Proposal Ring - Part 3

KingKenny

Been busy preparing for proposal stuff and didn't check the forums.
Saw that there's a new "disagreement" issues between the bros here..

Actually I realised that KinoChoco had the tendency to jump into JP's defense whenever someone mentioned and says anything negative about JP. (i.e. even stuff like pricing). Happened to me and few others as well..

When I read Throwaway's msgs, seems to suggest that he only use HCA for filter (which we all know isn't complete enough) and his scopes (if he really has them). Give him the benefit of doubt that he have the scope, I think it isn't surprising if he managed to find one "ideal near to super ideal (that prob may just falll behind JP's super ideal)" diamond at 1k cheaper.. why not? I rmbed someone here mentioned he found an ideal that even JP staff cant tell diff against the super ideal.

In fact, even amongst the super ideal scopes shown here. I can nitpick on some.
for example, look at the diamond image, the contrast part (the black lines/arrows), beside some of them, there's a small black dot in most of the scopes uploaded here. (it'll appear in ideal scope and aset scope as well). Some better one's have very little (or smaller) "black dots" like these and some have more.
-I'm a JP customer and mine has 3 (which is already better than 90% of the scopes i see here)

The thing is, super ideal is still not perfect and perhaps to throwaway, his find was already super ideal to him. One thing I do agree is that if you really put in effort to go to shops to find and look at scopes, won't be surprising if u manage to find a "super ideal" grade diamond (with almost perfect hearts/arrow and little leakage) at a cheaper price than JP..

Anyway, I've collected my ring and felt that every dollar is well spent at JP for its service and quality.. they really made things easy for us and no need to spend the effort. but for those with a budget, can try to look around.. not 100% can find, but maybe something good enough with just slightly high leakage but much more affordable.

To be fair, its probably sparked off by the other drama 1 month ago. Some new account came in and said the same thing. Went to JP, diamonds were good, service was good, everything was good, but he found a ''better deal'' elsewhere. It starts with lots of praise and then ends of with somewhere else is better, which is kinda the same pattern I'm seeing here.

That poster shared the diamond and his jeweller, which everyone was supportive of excited to know. He even said got all the ASET scope, hearts and arrows scope, etc. and they looked the same as Super ideal cut standard. Some of the bros went to check it out (including myself). Turned out that there was the ASET scope and stuff. But it was all sh*t. It was really bad. Not just mediocre but like classic textbook of a bad example. And the jeweller even sold them as ''exceptional excellent light performance''. That's just scamming newbies out there who don't know their stuff.

Story short, the mods somehow found out that poster was the jeweller himself and his posts got deleted and banned. One month later, a new poster comes using the same pattern. Only difference is he purposely don't want to say what diamond he got, or the price, or from where. Just telling people there are better deals out there but I won't tell you where. lol.

Anyway, even if he shared his scopes or jeweller, I doubt anyone here will believe them to be legit. He'll probably start a new account again and try to come up with a smarter story :s13:

bb_100

are they creating wax model/3d rendering for everyone or only if you have some customization?

If you do not customise, or if your customisation is very minor, they will not produce a wax model of your ring. Cuz you can view the ready made settings which is very close to what you want.

bb_100

Just telling people there are better deals out there but I won't tell you where. lol.

No bro, he asked us to PM him for more details regarding his "wonderful deal". Someone did PM him, but instead of being direct and disclose the details, he bushing around the beating hahaha.

MonoByte

Sharing my ring ring design :D Just confirmed it with JP. Now is the long wait for them to craft it for me :s12:

Word of advice to other bros. If you plan to customize your ring, its better to start early. They take 2 weeks to do the 3d render and you can continue to tweak and change to your liking. The more time you have, the more you can brainstorm for ideas and make changes.

Very nice and unique design although it seems to be sitting a little tall depending on the size of the diamond? How many carat is this may I ask?

bb_100

Do you guys know if JP's price is fixed or they have some room to negotiate? Thanks!

Don't feel shy to negotiate bro cuz you are not buying vege from a market. This costs a few thousand bucks. But don't haggle until like your typical morning market aunty lar haha. Be firm with your negotiations until people can feel your sincerity haha.

I did something like that and got my diamond reduced by $100 hahaha.

hisdearqueen

It's not only the super ideals. Even the Ideal cuts or normal excellent are more expensive at JP. My colleague went down last week. Since his priority was to save money (plus he was only getting half a carat - seriously ideal cut is not worth it at such a size) he ended up asking JP if he could get the normal triple excellent one instead.

I thought JP only sold Super Ideals, the rest under HOH I think. Anyway, ultimately depends on what one prioritises. But for someone who prioritises cut over colour/clarity (and doesn't mind sacrificing a teeny bit on the carat too), i totally disagree with you about the "ideal cut is not worth it at such a size". No point getting a big rock that doesn't shine ~

LL1986

Haha yea, I don't know why he got so sensitive also. Plus the more you reply, then more childish he gets, to the point of which I don't even bother to reply it anymore.

I brought mine to JP for a verification since I thought they do it everyday so it's nice to have a 2nd opinion. I wouldn't have posted if I didn't have this assurance.

There is not a lot of super ideal cuts going around because there is simply no mass market demand. Do you guys know that IF you go to say Lee Hwa or Soo Kee or whatever, they are NOT price sensitive between a Super Ideal and Ideal or even Excellent cut??? They simply DO NOT keep a record of the aset scans. I find it hilarious that people think there is a 1-1 correlation between super ideal cut and price. The majority of the consumer mass market does NOT bother about this and retails do not adjust their price according to that as well.

Some guy here even asked me "u sure it was the aset scope u borrowed? Most shops don't have it" Heck, you didn't even know other shops also have it and you claim you did all your homework already?

I had to do the visuals myself. The few shops that had the aset scope did not mind me borrowing their scopes, but some of them did not even have the knowledge to understand the visuals.

There is a demand for Super Ideal cut services (e.g Brian Gavin) because they are one of a kind in the market - the other mass market retailers don't help you filter through the ideal ones. I was merely pointing out the fact I took my own time and effort to do the filtering myself and took advantage of the price insentivity. Is it worth it to do so, considering the time and effort you had to spend? Maybe not. But to me I like the savings and shopping around so that's what I decided upon.

It's not only the super ideals. Even the Ideal cuts or normal excellent are more expensive at JP. My colleague went down last week. Since his priority was to save money (plus he was only getting half a carat - seriously ideal cut is not worth it at such a size) he ended up asking JP if he could get the normal triple excellent one instead. He was then quoted $3400 for a 0.51c F color VS1. That was diamond ONLY. He ended up buying from another private jeweller for $3,500, INCLUDING setting, same specs except color E.

Lee Hwa and Soo Kee do have their Ideal cuts and they are priced higher. Lee Hwa's Ideal cut is their Destinee series and Soo Kee's Ideal Cut is their True Love series.
The Destinee series are AGS certified that has the ASET scans on the cert. I'm sorry but you're twisting the facts to support your argument.

hisdearqueen

... I'm sorry but you're twisting the facts to support your argument.

Yeah, I also think there are factual errors. Don't think it's 1k more for Super Ideal (because I'm a lucky girl who didn't have to walk into JP, boyf did all the legwork ahahahha). Anyway ... I understand if ThrowAway01 wants to stretch his dollar, and I think he is some high-roller la, seen a lot of 1+carats before ... So I have to let him diss my/our very small 0.5(and below) carats lor :s22::s22::s22:

bb_100

Also which fact am I twisting to support which argument?

Bro, when wanna reveal where you got your super duper fantastic diamond deal bro? And bro, weekend's almost over bro, when wanna share your diamond's scope images bro?

Hahaha!!

LL1986

(1) In the first place, i m not comparing prices against those branded retailers, if u haven't been reading my previous comments. Everyone knows branded retailers' price cannot beat the prices of private dealers. I was merely using well known brands as the example for discussion.
(2) your claim that the destinee series has Aset scans further supports my point that ideal cuts can be found if you bother to look around Singapore
(3) conversation between my friend and Lee Hwa last week took place like this : "do you guys have Aset images record of your solitaire diamonds?"
Sales girl replies : "no, I m sorry we do not have that"

Also which fact am I twisting to support which argument?

(1) ''Do you guys know that IF you go to say Lee Hwa or Soo Kee or whatever, they are NOT price sensitive between a Super Ideal and Ideal or even Excellent cut???''
I do not know how else to interpret your sentence. I did not compare any prices between branded retailers or private dealers. I'm merely stating the fact that Lee Hwa and Soo Kee has their own Ideal cuts (not Super Ideal cuts), and they are priced higher compared to their own excellent cuts.

(2) you are confusing Ideal and Super Ideal Cuts. It's not the same.

(3) Ok, whatever your friend says must be correct.

hisdearqueen

Seeing diamonds does not mean those diamonds are mine. Don't you now realize you are making a lot of assumptions from your own interpretation of my words?

You are also assuming that I meant those diamonds are yours (?) No malice intended. Anyway, I would honestly want to know where you got your diamond from. If you can private message, do drop me a note. Can nudge boyf to upgrade from there next time :s13:

KinoChoco

Bro, when wanna reveal where you got your super duper fantastic diamond deal bro? And bro, weekend's almost over bro, when wanna share your diamond's scope images bro?

Hahaha!!

Don't need bother with this loser already la, he already know no hope to promote his brand, he won't share out genuine details of his purchase one. Got talk no action, lack of balls. 😂

bearyixiong

Just wanna add on to the conversation here.

As the other HWZers have spoken, everyone here is looking for the better diamond at the best price point that they can get. Here's a detailed breakdown on why I went for JP in the end:

I was looking at a range of 0.5-0.7c diamonds for the engagement ring.
After visiting MT, eClarity, Vivo, JP and the standard BnM shops, I nailed it down to a 0.6 carat as my sweet spot.

Compared the diamonds at JP and the other local retailers and found that the service offered at JP was great and the SA (Ranjit) was not pushy at all. I actually learnt and had great advice from him as well.

For referemce, here's a comparison done with other signature lines from WF and BG.
nNzieJF.png

In the end, I went with JP because it was:
- getting a better diamond compared to the Signature lines online
- their Super Ideal Cut is really no horse run. Sometimes you can even save more $$ if you can get the SA to find you an Ideal Cut that was not categorised under SIC due to their stringent QC (I was unlucky not to be offered this option)
- I was willing to pay 5-10% over online price to have the legwork done for me
- 100% lifetime trade-in value compared to getting the Signature cuts from local retailers
- relatively cheaper compared to getting it online (maybe cheapest if you get your foreign colleague to bring it out of Singapore and claim GST relief ;))
- get to see, feel and touch the diamond and check it under the loupe before you buy
- have additional stuff like 2 free resizes, free polishing and the option to customize the setting if I wanted to (but I didn't and went with a standard setting).
- free diamond education lesson with JP if you're not inclined to learn online first

Anyway, here's the link to the diamonds referred in the Excel sheet
Brian Gavin Black 0.593 F VS1
Whiteflash ACA 0.6 F VS1
JannPaul SIC 0.6 E VS1

KinoChoco

Just wanna add on to the conversation here.

As the other HWZers have spoken, everyone here is looking for the better diamond at the best price point that they can get. Here's a detailed breakdown on why I went for JP in the end:

I was looking at a range of 0.5-0.7c diamonds for the engagement ring.
After visiting MT, eClarity, Vivo, JP and the standard BnM shops, I nailed it down to a 0.6 carat as my sweet spot.

Compared the diamonds at JP and the other local retailers and found that the service offered at JP was great and the SA (Ranjit) was not pushy at all. I actually learnt and had great advice from him as well.

For referemce, here's a comparison done with other signature lines from WF and BG.
nNzieJF.png

In the end, I went with JP because it was:
- getting a better diamond compared to the Signature lines online
- their Super Ideal Cut is really no horse run. Sometimes you can even save more $$ if you can get the SA to find you an Ideal Cut that was not categorised under SIC due to their stringent QC (I was unlucky not to be offered this option)
- I was willing to pay 5-10% over online price to have the legwork done for me
- 100% lifetime trade-in value compared to getting the Signature cuts from local retailers
- relatively cheaper compared to getting it online (maybe cheapest if you get your foreign colleague to bring it out of Singapore and claim GST relief ;))
- get to see, feel and touch the diamond and check it under the loupe before you buy
- have additional stuff like 2 free resizes, free polishing and the option to customize the setting if I wanted to (but I didn't and went with a standard setting).
- free diamond education lesson with JP if you're not inclined to learn online first

Anyway, here's the link to the diamonds referred in the Excel sheet
Brian Gavin Black 0.593 F VS1
Whiteflash ACA 0.6 F VS1
JannPaul SIC 0.6 E VS1

Finally someone posted a good comparison rather than some competitor that is sore of JP and started saying **** like JP is 20-25% more expensive lol.
Thanks for the sharing bro, really good info over here, I've always wanted to check out the new top line of Brian Gavin, apparently it's not worth it.

bb_100

Don't need bother with this loser already la, he already know no hope to promote his brand, he won't share out genuine details of his purchase one. Got talk no action, lack of balls. 😂

Once a while need to push him a bit one. Maybe he might buckle under pressure and reveal where he got his duper ideal awesome deal.

Hahaha!!!

rapcon

Anyone tried ANZ Optimum CC and ask the sales person to strip multiple of $600 per transaction?

KinoChoco

Anyone tried ANZ Optimum CC and ask the sales person to strip multiple of $600 per transaction?

You trying to clock the 3-5% rebate? Yes JP can do that for you however I asked ANZ before and they told me Jewellery purchase not entitled to 3-5%. Well unless I was misinformed by them...

KinoChoco

Once a while need to push him a bit one. Maybe he might buckle under pressure and reveal where he got his duper ideal awesome deal.

Hahaha!!!

He chu-ing more stunts now liao lei Brother, got colleague, got friend all sama sama get cheap cheap at this 'pm only' jeweller.

Actually hor TBH, it's literally impossible to get a super ideal standard diamond (near ideal then it's likely) at cheap price from those private jeweller as they are usually small scale company...more QC are done in the individual diamond to maximise potential profits...u think la...if you only got less than 200 bras in your inventory...would you allow a steady push up cum special water padded bra ends up being in the cheap bra category and sell off without knowing...hahaha...as for those big scale company, all money hunger, even harder to find a super ideal standard in their normal range...as those already ends up in their own signature line.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.