Primary School Question

The students speaking Chinese and whether school is Chinese oriented after two different matters please… The students speak Chinese among themselves because their families speak Chinese, not because the schools place an emphasis on Chinese.

nowadays kids hardly speak Chinese, be it SAP or our neighbourhood schools :o
Those neighborhood schools are mostly the same Chinese medium schools set up by the hundreds in the 1800s and 1900s. In every town got. Xinmin, Xinghua, Yuying, Yangzheng, Zhonghua etc etc. The list is endless. They are still the same Chinese schools that got subsumed into MOE. MOE picked up the best ones and named the best of the Chinese schools as SAP schools. This is MOE history. Can't really argue about history.

It is in those neighborhood unknown schools that the students mainly speak in Chinese, to each other and with their parents, back then. Now more and more students in neighborhood schools speak English or singlish rather than Chinese compared to the 1980s and 1990s but Chinese speaking youths are still concentrated in these neighborhood schools.

Actually I see more and more parents who got brainwashed by China's fake rise speaking to their toddlers in Chinese. Up until 2018 didn't see any. In fact it was hilarious before, many parents from a Chinese speaking background would insist on speaking in broken English to their kids.

marshmallow96

Those neighborhood schools are mostly the same Chinese medium schools set up by the hundreds in the 1800s and 1900s. In every town got. Xinmin, Xinghua, Yuying, Yangzheng, Zhonghua etc etc. The list is endless. They are still the same Chinese schools that got subsumed into MOE. MOE picked up the best ones and named the best of the Chinese schools as SAP schools. This is MOE history. Can't really argue about history.
Okie I think there is a lapse in the definition of “Chinese oriented schools” between you and I. You are talking about origins and history, I’m talking about whether the schools place huge emphasis on promoting the Chinese language in their curriculums and activities.

Over the years, many old schools were closed, many new schools were opened. Those schools you mentioned don’t represent a majority now. I have friends with kids in those schools you mentioned, don’t find them to be particularly Chinese focused.

but well of course I do know one or two among such schools which are somehow favoured by parents from a certain nationality… Inevitably their kids will be chatting away in Chinese and their number can sometimes be quite significant :o

marshmallow96

What curriculum do these use?

I was having in mind real international schools like Singapore American School, Lycee Francais de Singapour, Stamford American International.
Those “real” International schools, like the other bro mentioned, one can enter by obtaining prior approval from MOE. The sense I got is that they are less strict for secondary schools compared to elementary schools

The 3 “local international” schools, I only know they all offer the IB programme - not my interest area to find out more in detail

katenash

What is the nationality of the girl in your first story?
Are you aware that Singaporean children are not allowed to enroll in international schools? Government policy. They do not want a small sliver of local rich class to use money to segregate themselves out of the mainstream MOE system. After all, that is how they brainwash the kids. :s13: :s13:

UK is so second tier as a country and academic system.
You don’t seem to be familiar with the Sg education system. Either that or you don’t know any Sg who enrol their kids in international schools. Primary school not allowed to enrol in international school. Secondary school totally allowed. I know of many Sg kids who are enrolled in ACS International, Hwa Chong International, SJI International. Of course, these kids went to ‘top’ primary schools like Nanyang, Henry Park and MGS.

katenash

What is the nationality of the girl in your first story?
Are you aware that Singaporean children are not allowed to enroll in international schools? Government policy. They do not want a small sliver of local rich class to use money to segregate themselves out of the mainstream MOE system. After all, that is how they brainwash the kids. :s13: :s13:

UK is so second tier as a country and academic system.
Serious? I didn’t know Oxford has become so lousy. From what I know, many Sg parents are still willing to give an arm and a leg for their kids to go Oxford. Then what is/are the better unis nowadays?

katenash

The students speaking Chinese and whether school is Chinese oriented after two different matters please… The students speak Chinese among themselves because their families speak Chinese, not because the schools place an emphasis on Chinese.

A colleague told me he was sending his kids to Berries so that they could have the environment to speak Mandarin. I laughed and told him the kids at Berries also speak English!

Clazav

Ya. Merging 2A1 and 2A2 is a good move by MOE. Nowadays everyone's an alumni and every alumni can afford the membership. By merging the 2 phases, only the elite alumni can afford the properties within 1km, this helps the schools ensure only the kids of the real elites can get in, further widening the gap between good and not so good schools. Nobody wants to (after all those efforts of buying/moving house and birth right of being an alumni) send their kids to good school and end up hanging out with kids from middle/lower class... And this merger of phase helps mitigate (not completely eliminate) that.
Those who rented within 1km from the school also included. This is a loophole imo, MOE shouldn't given priority to people live near through rental. At least give owners more priority than tenants.

Clazav

Is Chong Fu a popular school? I had not heard of it until a few weeks ago compared to Nanyang Primary.

One thing I notice is that typically most of the students enrolled in this kinda Chinese oriented neighborhood popular schools, are still from lower socio-economic backgrounds (parents can't type in proper English) compared to those renowned primary schools and mission schools.
I don't think they being Chinese oriented is the reason for being lower on ses. It should be the location they are in (as in Yishun). Another one you can quote is nan chiau, or mee Toh etc.

I think this will affect real estate prices as distance becomes even more important and if anything, helps promote social mobility because those new rich can now get places for their kids instead of old rich but behkan career
What about the alumni who are eh kan and the properties within 1km of their alma mater are cheap undesirable housing and as a result of these MOE's pretensions to egalitarianism, the alumni who doesn't want to stay in those undesirable properties got out-balloted?

Okie I think there is a lapse in the definition of “Chinese oriented schools” between you and I. You are talking about origins and history, I’m talking about whether the schools place huge emphasis on promoting the Chinese language in their curriculums and activities.

Over the years, many old schools were closed, many new schools were opened. Those schools you mentioned don’t represent a majority now. I have friends with kids in those schools you mentioned, don’t find them to be particularly Chinese focused.

but well of course I do know one or two among such schools which are somehow favoured by parents from a certain nationality… Inevitably their kids will be chatting away in Chinese and their number can sometimes be quite significant :o
I had the impression that the neighborhood unknown govt schools are very Chinese orientated cuz the only people I know who prefer speaking Chinese born in 1980s and 90s hail from such schools.

Rarely find such people from mission schools and historical English cultured schools.

Thats real bad. Can share what the schools here so we can avoid?

You don’t seem to be familiar with the Sg education system. Either that or you don’t know any Sg who enrol their kids in international schools. Primary school not allowed to enrol in international school. Secondary school totally allowed. I know of many Sg kids who are enrolled in ACS International, Hwa Chong International, SJI International. Of course, these kids went to ‘top’ primary schools like Nanyang, Henry Park and MGS.
The international schools I had in mind are those I named and those real international schools use curriculum from the countries they are from to cater to children of expatriates and it is TRUE that Singaporeans are not allowed to enter those schools without special approval. Not those phony international schools that are started by local schools, offering IB program and just call themselves international because they target a high number of foreigners. ACS International, Hwa Chong International, SJI International using American, French, German public curriculum? Obviously not. You are the one who doesn't know what I was talking about because you are one of those who went around calling ACS International, Hwa Chong International, SJI International international schools and sia suay yourself

Oftheseas

Those “real” International schools, like the other bro mentioned, one can enter by obtaining prior approval from MOE. The sense I got is that they are less strict for secondary schools compared to elementary schools

The 3 “local international” schools, I only know they all offer the IB programme - not my interest area to find out more in detail
That “liquid breakfast” guy is so out of touch of the Singapore education scene that I suspect he is even a Singaporean with kids !

Talk so much about Chinese schools history and not heard of Chong Fu ? I bet he also don’t know about Red Swastika until the Bentley case.
Don’t even know the balloting scene of 2A1 in the past couple years and writing nonsense !
Don’t even know that only a few international schools limit Singaporean while the majority accept thousands of Singaporean (even with scholarships) from secondary one onwards !

Worse of all, his twisted view on Chinese-oriented neighbourhood school. I wonder how the teaching staffs & students of these reputable/well-run schools feel after seeing his comments.

The students speaking Chinese and whether school is Chinese oriented are two different matters please… The students speak Chinese among themselves because their families speak Chinese, not because the schools place an emphasis on Chinese.

The part in bold is what I thought for awhile, until I started noticing more parents of the last couple of years (very very recent thing, maybe about 2 years at most) who got conned by CCP propaganda of the China rise, either sending their children to places like Berries or speaking to toddlers in Chinese. I also notice more private preschools now advertising that they have emphasis on Chinese mother tongue to cater to this duped market. As a parent, if you want to avoid preschools with such phony nonsense, you can look at either church based kindergartens or the anchor operator preschools like My First Skool and Sparkletots that have significant enrolled students from minority family.

These parents while ingesting all the CCP propaganda about their fake rise forget that the Singapore education system is conducted in English! Every subject other than mother tongue is graded in English. The parents themselves already are low ses , some earn a decent income from jobs that have proven profitable like real estate agents and sales despite their lack of academic achievements and poor English. These parents themselves lack the talents to give their children the best family cultivation they can have, yet they want to make things worse by making their education a cheena one as well by sending them to Berries and cheena preschools. I wonder how they think they can produce children good enough to ace the A level system which is entirely conducted in English and go on to a good university course when the children already lack family cultivation to speak fluently, and their parents make things worse by adding roadblocks to their children gaining currency in English culture in their education journey.
I don't think they being Chinese oriented is the reason for being lower on ses. It should be the location they are in (as in Yishun). Another one you can quote is nan chiau, or mee Toh etc.
The location is definitely a compounding factor. But there are popular schools in HDB location like Catholic High, St Nicholas and St Andrew's that have more high ses students than Chong Fu and Nan Chiau.

That “liquid breakfast” guy is so out of touch of the Singapore education scene that I suspect he is even a Singaporean with kids !

Talk so much about Chinese schools history and not heard of Chong Fu ? I bet he also don’t know about Red Swastika until the Bentley case.
Don’t even know the balloting scene of 2A1 in the past couple years and writing nonsense !

Worse of all, his twisted view on Chinese-oriented neighbourhood school. I wonder how the teaching staffs & students of these reputable/well-run schools feel after seeing his comments.
Haha I am sorry I must have hurt your feelings. :s13: :s13:

Don’t even know that only a few international schools limit Singaporean while the majority accept thousands of Singaporean (even with scholarships) from secondary one onwards !
Haha it is evident that you were thinking of international school- those 3 local schools that started schools offering the IB program and put the word International in their names because of that and to attract overseas clientele, and which do not in fact offer a curriculum based on another country but it's fine, different strokes for different folks. :s13:

Oftheseas

You are spot on. Just to add, there are hundreds of Singaporean students studying in our French, Canadian, American schools. As long as one of their parents are of that nationality.

katenash

The international schools I had in mind are those I named and those real international schools use curriculum from the countries they are from to cater to children of expatriates and it is TRUE that Singaporeans are not allowed to enter those schools without special approval. Not those phony international schools that are started by local schools, offering IB program and just call themselves international because they target a high number of foreigners. ACS International, Hwa Chong International, SJI International using American, French, German public curriculum? Obviously not. You are the one who doesn't know what I was talking about because you are one of those who went around calling ACS International, Hwa Chong International, SJI International international schools and sia suay yourself
I sia suay??? I think you are the only one in Sg who doesn’t recognise those schools as ‘international schools’. Whether they qualify as international schools are not measured by your yardstick. They are recognised by the governments in different countries as international schools. If I sia suay for calling them international schools, then Sg and at least China govts are even more sia suay lor.

Nobody on this platform would be thinking of the international schools you were talking about because we are not expats and it’s common knowledge that those schools are for expats’ kids.

You sound totally like someone in his or her own world. I know of someone like that. He says by his yardstick, degrees other from NUS and NTU are not degrees. And those who do not go to NUS and NTU via 2-year A level programme are not real graduates. Siao de.

You can have your own yardstick in your own world and the sia suay one is you. Not me.

What about the alumni who are eh kan and the properties within 1km of their alma mater are cheap undesirable housing and as a result of these MOE's pretensions to egalitarianism, the alumni who doesn't want to stay in those undesirable properties got out-balloted?
You haven't heard of renting a property near the school?

Have heard countless of people doing this for acs and mgs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.