neighbours who look out for the neighbourhood.

crohifrocr

Why You Should Vote SDA and not Void

I spent some days thinking about this. Even wrote a little something in Chinese.

TL;DR: Vote SDA now to give more votes for opposition causes in Parliament and prevent PAP from having the 6 votes instead. This is more urgent in this election to help fight unpopular policies, and SDA cannot do any real harm in Parliament. Vote out SDA when WP/SDP is more mature, if SDA has not already collapsed.

The assumption is that WP and/or SDP will be able to take a majority of seats they contested, forming the bulk of any opposition in Parliament.

Many who lean toward stronger opposition like SDP/WP are hesitant to give the vote to SDA because they think it is not credible enough. True - they seem sincere and may do a good job as town councilors, but it looks like they cannot make good parliamentarians because their policies are whack. This argument is to tell you not to void your vote.

Not voting SDA is to allow 6 PAP seats in Parliament, 6 speakers and votes that will block anything SDP/WP will suggest. SDA may be "irrational", but they are likely to vote consistent with WP/SDP because of similar thinking on many topics e.g. White Paper, CPF. At least they can lend their votes. On policies, because we are assuming a rational opposition, SDA can make wild suggestions, but it will be quickly rejected by all sides of the House. A valid strategy for SDA is to be the complaint king in Parliament, but avoid offering solutions they are not confident in, so they avoid being the "initiators" but they are "followers" to the leader of the opposition. That keeps them in power while helping the people keep check and balances.

People worry SDA will stay on in PRP, and remain the same unconstructive party. In a way this is likely - there is little evidence of leadership renewal, you see middle-aged men as candidates without the youth of other parties. However, the strategy says to vote them in this election, and actually SDA will dissolve itself over time keeping pace with the growth of WP/SDP to end PAP dominance. This is because the SDA has 2 constituent parties - one being the Justice Party and the other being the Malay-interest PKMS, and it has been failing to retain and attract other parties. PKMS as a party idea is outdated in today's Singapore, with the fresher opposition going on very clear non-racial lines. The concept of SDA hence will not sustain itself, not helped by leadership renewal challenges. It will naturally break away by itself in an election or two, especially when WP/SDP grows and decide to contest in PRP.

This strategy is not recommended for other parties e.g. RP. The other parties, while looking like the same standard as SDA, do not have the same "timebomb" feature. You see their candidates are in fact young, and somehow they are attracting people from everywhere. It will not be to the interest of SDP/WP to vote them in, and to let RP claim territory and manage to hold it over time.

When SDP/WP takes over the government (maybe coalition, or only one of them), and they consolidate power, if SDA is still around in PRP, then SDP/WP can be convinced to come over to contest. They will easily displace the less-credible SDA. Voting SDA hence helps SDP/WP in Parliament and is useful as a stepping stone for democracy.

李刘徐君,为新政台三霸
雄闹三国,分埔北东西部
忠民权者,全都望孝刘徐
惜力不足,暂时许不实切

顺李两张,受令捍白榜镇
张似轻敌,对联盟军无防
小林睦荃,借星运成都护
虽无实政,却会深体民心

朝内交锋,林免成说可也
傻辩政法,必被李刘徐谴
应纵刘徐,随潮投权冲李
免李六席,终助刘徐成业

他日联军,必将不攻自破
盟质本差,受族团治所约
今不如古,势无从所治者
军也无少,只余老将排阵

相比别军,为革新者举例
素质欠佳,而也少将不缺
愚无喘息,现封侯后必患
阻碍刘徐,费了建民主业

待李势去,刘徐协作夺皇
诺林不屈,随明者攻白榜
新潮新代,君者得有五常
持之以恒,充仁义礼智信

ussr_1991

I spent some days thinking about this. Even wrote a little something in Chinese.

TL;DR: Vote SDA now to give more votes for opposition causes in Parliament and prevent PAP from having the 6 votes instead. This is more urgent in this election to help fight unpopular policies, and SDA cannot do any real harm in Parliament. Vote out SDA when WP/SDP is more mature, if SDA has not already collapsed.

The assumption is that WP and/or SDP will be able to take a majority of seats they contested, forming the bulk of any opposition in Parliament.

Many who lean toward stronger opposition like SDP/WP are hesitant to give the vote to SDA because they think it is not credible enough. True - they seem sincere and may do a good job as town councilors, but it looks like they cannot make good parliamentarians because their policies are whack. This argument is to tell you not to void your vote.

Not voting SDA is to allow 6 PAP seats in Parliament, 6 speakers and votes that will block anything SDP/WP will suggest. SDA may be "irrational", but they are likely to vote consistent with WP/SDP because of similar thinking on many topics e.g. White Paper, CPF. At least they can lend their votes. On policies, because we are assuming a rational opposition, SDA can make wild suggestions, but it will be quickly rejected by all sides of the House. A valid strategy for SDA is to be the complaint king in Parliament, but avoid offering solutions they are not confident in, so they avoid being the "initiators" but they are "followers" to the leader of the opposition. That keeps them in power while helping the people keep check and balances.

People worry SDA will stay on in PRP, and remain the same unconstructive party. In a way this is likely - there is little evidence of leadership renewal, you see middle-aged men as candidates without the youth of other parties. However, the strategy says to vote them in this election, and actually SDA will dissolve itself over time keeping pace with the growth of WP/SDP to end PAP dominance. This is because the SDA has 2 constituent parties - one being the Justice Party and the other being the Malay-interest PKMS, and it has been failing to retain and attract other parties. PKMS as a party idea is outdated in today's Singapore, with the fresher opposition going on very clear non-racial lines. The concept of SDA hence will not sustain itself, not helped by leadership renewal challenges. It will naturally break away by itself in an election or two, especially when WP/SDP grows and decide to contest in PRP.

This strategy is not recommended for other parties e.g. RP. The other parties, while looking like the same standard as SDA, do not have the same "timebomb" feature. You see their candidates are in fact young, and somehow they are attracting people from everywhere. It will not be to the interest of SDP/WP to vote them in, and to let RP claim territory and manage to hold it over time.

When SDP/WP takes over the government (maybe coalition, or only one of them), and they consolidate power, if SDA is still around in PRP, then SDP/WP can be convinced to come over to contest. They will easily displace the less-credible SDA. Voting SDA hence helps SDP/WP in Parliament and is useful as a stepping stone for democracy.

李刘徐君,为新政台三霸
雄闹三国,分埔北东西部
忠民权者,全都望孝刘徐
惜力不足,暂时许不实切

顺李两张,受令捍白榜镇
张似轻敌,对联盟军无防
小林睦荃,借星运成都护
虽无实政,却会深体民心

朝内交锋,林免成说可也
傻辩政法,必被李刘徐谴
应纵刘徐,随潮投权冲李
免李六席,终助刘徐成业

他日联军,必将不攻自破
盟质本差,受族团治所约
今不如古,势无从所治者
军也无少,只余老将排阵

相比别军,为革新者举例
素质欠佳,而也少将不缺
愚无喘息,现封侯后必患
阻碍刘徐,费了建民主业

待李势去,刘徐协作夺皇
诺林不屈,随明者攻白榜
新潮新代,君者得有五常
持之以恒,充仁义礼智信

I agree on the part of voting SDA. But I disagree the part of voting against RP and other parties (NSP, PPP).

In the end of the day, if WP is strong enough, the next election they will be targeting Tampines, Pasir Ris - Punggol anyway regardless who wins.

28 + 5 + 6 = 39.

And if sore losers of TCB supporters managed to get some momentum and deny Jeanette (Who endorsed Tan Jee Say in President election) voted into parliament, SPP is basically finished without viable successor.

So WP will probably also contest Mountbatten for economics of scale into Marine Parade Town Council then. This will be 40.

So, WP can simply contest AMK GRC that is right next to Aljunied base and form government as well.

Then the other parties how? Retreat to West / North lor. Otherwise merge with SDP or 3rd alliance or dissolve.

SDP meanwhile needs at least 4 more elections in order to form a viable government compared to WP, needs 2 as WP had more or less secure the mandate from the East.

AristDing

Saw Desmond Lim at Pasir Ris MRT, wished him all the best for Polling Day.

Can't wait to slap Sleepy Teo, 3 star yes man Ng, doctor more important than NS and jiak Liu Lian Teo ser luck.

I don't give a **** about sun xueling because I don't know who the **** she is.

lion21

I think you all need to look at the bigger picture. If the majority of the country is voting for the PAP and the PAP will win more than 74 seats, we have a national duty to shore up the popular vote so as to give the ruling party credibility

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.