Proposal Ring - Part 3

bb_100

Does JP have the installment plan for amex or I need to call the bank for this?

No need to call the bank bro. Just let your salesperson know that you wanna pay by installment and that's it. No need tell installment amount also can haha. As long as you finish paying before you collect your ring then can.

I am also using Amex. Every month when I feel like paying, I will just make a trip down to JannPaul and pay haha. But I got tell them beforehand lar that I will personally come and pay, no need to do auto-debit and all that shiatz cuz I don't feel secure to let someone auto charge my card.

bb_100

If you choose instalment with CC, you cannot earn points and cashback I believe.

Ehh ya meh? I every month pay installment with Amex still got cashback. I am now happily using my 3% cashback for the first $5,000 hahaha.

mero_cwj

Well, true la, 6 prongs is definitely more secure than 4 prongs, but i think for certain designs, it will only look good with 4 prongs, really depends on the design on the ring setting.

Did your fiancee knocked the ring hard?

nope, no idea why the prongs loosened...

but you're right, some designs only look good with 4 prongs, and some cuts can only be set with 4 prongs anyway (like the octagon cut)

Ehh ya meh? I every month pay installment with Amex still got cashback. I am now happily using my 3% cashback for the first $5,000 hahaha.

I think there's no cashback if you use the actual installment plan (i.e. Amex pays the entire amount to JP at one shot, then splits up the charges for you over X number of months interest free). If you go down every month or two to swipe, then got cashback because it's not actually an installment plan.

bb_100

I think there's no cashback if you use the actual installment plan (i.e. Amex pays the entire amount to JP at one shot, then splits up the charges for you over X number of months interest free). If you go down every month or two to swipe, then got cashback because it's not actually an installment plan.

Ohh, your installment plan and my installment plan is different. When I come to think about it, I kind of agree with you leh. Mine actually cannot be considered an installment plan hahaha. But every month I pay by installments wor...hmmm.

They do offer this option but I think not many guys know about it. The only trouble is that the customer has to personally go down there to swipe lor. Not a problem for me as I can go after work. If you work and stay at the west side then hard a bit.

vintot

I already paid the deposit and there is 5k remaining, thinking to pay it via amex installment for 3 months

KinoChoco

Ohh, your installment plan and my installment plan is different. When I come to think about it, I kind of agree with you leh. Mine actually cannot be considered an installment plan hahaha. But every month I pay by installments wor...hmmm.

They do offer this option but I think not many guys know about it. The only trouble is that the customer has to personally go down there to swipe lor. Not a problem for me as I can go after work. If you work and stay at the west side then hard a bit.

Haha bro yours is not a credit card installment plan, when you say installment, many people will be mistakening it that installment plan with CC bank.

People who wants the best rebate need to personally head down to swipe card monthly.

ck_ian69

Thanks everyone for the advice. I went down to JP and was recommended the following based on my budget

0.61c
Color D
VS2
HCA 1.3

Price excluding setting is 5600
Would like to ask the experts here if this is a reasonable price?

My friend went to another jeweler at lower delta and basically got the same specs except color is F, but HCA returned as 1.0. He paid around 4500 plus plus

Any opinions?

mero_cwj

Thanks everyone for the advice. I went down to JP and was recommended the following based on my budget

0.61c
Color D
VS2
HCA 1.3

My friend went to another jeweler at lower delta and basically got the same specs except color is F, but HCA returned as 1.0. He paid around 4500 plus plus

Any opinions?

I think the issue on your mind is why another diamond with similar paper specs is priced so differently.

The answer is that they may not be exactly comparable. HCA is just a filtering tool to weed out the bad performing diamonds and is not indicative of performance. In other words, HCA 1.0 may still be worse than a HCA 1.3 or 1.5. Once you pass the HCA stage, you need to use either an ASET scope or Idealscope to evaluate.

I don't think the lower delta jeweller has either of those scopes for you to evaluate the diamonds with.

Lydia.Tan

0.61c
Color D
VS2
HCA 1.3

Any opinions?

Your answer is this video. HCA is just one of the many factors to check. Good score doesnt mean the diamond is good.

ck_ian69

This thread is really informative. The more I read the more knowledge I gain.

Noticed that for the 3 shops I went (JP and 2 from lower delta), I was only shown EEE diamonds vs1/vs2, the only difference is carat (aiming between .61 to .75) and color (aiming for D or E)

Based on this criteria, prices were varying

.61 d vs2 for 5600 (report 7238866272)
.61 f vs2 for 4000 (report 2126288859)
.71 d vs2 for 5000 (report 1172600093)
.75 d vs2 for 5700 (report 5216486122)

Needless to say, you will be able to guess which of the above is from JP. (1st one)

All the above HCA scores are deemed excellent (below 1.4). However, only JP shows me the diamond under a scope while the rest don't.
I'm not sure if the pricing reflects the inherent true quality and light performance of the diamond

While I agree to pay more for quality and performance, I don't want to be paying for branding at all, that's why I chose not to go for the mainstream jewelers. Does anyone know if it's possible to view scope images online? I just want to make sure I'm paying for the right quality

The second argument is all things being equal, is it immediately obvious to the naked eye the performance and reflective qualities of an average diamond vs a top performer?

mero_cwj

This thread is really informative. The more I read the more knowledge I gain.

Noticed that for the 3 shops I went (JP and 2 from lower delta), I was only shown EEE diamonds vs1/vs2, the only difference is carat (aiming between .61 to .75) and color (aiming for D or E)

Based on this criteria, prices were varying

.61 d vs2 for 5600 (report 7238866272)
.61 f vs2 for 4000 (report 2126288859)
.71 d vs2 for 5000 (report 1172600093)
.75 d vs2 for 5700 (report 5216486122)

Needless to say, you will be able to guess which of the above is from JP. (1st one)

All the above HCA scores are deemed excellent (below 1.4). However, only JP shows me the diamond under a scope while the rest don't.
I'm not sure if the pricing reflects the inherent true quality and light performance of the diamond

While I agree to pay more for quality and performance, I don't want to be paying for branding at all, that's why I chose not to go for the mainstream jewelers. Does anyone know if it's possible to view scope images online? I just want to make sure I'm paying for the right quality

The second argument is all things being equal, is it immediately obvious to the naked eye the performance and reflective qualities of an average diamond vs a top performer?

well what I did was to compare apples to apples, so I took my shortlisted JP diamond and compared that against similar diamonds (size/clarity/colour/cut) on online websites and then have a look at the price difference between comparable diamonds. However, take note that scope images are generally not part of the certification process (aside from AGS which does a ASET light map), so you won't be able to go online and key in the cert numbers to find an available scope image. For the most part, you will need examine the diamond yourself physically with a scope.

as for your second point, it depends. any diamond will look good to an untrained eye (i.e. comment will just be that it is "sparkly"), but once that eye has looked at a top performing diamond, or have that top performing diamond beside the average diamond, the difference is quite obvious.

hisdearqueen

Anyone knows where to engrave wedding bands ah? Preferably with some decent fonts (am looking at Chinese characters too) to choose ... Thanks :3

mero_cwj

Doing some overdue spring cleaning and found this ring sizer which I have no use for now...

Anyone wants it? FOC but have to collect from my place in TPY or office in Raffles Place. Useful for people who want to figure out their GF's ring size before buying the engagement ring :s13:

PM me if you want.

oh-ring-sizer-finger-sizing-measure-gauge-set-jeweler-jewelry-size-tools-3-13-9565-3486433-481b2027f4065ac80fe9744e267f5f6c-zoom.jpg

KinoChoco

Doing some overdue spring cleaning and found this ring sizer which I have no use for now...

Anyone wants it? FOC but have to collect from my place in TPY or office in Raffles Place. Useful for people who want to figure out their GF's ring size before buying the engagement ring :s13:

PM me if you want.

oh-ring-sizer-finger-sizing-measure-gauge-set-jeweler-jewelry-size-tools-3-13-9565-3486433-481b2027f4065ac80fe9744e267f5f6c-zoom.jpg

Wah bro, that's nice, however i remember JP mentioned before that different jeweler uses different set of measuring tools and the sizes may vary, it's best to measure at the respective shop for accurate sizing.

mero_cwj

Wah bro, that's nice, however i remember JP mentioned before that different jeweler uses different set of measuring tools and the sizes may vary, it's best to measure at the respective shop for accurate sizing.

yup JP uses HK sizing (cos their craftsmen are in HK) which is different from the standard international sizing. What I did was to use this tool to measure my GF's ring size, and then bring down the sample plastic ring to JP for them to measure using their mandrel tool. Useful for those people who are planning a surprise and don't want to bring their GF down to the shop.

actually I think I have a cheap plastic mandrel lying around somewhere also, FOC if anyone wants

KinoChoco

yup JP uses HK sizing (cos their craftsmen are in HK) which is different from the standard international sizing. What I did was to use this tool to measure my GF's ring size, and then bring down the sample plastic ring to JP for them to measure using their mandrel tool. Useful for those people who are planning a surprise and don't want to bring their GF down to the shop.

actually I think I have a cheap plastic mandrel lying around somewhere also, FOC if anyone wants

Haha, actually if u use this to measure gf's ring finger, isnt is kind of the same as bringing her to jewellery shop. It's pretty obvious isnt it! Unless u measure while shes sleeping.....hahaha

mero_cwj

Haha, actually if u use this to measure gf's ring finger, isnt is kind of the same as bringing her to jewellery shop. It's pretty obvious isnt it! Unless u measure while shes sleeping.....hahaha

yah that's one way :s13:

For me it was obvious either way cos we bought house already mah. So in a way it was a matter of time. I just told her I'm going to measure first to keep for reference when I need the size. Although a proposal is the logical conclusion, at least I can keep the ring and the timing of the proposal a surprise =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.