Proposal Ring - Part 3

JJughead

How come all the prices seen here are relatively reasonable ah? The 0.5c Destinee ring I saw at Lee Hwa costs more than $10k!

bb_100

Thank you. So it's not worth it?

Their Destinee series for me consist of 3Ex ideal cut H&A diamonds. So basically you are paying extra for the Destinee brand name. Just like what the dude in the video found out lahh.

lexus101

Hi All,

Which do you think is a better deal:

1. Super ideal cut, 0.36, F, VS1 with side diamond ring setting @ 3100

2. Super ideal cut, 0.42, F, VS2 with basic white gold ring setting @3150

Thanks!

hisdearqueen

Hi All,

Which do you think is a better deal:

1. Super ideal cut, 0.36, F, VS1 with side diamond ring setting @ 3100

2. Super ideal cut, 0.42, F, VS2 with basic white gold ring setting @3150

Thanks!

A bit comparing apples and oranges because one is with side diamonds and one is without. Depends on whether your fiancee likes which setting. For me, I told now-Husband that I wanted with side diamonds. If she likes side diamonds then guess you have to get that :p

If she wants a bigger rock and is not particular about setting then $50 more for a bump to 0.42 is worth it. :)

NotACrone

Hi guys,

I currently have a ring with the following specs:
E VS2 0.54c hca 0.8 SI diamond from jann paul. Cost me 4.3k.

I would like a bigger diamond and specs to be the same. Can i get some advice hw much i would have to pay to get a 0.8/0.7 carat rock? Finger size is 46 so i believe that size should be able to get a better "finger coverage"

KinoChoco

Hi guys,

I currently have a ring with the following specs:
E VS2 0.54c hca 0.8 SI diamond from jann paul. Cost me 4.3k.

I would like a bigger diamond and specs to be the same. Can i get some advice hw much i would have to pay to get a 0.8/0.7 carat rock? Finger size is 46 so i believe that size should be able to get a better "finger coverage"

What Ring size is that in US? I'm not sure if I googled it wrong, it seems like it's smaller than US size 4? That's real small of your finger if this is right. 0.8 should be doing well for your finger size.

You mentioned your current Ring is from JP but SI clarity? I don't remember them selling any SI, it could be from HOH instead of JP. JP's stocks minimum are VS2.

hisdearqueen

Meh-son :/

So ... looked down at my wedding band today and realised got one lobang.

GPGT (*sad face): http://imgur.com/a/AuG2g

Band was purchased in March, but hubby and I only exchanged vows and rings in June leh. So this is the second month of me wearing it daily -- and I don't even do very "rough" things. Sian. I know I paid a budget price at Meyson but didn't think it would be this soon before something happened to it :(

Will drop by their shop to see if they will fix it (and hope they don't charge me) but before that I come and whine and post on HWZ first :p

UPDATE cos' I finally had the time to go down to Meyson today to get the ring looked at.

After verifying my details and the ring, the salesman said I had to pay $33 to get it fixed.

My first reaction, which I did verbalise abit too loudly, was, "Err ... Why should I?"

He was abit taken aback at first, so I explained nicely that based on the engraved date (02.06.17) I have only been wearing the ring for two months ... So it's not very acceptable standards of a wedding ring that's supposed to last for quite a good part of my lifetime.

Then he said maybe I was rough with it *looks down at my own nicely manicured fingers* but I told him if he could please kindly check the prongs/setting and see if this will be a recurring problem. I don't really wanna pay and end up with another loose diamond dropping off two months later.

He then said he will have to send it in for them to check if there's anything wrong with the ring itself. And if there is a workmanship issue, then they'll replace it. If not I will have to er, pay up. He'll call to let me know in 2 weeks.

That's fine with me, until ... before I left the shop, in a pretty accusatory tone, he said, "that's why, when you first purchased the ring, we got tell you to bring it back once every 6 months for us to check".

My blood semi-boiled upon hearing that!!! So I told him, "yup, but since I purchased in March, that's only FIVE months from date of purchase". And said thank you and walked out ...

tldr: Meyson wanted to charge me $33, I refused to pay because I'm a little kiam siap, ok.

1000smiles

What Ring size is that in US? I'm not sure if I googled it wrong, it seems like it's smaller than US size 4? That's real small of your finger if this is right. 0.8 should be doing well for your finger size.

You mentioned your current Ring is from JP but SI clarity? I don't remember them selling any SI, it could be from HOH instead of JP. JP's stocks minimum are VS2.

I think he meant 0.54 carat E VS2, HCA 0.8, Super Ideal (SI) diamond

NotACrone

Hi! Thanks for your reply and sorry for the confusion.

It is a diamond from JP. By SI, i meant superideal.

Anyways, please take a look at the gia cert and all the scope images. I would like all the stats to be the same ideally but would like to upgrade to 0.8. My finger circumference is 4.6cm. The receipt is with my hubby-to-be so i have no idea what exactly it is. but he told me 46 i think. and miss joy barcelona said my fingers are considered slim although idk if shes trying to comfort me cos im buying a 0.5c

but anyway. i even measured my finger already. hahaha

question is: is it a big difference if i get a G coloured SI diamond? And maybe hca score just get 1.2-1.4 instead of 0.8. And get VS2 clarity.

UJnc8FB.jpg

VVrWiBH.jpg

JZgIULd.jpg

hBvKpCh.jpg

JDDQ49w.jpg

DuWuP8y.jpg

KinoChoco

Hi! Thanks for your reply and sorry for the confusion.

It is a diamond from JP. By SI, i meant superideal.

Anyways, please take a look at the gia cert and all the scope images. I would like all the stats to be the same ideally but would like to upgrade to 0.8. My finger circumference is 4.6cm. The receipt is with my hubby-to-be so i have no idea what exactly it is. but he told me 46 i think. and miss joy barcelona said my fingers are considered slim although idk if shes trying to comfort me cos im buying a 0.5c

but anyway. i even measured my finger already. hahaha

question is: is it a big difference if i get a G coloured SI diamond? And maybe hca score just get 1.2-1.4 instead of 0.8. And get VS2 clarity.

UJnc8FB.jpg

VVrWiBH.jpg

JZgIULd.jpg

hBvKpCh.jpg

JDDQ49w.jpg

DuWuP8y.jpg

Yes that's US size 4-4.5. That's very slim. 0.8 should look decent enough with a slim or tapered band (but everyone's expectation is diff, probably best u try it in person)

If you're getting Super Ideal, regardless of hca 0.8 or 1.2, the price will still be the same...as for color, as usual you might want to try it out in person in various lighting. Not everyone is ok with G, also considering you've been wearing E for awhile, there could be some sub conscious of you keep imagining it appearing yellowish haha. Might be better for you to go for F since it's still in 'colourless' range.

You can consider looking at 0.9 too if u find 0.5 too small.

NotACrone

Yes that's US size 4-4.5. That's very slim. 0.8 should look decent enough with a slim or tapered band (but everyone's expectation is diff, probably best u try it in person)

If you're getting Super Ideal, regardless of hca 0.8 or 1.2, the price will still be the same...as for color, as usual you might want to try it out in person in various lighting. Not everyone is ok with G, also considering you've been wearing E for awhile, there could be some sub conscious of you keep imagining it appearing yellowish haha. Might be better for you to go for F since it's still in 'colourless' range.

You can consider looking at 0.9 too if u find 0.5 too small.

Thanks :) another question, ive alr paid 6.3k cos my setting is 1.8k...i dont think i can change th setting already right? Like add on a halo to it.

0.8 should be about 8-9k i suppose?

KinoChoco

Thanks :) another question, ive alr paid 6.3k cos my setting is 1.8k...i dont think i can change th setting already right? Like add on a halo to it.

0.8 should be about 8-9k i suppose?

If they haven't craft yet, I'm sure you can still change (but of cuz price will subject to changes as per setting cost).

Nor exactly sure about 0.8 F VS2, but i remember 0.9 G VS2 is around 10500-11000 so i suspect 0.8x F VS2 could be 9-10k. The price jumps for higher carats will be more drastic as compared to diamonds below 0.7.

But well, diamond prices changes every few months so now it could be lower as i seen a fellow poster here got quoted for Solasfera which seems to be cheaper than 1-2 years ago.

*Prices mentioned are only diamond excluding settings

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.