Proposal Ring - Part 3

gem233

ACA is not the same as JP SIC. Why? Just look at ACA’s clarity standard. They offer all the way up to SI1 when JP SIC is only up to VS2. I saw a lot of inclusions on the report for the ACA diamonds, so I’m not sure if ACA can be completely trusted on how they check the structural integrity of the diamonds.

And both their pricing for diamonds is about the same after tax and everything. But for settings, WF is a lot MORE expensive.

Whiteflash ACA is definitely better than HOH ideal. As mentioned by others, acupofdea can compare the scope images and decide. I think ACA are the same as JP SIC.

gem233

The moissy is nice, but no offence, one look and people can easily tell that it is not a diamond. Maybe you can go down to JP to see their SIC range if you want to know how a real diamond compares visually.

Nowadays not necessary to follow 'tradition', it depends on your partner lifestyle and what she prefers. I discussed with my partner about her preferences for proposal ring and she does not mind non-natural diamond alternatives as long as they still last a long time and the gem quality is good. She feels that if the ring is too expensive she won't wear out too often bc scared to lose or damage it.

My friend recommended Orro, Gordon Max and Noderite for diamond alternatives. Orro and Gordon Max sells cubic zirconia which are not durable and get cloudy, and their lab diamonds are quite pricey still. Went with Noderite as they sell moissanite which does not cloud or change colour over its lifetime or chip easily (9.25 on MOHS scale compared to 10 for diamonds) with lifetime warranty on the moissanite. It's is a popular diamond alternative created by Charles & Colvard in the US, you can google for more info.

In short it's more prudent for us to save it for HDB downpayment and we choose the 1.25 carat (quite cheap to upgrade so we did) in 14k white gold for $2.2k . It's very white (DE colour) and round brilliant cut. Saved us money as my SO is a perfectionist and a diamond of this type of super ideal colour, clarity, cut and size would be like 12k plus more??? As long as this alternative is durable and can stand the test of time. You can see the video of her ring:

We can't be happier with the result, her friends were even in awe of how white it is :s13:

summersky1986

The moissy is nice, but no offence, one look and people can easily tell that it is not a diamond. Maybe you can go down to JP to see their SIC range if you want to know how a real diamond compares visually.

People want to buy moissy to save money for future, not like u can hoot 1.25 carat la :D u mind ur own business

throwawaygrad

People want to buy moissy to save money for future, not like u can hoot 1.25 carat la :D u mind ur own business

U use the same trolling method for everyone right... but this time don't work cos I went back to confirm hers is 1.3ct SIC. But we shouldn't even engage with you lor, you are very rude for no reason.

About the moissanite comment, I don't want make people feel bad about something they already purchased. But as someone who got some comments/judgments about my grey diamond, I kind of know how that feels and some people can be rather mean about it. I feel that the same thing could happen to that girl and she might not be comfortable wearing the ring out much in the end. As in wear for other people's weddings, CNY,... all these occasions where someone sitting beside you is wearing the real deal. It takes someone with a really high self esteem to just brush off the comments and questions. But, maybe the one I saw was just not that good. If you put it on your hand and it's convincing, it will be a good buy.

summersky1986

U use the same trolling method for everyone right... but this time don't work cos I went back to confirm hers is 1.3ct SIC. But we shouldn't even engage with you lor, you are very rude for no reason.

About the moissanite comment, I don't want make people feel bad about something they already purchased. But as someone who got some comments/judgments about my grey diamond, I kind of know how that feels and some people can be rather mean about it. I feel that the same thing could happen to that girl and she might not be comfortable wearing the ring out much in the end. As in wear for other people's weddings, CNY,... all these occasions where someone sitting beside you is wearing the real deal. It takes someone with a really high self esteem to just brush off the comments and questions. But, maybe the one I saw was just not that good. If you put it on your hand and it's convincing, it will be a good buy.

Aww, see the sisters band together :D

I'll humor you.

I neither knew the sequence of events which led to your gray diamond nor that you have a gray diamond for your proposal. Bottom line for me is if you've decided, enjoy it, buy it and wear it - I wouldn't care about others' opinion or others' real deal. In that regard, I think you should be more concerned about your own feelings than hers because it seems like you're the one being affected lol.

Before you roll your eyes and think what a rude guy I am again, you might as well think of me as the worldly critical voice gnawing away at your esteem. If you are confident and can laugh at yourself, nothing trivial like this would even bother you.

:D:D:D

throwawaygrad

Aww, see the sisters band together :D

I'll humor you.

I neither knew the sequence of events which led to your gray diamond nor that you have a gray diamond for your proposal. Bottom line for me is if you've decided, enjoy it, buy it and wear it - I wouldn't care about others' opinion or others' real deal. In that regard, I think you should be more concerned about your own feelings than hers because it seems like you're the one being affected lol.

Before you roll your eyes and think what a rude guy I am again, you might as well think of me as the worldly critical voice gnawing away at your esteem. If you are confident and can laugh at yourself, nothing trivial like this would even bother you.

:D:D:D

I typed out a long response until I realized this is really a waste of my time. You do you bro.

CheeRs87

Chillax guys.. this is a proposal ring thread. Not a diamond ring thread. Its an open discussion of anything that can be a proposal ring :)

gem233

Lol I’m actually very confused. Anyway, I just wanna explain that my previous comment did not say anything bad about both rocks okay. I merely asked him to go JP and see because he wants a good diamond alternative, so I hope he was informed about how both rocks look like (since he didn’t mention he saw a diamond before in person).

And if he *happen* to like what he see at JP, he can always buy one in the future if he wants to.

Anyway, as long as people make informed purchases, no matter what you buy (or don’t buy) or how much you spend, it’s really up to you.

Each rock has its own beauty. Peace. ✌🏻

purebee

No worries, no offence is taken. My SO doesn't try to pass her moissy off as a diamond. When her friends and colleagues compliments her about her 'diamond' ring, she will correct them that it's a moissanite not diamond. Even her friend is planning on getting a moissy after seeing hers as its super white and has more sparkle. They will use the money saved to go on a honeymoon to Europe, which is more meaningful for them.

We did research and explored various options including diamonds and have seen how diamonds from several different retailers compares visually. For less than 2.5k the diamonds you get are not of great quality. We choose to buy a beautiful and pristine looking gem instead of settling for smaller diamonds or ones with a grey/yellowish/fluorescence tinge or not so great clarity. It depends on your priorities and how much money you're willing to spend.

Also note that not all moissanite are of the same standard, the one we got was of a high quality. I would encourage people who are considering it to see the difference for yourself and go with what you prefer / can afford. Go look at diamonds in your budget range - we went to jewellery street in Ion Orchard, JP, House of Hung, etc. Then make an appointment with Noderite to view the moissanite and make your judgement :s13:

Here's a very comprehensive comparison video too if it helps

throwawaygrad

No worries, no offence is taken. My SO doesn't try to pass her moissy off as a diamond. When her friends and colleagues compliments her about her 'diamond' ring, she will correct them that it's a moissanite not diamond. Even her friend is planning on getting a moissy after seeing hers as its super white and has more sparkle. They will use the money saved to go on a honeymoon to Europe, which is more meaningful for them.

We did research and explored various options including diamonds and have seen how diamonds from several different retailers compares visually. For less than 2.5k the diamonds you get are not of great quality. We choose to buy a beautiful and pristine looking gem instead of settling for smaller diamonds or ones with a grey/yellowish/fluorescence tinge or not so great clarity. It depends on your priorities and how much money you're willing to spend.

Also note that not all moissanite are of the same standard, the one we got was of a high quality. I would encourage people who are considering it to see the difference for yourself and go with what you prefer / can afford. Go look at diamonds in your budget range - we went to jewellery street in Ion Orchard, JP, House of Hung, etc. Then make an appointment with Noderite to view the moissanite and make your judgement :s13:

Here's a very comprehensive comparison video too if it helps

Can I know which moissanite does Noderite sell? I went to Moiss Jewelry to see their Charles & Colvard Forever One (it's very raved about online) but it was quite underwhelming for us. If Noderite's one is different, I would love to check it out.

Previously I saw another poster who uploaded a low-light GIF of his Amora gem and it was very nice too, however I think he had to order online as there's no local distributor for it.

I'm with you on the budget, I was always tempted to squeeze more into the ring budget but I didn't want to 'over-reach' and spend too much on a jewelry that I might lose or damage so I also kept to roughly your budget. But this was before I got greedy... Aiya but I don't know if I'll really get that second diamond or not also.

In defense of my diamond though (if anyone else is considering a grey one, I don't want you guys to think it's lousy :s34:), I still think I got a good buy. I occasionally check out the market but don't see any other grey diamonds similar to mine in colour evenness, clarity (eye-clean) and size. I went to ask a popular overseas jeweller for a quote on a similar diamond but a slightly bigger carat (0.23ct more), and the person quoted me 3x what I paid. I'm sure my diamond is not first-hand though, so that was another compromise. But overall I like my diamond and I usually just explain that it's a grey diamond and not that it's "GIA graded fancy grey" (I find that explanation a bit defensive and I don't like to do this, it's just a ring lah). I'm sure anyone will face this questioning scenario if their choice of stone is 'out of the norm' though be it grey colour, moissy, amora, lower than average clarity, or lower than average colour, idk what else.. maybe if you got an oval/princess cut instead of round, people will also have things to say. So unless you get the most standard round white 1ct diamond, people will have their opinions.

ChaosPaladin

there seems to be a few acronym being bantered around. just curious where can i go to have a view so that i can decide on which proposal ring to get. where is JP? i dun think it mean jurong point right?

let me know the other highly recommended places that you guys talking about. Budget around 5 to 6k

Gainduia

there seems to be a few acronym being bantered around. just curious where can i go to have a view so that i can decide on which proposal ring to get. where is JP? i dun think it mean jurong point right?

let me know the other highly recommended places that you guys talking about. Budget around 5 to 6k

JP is Jannpaul which is famed for their Super Ideal Cut (SIC).

ChaosPaladin

JP is Jannpaul which is famed for their Super Ideal Cut (SIC).

ah thanks for the reply. any other places to go look around too?

for my budget, what is the estimated ring that i should be looking out for, cut, carot etc? my gf finger looks pretty slim to me. still got to find a way to measure it without her knowing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.