Proposal Ring - Part 2

Siyu

I am pretty sure everyone has at least some friends or colleagues they lunch with right?

Now that I have learned so much about diamonds, during trainings / meetings, I tend to notice what other people are wearing. :s13:

Siyu was not the original poster.

I never condemn anyone. I just feel that service is lacking in Singapore. :o:o:o

larcano

You create a new ID just to defend your name/reputation

He did sign off as david at the end..

Anw is really bad PR, bringing further unnecessary attention to the shop, n gives u a hint of the type of service u'll be receiving. I suggest david to remove his post before more ppl reads it.

The Engagement Ring Shop

From their posts, they are really angry and upset with your service. You never really explain about the bad service, lack of reply, and 7 weeks is a long period. gosh.. Wedding takes so much time and effort, so what if they have 6 months, u wasted 7 weeks of their time. You have been in the industry for 5 years. yeah.. there are good times and bad times and different experiences with different customers.

A good suggestion is to contact them and apologize. If they accept and post here that they accept your apology, thats the best outcome. You create a new ID just to defend your name/reputation, never address their complains, then ask them to move on, let things go - of course they have to, their wedding is only 6 months ahead and you spoil their wedding prep. This is making things worse.
Contact them and bite the bullet la. please stop gg to different forum to defend, how can you keep up with someone so unhappy with you?

Your PR skill..
please dont attack me hor. i just saying a word of fairness. In Singapore, Consumers are king, esp to small business. all the more you got to excel in service.. wah lao. the more i read your explanation, i can understand what your mentality is. just defend defend defend.

Dear Siyu ,

If we were defending ourselves only, we would not return with just a short reply to Sean & Huiqi but rather vigorously return point by point .

We did not even want to reply initially, untill we realised they were leaving 2 to 3 threads of the same written complaint on every forum like CozyCot & Weddingforum.sg , and really intending to carry out their Blackmail against us .

I Say " Blackmail " because they had emailed to threaten us.

The Job for a pair of Diamond Wedding Bands , 4 piece of Diamond Jewelry set consisting of Diamond Bracelet , Earrings & Pendant , with a total Carat weight of over 1.00 carats in total , we charged them a sum total of only $2,950 because her sister was my wife's good friend .

After we refunded her the deposit , shockingly they emailed to say they demanded $1,000 compensation from us , or they would write to " warn " others of us .
They said because time & energy was lost .
But we lost just as much as we were going through the same thing .infact we have to pay office rental or else how could we have meet up with her 2-3 times at our office to discuss the jewelry ?

To be frank , we dont even make $1,000 from this job , how are we to even compensate them $1,000 ?

So we did not really review the angle of an apology , just to simmer them down . Because what they really wanted was $1,000 compensation . So we never really got down to thinking about the apology part just to make them happy becos we were still recovering from the shock of the demand & threat .

They wanted me to compensate them $1,000 for their lost time & efforts.
Then can we ask for compensation if we spend all the time & energy and educate a potential customer and then in the end the customer goes to buy elsewhere ?

Lastly we have to make clear we regret & have apologised very early to Sean & Huiqi that we lost part of their order and only started the job 6+ weeks later. This should not be used as an excuse , but my 1st child was born in Febuary also . And i was very busy at home the 1st month & half .

In the End , i had to return the job because , i had apologised i had lost part of the order and requested them to email me a copy . when they refused to do so , and we had a disagreement over the diamond carat weight total ,so i felt that their atitude was very much " My Way or the Highway " because they simply refused to email me a copy of the details . So i supposed we are also scared , that if the customer has this kind of atitude , further problems may arise .

best regards David

The Engagement Ring Shop

Dear Larcano,
Thanks for the advice . Yes we have met some new enquires recently and they did voice their concerns about this complain . Well , we show them all the emails that Sean & Huiqi send us , the " Blackmail " & " My way or the Highway atitude " and they understand its not entirely our fault .
As i said , when this threats by Sean & Huiqi are really being carried out , and when its plain to see that this has become a witchhunt , We need to come in to voice out.

best regards david

Siyu

Quote "because her sister was my wife's good friend."

I feel sorry for both parties. This is so embarrassing for her sister and your wife. Call them up and apologize again, tell them you cannot compensate.
Hmm, if they keep doing this, writing on forum, there is no way you can prevent them from doing so.

Aiyo, why like that? your wife referred them to you. should have done swee swee, you really shot yourself in the leg. you should not have delayed la. now u see.. aiyo. if they really want money, just give them 500 and case close, but that will pave the way for more compensation in future.. anyone got any suggestion to resolve this? alamak. doing relatives' business must be more on the ball la

llvisionll

David,
1) Your price on diamond wedding bands and jewelry set seems good (but haven look into the quality of the gold and diamonds used)

2) We can understand that you were busy due to your newly born baby. We can take that into consideration for your time management, but as you said earlier, this cannot be an excuse. If something happened beyond your control, you should actually take initiative to inform the couple, and not the other way round.

3) Upon losing the jewellery details, in fact, is the biggest mistake in your line of industry. This is purely unforgiveable especially there isn't any form of compensation mentioned.
And you mentioned “so i felt that their attitude was very much " My Way or the Highway " because they simply refused to email me a copy of the details . So i supposed we are also scared, that if the customer has this kind of attitude, further problems may arise”.
Have you ever put yourself into their shoes? Lost their order plus diamond carat disagreement, I think they even more scare than you at that point of time. You lost the order and not them. This is not pasar malam goods. Once consumers are angry for some good reason, your PR skill should come in and not your own set of principles.

4) You also mentioned: "We all need our RiceBowl , we all have a Family & children to feed , Its unfair of us to simply bad mouth others without proof ...and destroy other people's livelihood ..."
Please wake up from your idealistic world. You have to think of ways to sustain your business, and not to beg for any compassionate from consumers (unless your business is meant to be charity organization). Like in corporate world, we cannot request for a pay rise by pouring out our personal problem, instead we should think of how we had value-added to the company.

We will not like to see you had been shortchanged as well. To be fair, if you think the couple created some lies in their complaint, do let us know. Or else the complaint will still stand as what it supposed to be in the first place - just purely negative image! Lastly, if you think they had 'blackmailed' you, please go ahead report to police.

larcano

If this is a private matter, it should be resolved privately, instead of airing dirty linen in public and publishing actual names. Is this an attempt at public shaming?

Anw, though there may sometimes be customers that are unreasonable/demanding, by accepting their deposit means an agreement is in place. Simply refunding the deposit does not resolve the matter. Unfortunately, the couple do have the right to seek compensation.

The Engagement Ring Shop

If this is a private matter, it should be resolved privately, instead of airing dirty linen in public and publishing actual names. Is this an attempt at public shaming?

Anw, though there may sometimes be customers that are unreasonable/demanding, by accepting their deposit means an agreement is in place. Simply refunding the deposit does not resolve the matter. Unfortunately, the couple do have the right to seek compensation.

Dear Larcano ,
Take note that actual names were published on both sides though.
The compensation you mention must be legally enforced by documentation beforehand like building projects .
But its rare in the jewelry industry .

regards

The Engagement Ring Shop

David,
1) Your price on diamond wedding bands and jewelry set seems good (but haven look into the quality of the gold and diamonds used)

2) We can understand that you were busy due to your newly born baby. We can take that into consideration for your time management, but as you said earlier, this cannot be an excuse. If something happened beyond your control, you should actually take initiative to inform the couple, and not the other way round.

3) Upon losing the jewellery details, in fact, is the biggest mistake in your line of industry. This is purely unforgiveable especially there isn't any form of compensation mentioned.
And you mentioned “so i felt that their attitude was very much " My Way or the Highway " because they simply refused to email me a copy of the details . So i supposed we are also scared, that if the customer has this kind of attitude, further problems may arise”.
Have you ever put yourself into their shoes? Lost their order plus diamond carat disagreement, I think they even more scare than you at that point of time. You lost the order and not them. This is not pasar malam goods. Once consumers are angry for some good reason, your PR skill should come in and not your own set of principles.

4) You also mentioned: "We all need our RiceBowl , we all have a Family & children to feed , Its unfair of us to simply bad mouth others without proof ...and destroy other people's livelihood ..."
Please wake up from your idealistic world. You have to think of ways to sustain your business, and not to beg for any compassionate from consumers (unless your business is meant to be charity organization). Like in corporate world, we cannot request for a pay rise by pouring out our personal problem, instead we should think of how we had value-added to the company.

We will not like to see you had been shortchanged as well. To be fair, if you think the couple created some lies in their complaint, do let us know. Or else the complaint will still stand as what it supposed to be in the first place - just purely negative image! Lastly, if you think they had 'blackmailed' you, please go ahead report to police.

Dear llvision,

Yes we are just worried about the ramifications of the witch hunt on every forum , and we will be making a trip down later to seek clarification from the Police about the earlier " Blackmail " we faced .

We have concrete evidence on email that the refund was accepted after we proposed to refund them .
Only Later , the request for compensation came , and that if we did not pay them $1,000 , they will proceed to " warn other people ".

Lastly , No - if we were to retort every false accusations from their complain letter , its not really nice .
afterall we also have to take some blame for some of the mistakes we made .

But if i chose to remain silent , thats really unfair to us .

Read their points 1 to 7 again , and you really have to scratch your head .
Just see point 2 , where if i didnt get back to her with the price she wanted . i am at fault and i am giving a grandmother story ?
you know i am already giving u a very low price .

anyways , i really hope this blows over .

regards

Kenny23

I am sure both the shop & the couple has their own respective faults..but its really not a nice thing to do to post both their actual names & their wedding date online..whether it was meant to shame them a not so that people in the forum can figure out who they are.. i dont think anyone who didnt mean to have another motive would bring up those points but lets give you the benefit of the doubt..regardless how it ended, it should be treated with more tact & professionalism..the couple may have been at fault too but why would anyone want to spoil their process of their wedding..

Perhaps both parties can iron things out fairly with CASE :)

Sean & Huiqi : I hope that this will not affect your wedding process..enjoy it as much as u can

Well least I now know which shop not to check out when looking for my wifes 2 carat anniversary ring..i wouldnt want risk getting my details spilled all over the forum...haa

recnamor

Probably just a misunderstanding and different expectation from both party. It is common. Hope you guys don't blow up the case anymore. Peace...

teqrise

I was paid the highest compliment yesterday for my diamond purchase.

GF's colleagues commented that her ring is too distracting and wants her to stop wearing it at work. :s13:

Hi Carnage, where did you get your diamond from?

jhchoo85

New from JannPaul, can anyone make a guess what it is?

581430_386419161390571_142685262430630_1191445_894138484_n.jpg

Siyu

I am sure both the shop & the couple has their own respective faults..but its really not a nice thing to do to post both their actual names & their wedding date online..whether it was meant to shame them a not so that people in the forum can figure out who they are.. i dont think anyone who didnt mean to have another motive would bring up those points but lets give you the benefit of the doubt..regardless how it ended, it should be treated with more tact & professionalism..the couple may have been at fault too but why would anyone want to spoil their process of their wedding..

Perhaps both parties can iron things out fairly with CASE :)

Sean & Huiqi : I hope that this will not affect your wedding process..enjoy it as much as u can

Well least I now know which shop not to check out when looking for my wifes 2 carat anniversary ring..i wouldnt want risk getting my details spilled all over the forum...haa

Engagement ring shop. - now u know what i mean by Bad press. u don't reply liao. better that way. else netizens will spread bad name about your shop. Since your wife know the sister, why not ask her meditate the whole issue. Now ppl are so angry with you lor.

Siyu

Dear Larcano ,
Take note that actual names were published on both sides though.
The compensation you mention must be legally enforced by documentation beforehand like building projects .
But its rare in the jewelry industry .

regards

Next time, i buy proposal ring, i will ask my lawyer to be present, add in additional clause for compensation for misdeeds. :vijayadmin::vijayadmin::vijayadmin:

Siyu

Dear llvision,

Yes we are just worried about the ramifications of the witch hunt on every forum , and we will be making a trip down later to seek clarification from the Police about the earlier " Blackmail " we faced .

We have concrete evidence on email that the refund was accepted after we proposed to refund them .
Only Later , the request for compensation came , and that if we did not pay them $1,000 , they will proceed to " warn other people ".

Lastly , No - if we were to retort every false accusations from their complain letter , its not really nice .
afterall we also have to take some blame for some of the mistakes we made .

But if i chose to remain silent , thats really unfair to us .

Read their points 1 to 7 again , and you really have to scratch your head .
Just see point 2 , where if i didnt get back to her with the price she wanted . i am at fault and i am giving a grandmother story ?
you know i am already giving u a very low price .

anyways , i really hope this blows over .

regards

Police wont care about such crap la. Hire a lawyer.

For myself, Cannot decide if i will BOYCOTT shops with bad reputation.. what do HWZners think?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.