Question about Malacca

hwaa

Booked my 3D2N trip in September to Malacca.
This time, will be staying in Venus Boutique hotel.

Travel Info_Food

Wonder if anyone had visited the restaurants listed in the link above.
-Kocik Kitchen Nyonya Restaurant
-Man Yuan Fang Vegetarian Restaurant
-Ole Sayang Restaurant (Baba Nyonya)

From what i read on the blogs, all these buay pai... any comments?

Mine is a foodie trip... can't wait for it to come...

i visited ole sayang during lunchtime earlier today, WOW! packed.

i drove there and managed to find a parking lot just outside the restaurant. if u're driving, just fyi the parking warden comes quite regularly. got one shop beside ole sayanag they sell parking coupons.

i suggest u go early if u wanna eat lunch, restaurant opens 11.30 - 2pm, then break and reopen 6-9.30pm for dinner. food is good, but u might need to wait to get a table cos some tours they bring in people for lunch/dinner as well.

heard from the locals that this is one of the better and authentic nonya restaurant in malacca.

hwaa

Not on meter fare?? RM$20 is quite high as location is quite near to hotel.

yah no choice cos all the cab drivers there i think they all pak gat one, all quote same price. it's either we take or walk..

im with elders, they are tired already at 11pm+ so we just go ahead with the cab. going there is different, the hotel tour desk got a metered cab for us to jonker and its only RM7+

going back, the designated cab area is at the san shu gong there, its either u take or dont take. if youngsters can walk lah no problem. :D

o0KelviN0o

anyone cruised to Malacca with Royal Caribbean? thoughts please...

javincho

Tks hwaa :)
As I am old man liao, I prefer cab back as probably tired & full of sweat by then.... :)

bugmenot45

anyone cruised to Malacca with Royal Caribbean? thoughts please...

the cruise is not bad.
they are going to refurbish the ship, so go after feb 2013.

Wonder if anyone had visited the restaurants listed in the link above.
-Kocik Kitchen Nyonya Restaurant
-Man Yuan Fang Vegetarian Restaurant
-Ole Sayang Restaurant (Baba Nyonya)

kocik is good! highly recommended.
http://princessmasako80.blogspot.sg/2011/11/public-holiday-walk-kocik-kitchen.html
http://allen-journal.blogspot.sg/2010/08/kocik-kitchen-malacca.html
http://mylovelybluesky.com/2010/03/kocik-kitchen-nyonya-restaurant/

dleodleo

Actually if you stay at Hatten/Equatorial area or Jonker area you can walk to shopping and makan de. No need drive. Take it as exercise.

I always park my car at the hotel i stayed (Equatorial, Hotel Puri, Fenix Inn) and i walk to Jonker street, Palawan shopping mall and makohta parade.

Always traffic jam at melaka.

buswhiz

I will go to Malacca in July. Got a few questions. Please help me.

1. I want to take coach from Johor to Malacca. My plan is early morning take taxi to Kranji MRT, take 970 to bus station in Johor then buy coach ticket to Malacca. I want to reach Malacca before 1 pm. What time do you think that I can start from Kranji? Are there many coaches to Malacca in the morning?

2. Can you please recommend me a budget place for 1 night in Malacca?

3. My plan is staying in Malacca for 1 night. Do you have some recommended places to go in afternoon, evening and the next morning? where to eat lunch, dinner?

Waiting for your advices.

1. The earliest bus from JB to Malacca is around 8am, follow by 830am, 9am.. the journey is around 3hours. You do have buses such as KKKL Express, Delima Express, Mayang Sari Express, however, I would recommend you to take KKKL Express or Delima express as they are more reputable
2. Many people recommended Hotel Puri, as it is just behind jonker street. Its a budget hotel, quite a reasonable price
3. Afternoon you can go and visit some of the famous shopping malls, evening can go to jonker street.

hwaa

luxury tour bus drops u direct at equatorial hotel

stonefish35

1. The earliest bus from JB to Malacca is around 8am, follow by 830am, 9am.. the journey is around 3hours. You do have buses such as KKKL Express, Delima Express, Mayang Sari Express, however, I would recommend you to take KKKL Express or Delima express as they are more reputable
2. Many people recommended Hotel Puri, as it is just behind jonker street. Its a budget hotel, quite a reasonable price
3. Afternoon you can go and visit some of the famous shopping malls, evening can go to jonker street.

Not exactly bro. I had taken the 7.30am bus from JB, and reached Jonker street by 10am , way before the crowd from those coach and cars. 2.5hrs journey without jam.

Habrosus

Not exactly bro. I had taken the 7.30am bus from JB, and reached Jonker street by 10am , way before the crowd from those coach and cars. 2.5hrs journey without jam.

Care to share which bus is this and from where do I catch one? :)

hwaa

if u guys go puri hotel, where to park? cos i see its a one way narrow street only. quite impossible to wait there while getting checked in..

dleodleo

if u guys go puri hotel, where to park? cos i see its a one way narrow street only. quite impossible to wait there while getting checked in..

Puri has their own private carparks - one with locked gate and the other with no gate. When you arrive Puri Hotel, you show your confirmation email to the doorman, he will lead you to the carpark. Try to ask for the locked gate one is safer. Only the doorman has the key.

We parked the car first then checked in cos it is within walking distance to the hotel.

stonefish35

Care to share which bus is this and from where do I catch one? :)

Forgot which company, definitely not KKKL or Delima. The bus is a 26 seater, comfortable seat. From Kotaraya II Terminal. I caught the 2nd 160 bus to be able to make it for the 7.30 bus.

Habrosus

Forgot which company, definitely not KKKL or Delima. The bus is a 26 seater, comfortable seat. From Larkin Terminal. I caught the 2nd 160 bus to be able to make it for the 7.30 bus.

Thanks so much for the information here! :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.