Raising Rental

Tiny Shrimp

I would like to think of myself as a good landlord. lately hands off, they can treat me as transparent or I vice versa. prompt action when there's issue.. sometimes, they do buy things for us when on home leave or go on tour.
I think need to weigh it then
If you are a better landlord to them, than they are a better tenant to you 🤔

Are you prepared to lose them, and get worse tenants? For the amount gained?

meekiatah

I've been holding off wanting to raise their rental since 1 year plus back. But my SO keep kpkb'ing about this issue, and how I'm stingy with her but generous with the tenants... :(

Taloona

I've been holding off wanting to raise their rental since 1 year plus back. But my SO keep kpkb'ing about this issue, and how I'm stingy with her but generous with the tenants... :(
Ask her to negotiate with the tenants then and source for new tenants if the current ones decide to leave. Let her do all the work.

I have a friend who complained about her holiday trip when everything was done by her kids and husband and hubby paid for the trip too. I told her to do the planning and pay for the next trip. She shut up!

Sforthought

Ask her to negotiate with the tenants then and source for new tenants if the current ones decide to leave. Let her do all the work.
Bad move. Cos the problem will still arrow back u. Source already later still got many problem one.

1. The empty period between old and new tenant, that need to be compensated

2. Any new tenant that gives additional problem , she need to address and solve it herself.

3. If "new" one give problem and change tenant, refer to 1.

dgeralds

People I've spoke to says my rental is below market rate ($1k with ac & wifi). In fact, I've been reluctant to raise their rental cos they have been good tenants.
Common room? Which estate? Near MRT? How many tenant per room?

Taloona

Bad move. Cos the problem will still arrow back u. Source already later still got many problem one.

1. The empty period between old and new tenant, that need to be compensated

2. Any new tenant that gives additional problem , she need to address and solve it herself.

3. If "new" one give problem and change tenant, refer to 1.
Don't understand. Let his wife do all the work since the threadstarter said it was his wife's idea to increase rent. The one who complained should do all the work so that she knows what it takes to get new tenants. Husband should just standby and do nothing.

qhong61

After a few years or after the MOP or after they have fully paid their HDB those landlords that rent the whole unit can stay with their parents or rent somewhere else to stay. So you mean illegal in what manner?
Can only rent out whole unit with permission from hdb.
If rooms only, owner need to stay in.

PCguy

Hi folks

I have a pair of tenants renting my master bedroom for the past 3 years. Good tenants, seldom cook and never late in payment.

With the high COL now, I'm intending to raise their rental by couple of hundreds.

How best to bring up to them, can anyone advise...
You hold the upper hands. Don't be afraid. Increase the rent by 50%. Just tell them you are going to kick them out if they don't pay extra 50% by x date.

qhong61

Ask your siblings or relatives to fake a phone call with you pretending to be housing agents and with potential tenants wanting to rent your room at a higher price. Your current tenants will get the idea and initiate negotiations with you.
Pls don't so ....

Justrade

Caution. Rental cooling down. Not easy to get good tenants. My neighbor has a unit - renting out full unit except master bedroom which is lock. Total about $3k+. Now want to increase to $4k+. Tenants shifted out. 2 weeks already, no takers. Good location, 400m walk to mrt and within walking distance to eateries.

Sforthought

Don't understand. Let his wife do all the work since the threadstarter said it was his wife's idea to increase rent. The one who complained should do all the work so that she knows what it takes to get new tenants. Husband should just standby and do nothing.

The better option is Jitao tell the wife to shut up when she bring up this issue. Wait she really go source, later problem will still spill over to husband de.

Then now u have 2 problems - tenant issue and wife issue.

Taloona

The better option is Jitao tell the wife to shut up when she bring up this issue. Wait she really go source, later problem will still spill over to husband de.

Then now u have 2 problems - tenant issue and wife issue.
Apparently asking the wife to shut up doesn't work. Any problem just let her handle. Unless the husband himself also thinks the rental should be increased. Anyway, I digress. Case closed.

qhong61

Hi folks

I have a pair of tenants renting my master bedroom for the past 3 years. Good tenants, seldom cook and never late in payment.

With the high COL now, I'm intending to raise their rental by couple of hundreds.

How best to bring up to them, can anyone advise...
Ur tenants from Philippines, Malaysia ?

meekiatah

Apparently asking the wife to shut up doesn't work. Any problem just let her handle. Unless the husband himself also thinks the rental should be increased. Anyway, I digress. Case closed.

Doesn't work, they can't communicate..

elmohootbigbird

Master for couple with ac and wifi, plus electricity/water inclusive at $1k.

At times, when we change furniture in the house, we will included theirs as well. Actually, I'm reluctant to raise their rental, but my SO is kpkb how my rental is below market rate lah, blah blah.. for the past year..

I'm only thinking about raising $200 only. $200 after 3 years, I think it's not too much that they will chuah tio..

tell her go tell them lo. jjww so much.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.