Proposal Ring - Part 3

testerjp

Suggest go for the super ideal cut.
It's better to get a small diamond that blink than a dull and big diamond imho.

KinoChoco

Budget would be $6k max. I need to know what are the things i need to look out for. I seriously have no idea where to start.

Engagement ring buy abit more expensive. Wedding bands buy cheaper. Got people do like that? :s11:

wedding bands are typically cheaper than engagement ring.

6K you should be able to get a decent 0.6 CT super ideal or slight bigger if going for ideal. Try to go for minimally F/G color VS2.

You can request to compare ideal vs super ideal on how it looks in real life situation, i know quite a number of people who are satisfied with ideal in order to push the carat higher, you can be sure that ideal diamonds will not be dull too anyway.

x3dnd3x

Thanks for the advice.

Let's say i only wanna propose 1 year later, can i buy now to keep first or when reaching the next year then buy? Will diamond price go up? :s11:

And also, let's say the size of the ring cannot fit the finger, can change? I secretly tried my girlfriend's ring last night. It fits on my pinky. I'm gonna use the pinky as a reference.

wedding bands are typically cheaper than engagement ring.

6K you should be able to get a decent 0.6 CT super ideal or slight bigger if going for ideal. Try to go for minimally F/G color VS2.

You can request to compare ideal vs super ideal on how it looks in real life situation, i know quite a number of people who are satisfied with ideal in order to push the carat higher, you can be sure that ideal diamonds will not be dull too anyway.

KinoChoco

Thanks for the advice.

Let's say i only wanna propose 1 year later, can i buy now to keep first or when reaching the next year then buy? Will diamond price go up? :s11:

And also, let's say the size of the ring cannot fit the finger, can change? I secretly tried my girlfriend's ring last night. It fits on my pinky. I'm gonna use the pinky as a reference.

It's always good to buy earlier and decide if you want to customize the setting (could take months depends on how picky you are with your design)

As for price fluctuation, nobody will know for sure bah.

I believe JP provides 1 or 2 times free re-sizing, you can check with them.

x3dnd3x

So the most important question now is, buy myself or bring girlfriend down to let her choose the design? :s13:

It's always good to buy earlier and decide if you want to customize the setting (could take months depends on how picky you are with your design)

As for price fluctuation, nobody will know for sure bah.

I believe JP provides 1 or 2 times free re-sizing, you can check with them.

KinoChoco

So the most important question now is, buy myself or bring girlfriend down to let her choose the design? :s13:

Depends on individual i guess, considering the surprise factor also.

For me, we decided on the custom setting together as i want to make sure it's a design that she will love for life, however, i lied to her about the diamond size will only be 0.3-0.4 max for my budget, and the actual ring i gotten for her was above 1 CT hence it's still a big surprise. haha.

cloudfire

Can take a pic of your gf's hands and let the JP guys work on the size. Check out JP youtube video. They got teach how to do it.

Thanks for the advice.

x3dnd3x

My girlfriend recently tell me.

"We already pak tor for 5 years hor..." *then she keeps flashing her left hand across my face. I stone and not romantic kind, only know how to play games and build computer. I guess its time I do research on diamond rings. :s13:

Depends on individual i guess, considering the surprise factor also.

For me, we decided on the custom setting together as i want to make sure it's a design that she will love for life, however, i lied to her about the diamond size will only be 0.3-0.4 max for my budget, and the actual ring i gotten for her was above 1 CT hence it's still a big surprise. haha.

x3dnd3x

Don't mind me asking, got more layment terms to excellent, ideal and super ideal cut? Like which one is better? I still don't understand sia. :s11:

BlackCube

Anyone get random ring to propose first. Then go with GF to get proper proposal ring. Haha.

theblueark

Anyone get random ring to propose first. Then go with GF to get proper proposal ring. Haha.

I bought a loose stone and this:
naked-gemstone-plate-ring-stone-holder-diamond-ring-holder-tools-for-jewelry.jpg

spLeenfuL

Don't mind me asking, got more layment terms to excellent, ideal and super ideal cut? Like which one is better? I still don't understand sia. :s11:

Super Ideal cut is the best, following by Ideal and then Excellent.
It is how the diamond is cut to maximize the light return which will make it more firey. There can be many factors that can affect it like the proportions, light return, etc. From what I understand, use the HCA to check the proportions, and then the ASET and Hearts scope to check the light return and symmetry.

lestertai

Hi all, i’m new to the forum and want to seek some opinion. I was quoted $4.6k for a heart shape 0.8ct, G, VVS1 diamond from Jann Paul. Do you all think it is worth it?

Posting this again as I'm going down this weekend, and really hope experts here can advise, thanks!

BlackCube

Anyone get gold ring instead of diamond ring one? If want gold ring should go where to look for it better? And need to take note of what?

x3dnd3x

Anyone get gold ring instead of diamond ring one? If want gold ring should go where to look for it better? And need to take note of what?

I checked with my colleague. His wedding bands were actually abacus gold rings fused with don't know what. His is silver ring now with a little blink blink. He said like this is cheaper than your typical wedding bands though.

The vintage ah beng kind. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.