Pocophone F3

i1magic

As S23U user myself right now. I do see how Samsung is killing some of its user base. A few things I have discovered and in comparison with Poco F3

1) Pop up window implementation is somehow better on Poco/MIUI. Samsung will maintain minimum font size then crop in etc on some app, I'm not sure is it app compatibility or Samsung's issue. For example when putting Douyin/Tiktok in pop up, Poco will scale it down directly but Samsung make it look weird and crop in. When opening Douyin/Tiktok in pop up, Poco/MIUI just keep the same app instance 0 disruption but on Samsung it's as if you reopen the app, won't be showing the same video you were looking at. I like Poco/MIUI gesture swipe up from bottom pull it to the top to open it in pop-up, so intuitive

2) Screen Quality. Samsung is for sure brighter than F3 but at the same time, I don't know why the green tint is so serious at low brightness. When looking at the screen at an angle, white turns greenish. I don't notice this on my F3 or iPhone but did notice it on some other phones including Xiaomi Flagship but Samsung one very obvious. Besides that there is this low frequency PWM thing which to be honest doesn't affect me that much at least not immediately obvious. Samsung being the leader in OLED tech decided to give better ones to others and cheap out on own phone. Not sure how true but they're saying it will hurt the eyes more with lower frequency PWM on the screen. Some sensitive people can outright notice the screen flickering.

3) Camera no contest, Samsung win hands down but at the same time I may have gotten really used to my F3 camera on the colours and HDR that I do think I will prefer F3 in some scenario. One small thing is that MIUI got this horizontal water level indication in all camera layout. Samsung only have that in Pro mode.

4) Battery life better on S23U, even if I run it at QHD+ 120Hz maybe due to it being new.

Otherwise, to be honest, nothing else much comparing S23U vs Poco F3 haha. S23U is so much heavier when hold F3 it felt like paperweight haha

Oh and not to mention technically paid $300 more for the phone coz Samsung undercut its own price just 1 month later.
With used Note 20 Ultra w/8GBram and 256GB storage selling about $350-$380.

Do you guy feel that Note 20 Ultra w8GB ram and 256GB storage is a better option?

Please share you views.

progene

With used Note 20 Ultra w/8GBram and 256GB storage selling about $350-$380.

Do you guy feel that Note 20 Ultra w8GB ram and 256GB storage is a better option?

Please share you views.
Note 20 ultra??
If ask me, I would say forget it and fork out a max of $600 for a better mid range phone than Note 20 Ultra. At least, is newer and battery is brand new.
But the main question is, this new phone purchase is your main driver or just for gaming?

tian_yibang

if there is gonna be a mass failure, there will be class action suits against samsung all over the world, so dun worry too much. yolo lor. haha.

This $600 off is global promo ?

or only us sinkpor market got this "exclusive" promo ?

:sneaky:

twosix

This $600 off is global promo ?

or only us sinkpor market got this "exclusive" promo ?

:sneaky:

i think u are confused. we r talking about mass failures, no? where did the $600 fits in? also, the promo applies to all their latest phones, flip, fold, s23 series. u mean all of them got issues? hmm.... a bit far fetch.

i1magic

Note 20 ultra??
If ask me, I would say forget it and fork out a max of $600 for a better mid range phone than Note 20 Ultra. At least, is newer and battery is brand new.
But the main question is, this new phone purchase is your main driver or just for gaming?
It will be my daily driver.

progene

It will be my daily driver.
Now get a 2nd hand Note 20 ultra as a daily driver is really not a wise decision. Unless you really need a stylus and does not wish to spend a ton on S22/23 ultra. I rather get a mid range flag ship killer. Anyway, is your $. Most importantly, enjoy and like your new purchase. You make your own call.

FinalTidus

Ya current F3 user for al most 2 years already. Still going strong.

I might just replace the battery when the battery dies and use for another 2 years.

Subsequent Poco F 4 and 5 don't entice me to upgrade yet

-ASL97

Ya current F3 user for al most 2 years already. Still going strong.

I might just replace the battery when the battery dies and use for another 2 years.

Subsequent Poco F 4 and 5 don't entice me to upgrade yet
I am sure we all will want to know how much when you change it, hope you will remember to update us here in this thread.

In other news, I updated to MIUI 14, there some weirdness with the floating windows that I bet there would be user having issue with them.

But now you can have 5 running apps on screen at the same time, with two MIUI floating windows which is a big change for me, no more getting a floating window replaced with another when opening via the side bar!

I bet no other brand phone can handle 5 apps at once at around $350.

kottty

I am sure we all will want to know how much when you change it, hope you will remember to update us here in this thread.
In other news, I updated to MIUI 14, there some weirdness with the floating windows that I bet there would be user having issue with them.
But now you can have 5 running apps on screen at the same time, with two MIUI floating windows which is a big change for me, no more getting a floating window replaced with another when opening via the side bar!
I bet no other brand phone can handle 5 apps at once at around $350.

how u run 5Apps at once? split screen and 2 floating ..4 only ma..

cybertech

Switching to s23u soon. Their offer too good to miss.

F3 is a really fantastic phone at $300+. Gonna pass it to my child. Haha.
Me too switching over to Samsung S23 Ultra. This MIUI 13 onwards even 14 does not solve my 2 problems:
1) Phone no longer can connect to my car camera wirelessly anymore (contacted apps developer but no reply)
2) Android Auto Waze tends to exit out in car HU (confirmed by apps developer caused by MIUI intermittently data drop)
Both these 2 issues was working fine with MIUI12.
3) And since day one, my fav app "proximity sensor off and on phone" does not work well in Poco F3 coz it is using Virtual Proximity Sensing and not a psychical sensor.
With the new S23 Ultra I have tested, all my above 3 issues worked perfectly.

progene

Me too switching over to Samsung S23 Ultra. This MIUI 13 onwards even 14 does not solve my 2 problems:
1) Phone no longer can connect to my car camera wirelessly anymore (contacted apps developer but no reply)
2) Android Auto Waze tends to exit out in car HU (confirmed by apps developer caused by MIUI intermittently data drop)
3) And since day one, my fav app "proximity sensor off and on phone" does not work well in Poco F3 coz it is using Virtual Proximity Sensing and not a psychical sensor.
Cannot compare la. S23U is a flagship and Poco F3 is not. One S23U can buy 4-5 sets of F3.

cybertech

Cannot compare la. S23U is a flagship and Poco F3 is not. One S23U can buy 4-5 sets of F3.
If not becos of the 2 main issues I mentioned after MIUI 13 update onwards, I will still continue to use this Poco F3. Happen to read the S23 thread lobang and managed to get the S23U 8/256 at $558 so is a good time to change.

kottty

for issue 1 and 2 maybe turn off MIUI optimize will fix it..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.