Proposal Ring - Part 3

KinoChoco

No love for James Allen?

I think the more popular one for value next to JP is really white flash. Brian Gavin out Liao, now they came out with the black line and charges higher than JP for similar super ideal standard, Probably hard to find a good one at cheaper now that I'm sure the better ones got picked for the black line for profit. But after some surveying thru their black line, I see quite afew that's below 'Super ideal' standard, hence to be honest, I really dunno why they come up with this new series, it's not really very strict with the criteria also..maybe just slightly stricter as compared to their hearts and arrows series.

But hor, all these are nothing la, I think we need to dive into the forbidden land and source out the legendary super ideal at 20% discount...that one no unicorn run, dunno the shop hiding in which cave/mountain :(

7evenboy

No love for James Allen?

james allen dont have super ideal cuts. they only have the ideal scope for their true hearts series. they can send the aset scope but need to request them individually and not all will have it. when i saw the aset scope they gave, it didn't look to great either so striked them off my list

bb_100

But hor, all these are nothing la, I think we need to dive into the forbidden land and source out the legendary super ideal at 20% discount...that one no unicorn run, dunno the shop hiding in which cave/mountain :(

You referring to Lalaland bro? Haha!

bb_100

james allen dont have super ideal cuts. they only have the ideal scope for their true hearts series. they can send the aset scope but need to request them individually and not all will have it. when i saw the aset scope they gave, it didn't look to great either so striked them off my list

Ahh I see. I have never requested for their ASET before, but just by looking at the Idealscope the diamond is quite beautiful leh.

ErinaMizuno

Hi all, anyone here got their diamonds from Tiffany or Cartier?

May i ask without the ASET or Ideal scope images etc, how do you tell the quality of the diamond beside from naked eye and the stats from their self-appraised cert?

i understand most of you here will point me to JP, but everyone around me have gotten theirs from JP and i would like to be a lil bit diff =p

My gf is also a fan of Tiff&Co

bb_100

May i ask without the ASET or Ideal scope images etc, how do you tell the quality of the diamond beside from naked eye and the stats from their self-appraised cert?

i understand most of you here will point me to JP, but everyone around me have gotten theirs from JP and i would like to be a lil bit diff =p

Read this first before you do anything else:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/art...pert-goes-undercover-Tiffany-overcharges.html

KinoChoco

Buy a ASET scope set online and survey your T&C diamond. you're technically paying 2-3x more the price, the least you could do is spend around $100 and get the scopes and get a good rock. You won't be able to really pick a very good one with cert details. Also, what size are you looking at? If you're only getting something like 0.5-0.6, I really rather u use the same price to get 0.8-0.9 from JP, there's more wow factor on the diamond.

PS: make sure to showcase your blue box all over the social media to justify the brand premium haha!

bearyixiong

Hey thank you all for the comment! Very informative indeed!
Yea i'll tell them my budget is <3k but willing to pay a bit more if thats worthy

The scopes on this 0.33 E VS2 from WhiteFlash ACA is really good.

Also has a HCA score of 1.3.

Suggest you get in touch with local jeweler and see how much the setting is going to cost and you should still be able to stay within your 3k budget.

ErinaMizuno

Buy a ASET scope set online and survey your T&C diamond. you're technically paying 2-3x more the price, the least you could do is spend around $100 and get the scopes and get a good rock. You won't be able to really pick a very good one with cert details. Also, what size are you looking at? If you're only getting something like 0.5-0.6, I really rather u use the same price to get 0.8-0.9 from JP, there's more wow factor on the diamond.

PS: make sure to showcase your blue box all over the social media to justify the brand premium haha!

yup was looking at ard 0.5 carat.. hmm ok i guess i will make a trip down to JP first.. seems like the markup is realli quite bad and i was expecting that aside from the blue box, there shld be some unique qualities from the stones for rich ppl to shelve out money for that kind of price

KinoChoco

yup was looking at ard 0.5 carat.. hmm ok i guess i will make a trip down to JP first.. seems like the markup is realli quite bad and i was expecting that aside from the blue box, there shld be some unique qualities from the stones for rich ppl to shelve out money for that kind of price

Haha nope, it's just the brand and the nice box. It's the same as many luxury international Brand’s, u see them selling sterling silver higher than 18k gold haha

darknite84

Guys, any comments? Decent buy?

0.85C

AGS Super Ideal

Color : E
Clarity : VS1
Flourescence : Neg
HCA : 1.4

$9,900 from Jann Paul, setting is another $1,200 with side diamonds

xelsingaz

0.61 F VS1

Hi guys,

seeking your comments on my diamond purchase from JP:

Carat Weight: 0.61carat
Colour Grade: F
Clarity Grade: VS1
Cut Grade: Excellent
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: None
Clarity Characteristics: Crystal
HCA Score: 1.0

Paid $5,200 for it.. was it worth it? Thanks in advance for comments and feedback!
3J1qAHw.jpg

Hx2Nm8I.jpg

c6Adyy1.jpg

4FvfubD.jpg

walkerz

I was quoted around the same price for a G colour, but bigger carat. If u drop to VS2 might be cheaper.

Hi guys,

seeking your comments on my diamond purchase from JP:

Carat Weight: 0.61carat
Colour Grade: F
Clarity Grade: VS1
Cut Grade: Excellent
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: None
Clarity Characteristics: Crystal
HCA Score: 1.0

Paid $5,200 for it.. was it worth it? Thanks in advance for comments and feedback!
3J1qAHw.jpg

Hx2Nm8I.jpg

c6Adyy1.jpg

4FvfubD.jpg

tinkerella

Any recommendations for wedding bands?
Are there any differences in quality between buying from commercial jewellers and getting from places like Lings/JP/Michael Trio?

I don't plan to customise my wedding bands as my Fiance just wants a plain, simple ring and I actually want a half eternity to match my solitaire.

Went to MT, SK, and Goldheart and realized that MT wedding bands costs significantly more (even for plain wedding bands with no diamonds or design). Wonder why that might be the case?

(Sorry for hijacking the proposal ring thread with a wedding band enquiry!)

KinoChoco

Any recommendations for wedding bands?
Are there any differences in quality between buying from commercial jewellers and getting from places like Lings/JP/Michael Trio?

I don't plan to customise my wedding bands as my Fiance just wants a plain, simple ring and I actually want a half eternity to match my solitaire.

Went to MT, SK, and Goldheart and realized that MT wedding bands costs significantly more (even for plain wedding bands with no diamonds or design). Wonder why that might be the case?

(Sorry for hijacking the proposal ring thread with a wedding band enquiry!)

Yes certain shops do charge slightly higher due to branding, however do take note of the actual amount of white gold / material used for the ring, some of the shops (e.g Meyson) have really cheap range of wedding band but often it's because the inner ring is hollow (lighter and less material) hence for the cheaper rate, but they won't tell you about this, I only managed to find out after I gotten the rings years ago.

If you like certain brand or certain design, go for it. (E.g a lot people like Cartier)
If you're not into luxury brands, you can approach JP for a quote on customised wedding band (design you can customise), I believe they provide good pricing rate, considering that their rings are not hollow hence it's definitely priced higher than Meyson's cheapest range

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.