[Poll] For $200,000 course fees; Would u take a 3 year biz degree in Australia or a airline transport pilot licence?

Which course would u take in Australia?

• Biz degree course -3-4 years

Votes: 7 8.5%
  • Flight training leading to ATPL, can join airlines as 2nd or 3rd officer, as co-pilot (ard 2 years)

Votes: 75 91.5%

• Total voters

iPod Jack

Lets say u got $200k for the course fees, and u r fit to take flying lessons

which course would u choose if goin overseas to study?

P.s Australian flight schools are not competitive, meaning if u got money, certified fit, u can enrol

MoeLanYong

Pilot course. Pika air waitress in Paris. Accommodation paid for by company. Wink at her insai plane on the way back Sg.

iam7377

P.s Australian flight schools are not competitive, meaning if u got money, certified fit, u can enrol
Flying Lesson - Airline Pilot Licence.

Degree is overrated la.

JivBunny

2nd has more value IF your physical and eyesight really ok.

Balian

depends which lifestyle you want
and there are people who fail flight school

coyote

Brother, follow your heart. Both are good choices though I'll think the business degree may make you more employable.

Do you have perfect eyesight and little to no motion sickness plus a clean bill of health? These are needed for commercial pilots. If you already failed your health checks on blood pressure, cholesterol or blood sugar, you can forget about flight school unless you intend to be dusting crops in America...commercial airlines have strict health screening criteria according to my pilot friend who kpkb about about getting jobs from airlines in Singapore...he's stranded in Kathmandu now...

focus1974

but can get into international airlines or not?
Wait they only want their own trainees.

But if can get into international airlines like SIA, i think $200k pilot license more worth it

vbhelper

why cannot ask airline to send u for course? still need to pay for pilot course?

charliebrown

if in life dun have a general academic degree, u will get blocks every where when seeking employment or cannot move to management position later in life.

iPod Jack

why cannot ask airline to send u for course? still need to pay for pilot course?
How many non pilots a year apply to airlines to be pilots?

few hundreds, maybe thousands?

how many actually got in?

10, 20?

and wat do those airlines demand in return?

best of the best cohort, trainees able to withstand 9G, outstanding academic results, talk thru 10 interviews with amdk accents, x ray vision... u get the drift

with ur own money, u can simply just enrol in an internationally recognised flight sch with basic min health requirement... whether can eventually get pilot wings during training is up to u

Jackal84

How many non pilots a year apply to airlines to be pilots?

few hundreds, maybe thousands?

how many actually got in?

10, 20?

and wat do those airlines demand in return?

best of the best cohort, trainees able to withstand 9G, outstanding academic results, talk thru 10 interviews with amdk accents, x ray vision... u get the drift

with ur own money, u can simply just enrol in an internationally recognised flight sch with basic min health requirement... whether can eventually get pilot wings during training is up to u

Not so straight forward.

You need to decide if you want to fly for Singapore based Airlines or other foreign based airlines. To fly for Singapore based airline as a Singaporean, you need CAAS pilot licence. If you are Singaporean, went to the USA and obtain a FAA pilot licence, you are not considered qualified.

There are flight schools that issue CAAS accredited licence but generally speaking, Singapore airlines prefer you go through their cadet pilot program.

Obviously for foreign pilots with FAA licence and few thousand hours, this does not apply to them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.