Problem/s with Win8 - Post Here !

SimonLam

not recent tuesday...i think got this issue for sometime liao..happened on my win7 laptop too. just strange...

I am using my MS account too on Win8 (which has local admin rights). Win7 is a local admin account.

Something or some patch may have removed the current user admin rights to the temp folder.

SimonLam

not sure what happened. I did brought my coy laptop back and join homegroup. nvm now i got the fix.. manually reset the rights.

rontanhc

I shall report my own win 8 problem and how i solved it.

Dual booted ubuntu and vista and upgraded vista to win 8, on ide harddisk. Its an amd am3 board with both ide and ahci sata conttoller. While win 8 runs fine. First boot with linux bootloader loading win 8 result in whole system power down. Second boot with same linux bootloader loading win 8 always no problem. restore win 8 bootloader.in a way disabling linux and dual boot, problem persisted. Updated bios, drivers all do not solve 1st boot failure problem. Win 8 runs fine after 2nd boot and linux is always stable on this rig, so its not hardware problem.

in the end...

Yes, win8 does not do a full shutdown. Shutdown will hold a small file so that it bootup fast. If u do a restart on win8, u will notice that it startup very slow, this is normal.
on my MSI notebook i install 2 harddisks, one in win7 and the other win8. I have to do restart on win8 before i start win7 else if i do shutdown on win8 and power up it will alway start on win8 regardless priority first boot or second boot.

my five cents...

nuky8181

Got a problem here with the internet browser. Not certain if link to Window 8 as I am new to it.

Tried on both FF18 and IE10. Every time i surf the internet, the background, link, icon that usually appear on other notebook are not shown on the browser. It is like surfing on HWZ, u dun see the black bar on top, the link "User CP", "FAQ" etc. However, if you move the mouse cursor over those link, the word will appear.

Tried to install the latest java script but it does not help. The notebook is a new one and the problem is there when we surf the internet for the first time. Can someone give some advice?

zelldincht

Likquid

Hello guys, I have been using windows 8 for 2 weeks now. And I'm faced with a very irritating problem.

As a gamer, I use voip-chat clients like c3 and mumble to talk to my friends using a mic etc.

The problem comes after awhile as I join channels, signal drops and I suddenly 'cannot' hear them nor can they hear me anymore. Re-joining the channel will solve it but its very irritating.

As I came from a windows 7 environment, it worked well with no problems. Only when changing to windows 8 then i experience such problems.

I am on wifi if that matters.

Thanks in advance.

E_T

Got a problem here with the internet browser. Not certain if link to Window 8 as I am new to it.

Tried on both FF18 and IE10. Every time i surf the internet, the background, link, icon that usually appear on other notebook are not shown on the browser. It is like surfing on HWZ, u dun see the black bar on top, the link "User CP", "FAQ" etc. However, if you move the mouse cursor over those link, the word will appear.

Tried to install the latest java script but it does not help. The notebook is a new one and the problem is there when we surf the internet for the first time. Can someone give some advice?
Try compatibility mode or re-enable Track Me in IE10.

E_T

dear all,

I have this problem of accessing my old files in my d:drive, such as pictures/videos/documents which I included in my Wins 8 library previously. (I upgraded from Wins 7 to Wins 8)

After a clean installation, now I am unable to access them.
Please advise!

File Access Denied after reinstalling Windows 8 - Pervious files that - Microsoft Community
You need to open File Explorer in Admin mode, Right-click on the folder & choose Properties, Security Tab, Advanced & change the folder Owner to your current account.

Make sure to replace the rights on sub-folders & files also!

E_T

Hello guys, I have been using windows 8 for 2 weeks now. And I'm faced with a very irritating problem.

As a gamer, I use voip-chat clients like c3 and mumble to talk to my friends using a mic etc.

The problem comes after awhile as I join channels, signal drops and I suddenly 'cannot' hear them nor can they hear me anymore. Re-joining the channel will solve it but its very irritating.

As I came from a windows 7 environment, it worked well with no problems. Only when changing to windows 8 then i experience such problems.

I am on wifi if that matters.

Thanks in advance.
Sounds like a soundcard and/or graphics card driver issue. Update yo latest OEM drivers.

You can try to toggle Exclusive mode in the Soundcard driver under Advanced to see if it helps.

lexmarq

Hi guys,

I am wondering if you guys are facing this problem with the messenging app on surface RT or any other windows 8 devices:

When I am typing a reply to person A in the messenging app, person B send me a message in the app as well. This caused the blinking cursor in the text box to disappear and disrupted the typing of my reply to person A. I have to use the mouse or touch the textbox again in the messaging app to continue typing.

This is an irritating problem which I faced when chatting with multiple person in the messaging app and it happens to my windows 8 Pro desktop messanging app as well. Anyone with this problem as well?

Regards,
Joe

Chris_CSTan

Anybody has black/white horizontal lines on your browser?
I am using mostly Seamonkey.

IE has lesser problem though.
TIA.

user949

Hey guys, after I upgraded to Windows 8, whenever I plug in my laptop, the battery indicator says "plugged in, not charging". I have to go into device manager to disable and then enable the battery drivers just to get my laptop to charge. I always encounter this problem when I plug in my laptop and have always needed to use this temporary fix just to charge my laptop. Anyone knows a permanent fix? Thanks for replies.

user949

Try uninstalling the "Control Method Battery" driver then scanning for hardware changes to make it reinstall.

Don't uninstall the AC Charger driver by mistake!
Appears to have solved the problem, thanks for your help!

saysuzu

personalization options are greyed out, even though I connect with microsoft account..

reinstall 3 times liao..haiz...

Nakedtoes

where to get INF driver for intel z77 chipset.... the one from asrock got error message:s22:

zelldincht

You need to open File Explorer in Admin mode, Right-click on the folder & choose Properties, Security Tab, Advanced & change the folder Owner to your current account.

Make sure to replace the rights on sub-folders & files also!

Finally works after setting up my email as the administrator.
THanks bro!

Nakedtoes

lots of problem with windows 8...

- microsoft sidwinder keyboard volume sometime can work sometime cant.
- defender not inside menu context
- althought english keyboard is always on top chinese keyboard always come out when typing

microsoft u sucks lor

eerational

Am encountering a strange problem with Win 8... I upgraded my Asus AIO desktop from Win 7 to Win 8, and it was a smooth installation with no problems.

A few days ago, I realised that all my installed programs, shortcuts etc that are supposed to appear when I click "All apps" have disappeared - only some of the more recent programs I've installed appear. This was definitely not the case before. I'm not sure what happened - can anyone help?

E_T

personalization options are greyed out, even though I connect with microsoft account..

reinstall 3 times liao..haiz...
You need to authorize your PC to personlise. Make sure your MS Account has an email address or mobile number to allow MS to send you the code.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.