Problem/s with Win8 - Post Here !

duhduhduh

Anyone updated AVAST to version 7.0.1474?

It is fuking up the whole internet settings whereby it I can not surf on any browsers when i enable the shields.

parky123

i have some files in win8, is it possible to backup these files to an external hard disk automatically
without drag and drop everytime

phazer89

i have some files in win8, is it possible to backup these files to an external hard disk automatically
without drag and drop everytime

File History should be able to do that. Search for it under Settings or Control Panel. Although: File History only saves copies of files that are in your libraries, contacts, favourites, Microsoft SkyDrive and your desktop. If you have files or folders elsewhere that you want backed up, you can add them to one of your existing libraries or create a new library.

ragtop

Use nokia suite 3.6.36 with care. My pc bsod with that darn smiley while i was updating my hp firmware and now my hp is bricked. What luck!

Deavenger

today I did an update but after restart.. the internet explorer from the start tile disappeared...

I tried to search for it but cannot find...

I am referring to the start tile version of IE and not the desktop version

desktop version is still there...

I went into control panel trying to set default back... its also not there...

jtjt00

On desktop, right click on IE and select pin to start.

today I did an update but after restart.. the internet explorer from the start tile disappeared...

I tried to search for it but cannot find...

I am referring to the start tile version of IE and not the desktop version

desktop version is still there...

I went into control panel trying to set default back... its also not there...

datsunking

After playing needforspeed world on win8 my win8 seems to crash and the destop all the shortcut gone and the store cannot access... siao liao... seems to haywire sia!!!!!!

Norman Chan

xsoldix

i upgraded from 7 to 8 .
den i want to clean install instead.
i download the iso and burn to dvd.
put in side my dvd,
didnt have the "press any key to boot from dvd..."

straight away go into windows 8 ...

weird!

iron2000

So far my list of Windows 8 problems (and solutions/workarounds):

File association settings of individual programs broken
  • Workaround until the problem programs update: Used the "Default Programs" control panel and the right-click "Open with" menu to get the file types associated properly.

Filenames with international characters shown as squares
  • Workaround until MS patches or something: Create a file named 火.txt and place it on your desktop, credits to the Superuser link in the above link.

IE10 auto-login to Hotmail, Skydrive etc when Win 8 tied to a Microsoft Account
  • Workaround until MS decide to give users a choice to disable that behaviour: Ditch IE and use another browser or use a Local Account on Win 8.

Start screen search doesn't search shortcut files (lnk files) outside the Start menu directory
  • Workaround until whatever: Use another search tool, I went for Launchy.

Cannot boot on successful UEFI install
  • SOLUTION!!: Make sure attached HDD have no logical/extended partitions.

jameshong

Hi all,

In Win7, I have no problem in ibanking but after upgrade to Win8, I can't do it again liao..:mad: !

Can anyone helps?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.