Raising Rental

toolbox03

Caution. Rental cooling down. Not easy to get good tenants. My neighbor has a unit - renting out full unit except master bedroom which is lock. Total about $3k+. Now want to increase to $4k+. Tenants shifted out. 2 weeks already, no takers. Good location, 400m walk to mrt and within walking distance to eateries.
Why chiu no bunknife? Cannot lock room and rent out whole unit

Joe Mahmood

300 jods for locals. 6 figure numbar of jods created for talents. Dey simi no jods?
I think SG is the only country that depends so much on foreign workers for room or house renting. In other countries the locals would rent a room to stay on their own to live their life independently instead of staying with their parents. Wouldn't it be good if majority of Singaporeans 18 and above can do that so landlords don't have to depend on foreign workers to rent their rooms or house.

qhong61

I think SG is the only country that depends so much on foreign workers for room or house renting. In other countries the locals would rent a room to stay on their own instead of staying with their parents to live their own life independently. Wouldn't it be good if majority of Singaporeans 18 and above can do that so landlords don't have to depend on foreign workers to rent their rooms or house.
Better not.
They will any time terminate and return home when can't afford.
Or just disappear.
Based on real cases.

qhong61

Better not.
Or just disappear.
Based on real cases.
I think SG is the only country that depends so much on foreign workers for room or house renting. In other countries the locals would rent a room to stay on their own to live their life independently instead of staying with their parents. Wouldn't it be good if majority of Singaporeans 18 and above can do that so landlords don't have to depend on foreign workers to rent their rooms or house.
Not working how to afford?
Parents pay?

Mecisteus

Can intro your good tenants to me ?

I promise my rate is lower than yours.

Can help your tenants to save money due to high COL.

tellim

Surprisingly my previous and current tenants are sg nric holder. My condo is located in Geylang. Maybe locals prefer nearer to CBD

Scp173

Just giv 1mth notice standard...

Tell them if they dun want continue next mth by (X date) need to clear out the room

Y even need to worry wad to tell, u r the boss, must mak them feel wad u felt when u toking with ur boss

Joe Mahmood

Better not.
Or just disappear.
Based on real cases.
Make a police report if run away or disappear. If they run back to parents make the parents pay it and if refuse make a police report.

paul02

Think I'll process to inform them raising that rental, but give a rental freeze outside for 2 years UNLESS change in circumstances..
Can you also consider losing them and being able to “afford” not having rental income for 6-12 months? That way you can assess the cost of making such moves.

meekiatah

Can you also consider losing them and being able to “afford” not having rental income for 6-12 months? That way you can assess the cost of making such moves.

Yes, before this pair moved in, we went through a period of about 8-12 months without rental, even the common room. Currently I have 6 months of expenses parked for moments like when I totally don't have income. But, as it stands now, I'm not touching this fund yet as I'm doing delivery everyday and that will cover my expenses with about $1k spare for saving.

Joe Mahmood

Can only rent out whole unit with permission from hdb.
If rooms only, owner need to stay in.
How many of landlords would actually report to HDB? Landlords must be taxed for this income too. What I know usually when Malaysians rent a room they would always say that they are staying with their aunty, uncle, siblings or relatives..

Regulations for Renting Out Flats​

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/business/est...-or-bedroom/regulations-for-renting-out-flats

Privated Property and HDB owners..

Income from property rented out​

Any rent payments you receive when you rent out your property are subject to income tax and must be declared in your Income Tax Return.
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/indiv...e-what-is-not/income-from-property-rented-out

Joe Mahmood

Oh maybe that's the arrangement for FTs. Hard for sinkie to get similar.
In the late 70s my eldest brother moved out from my parents home and he co-rented the whole hdb unit with his friends. Same too for my eldest sister but she co-rented the whole condo unit with her friends. Then when my late second brother got married he also shifted out from my parents flat and rented a room somewhere with his Thai wife until they got their own HDB flat.

I'm renting a room in a Condo unit with my wife in Singapore since October 2019. The reason I'm renting a room in Singapore is for my wife. She is a Filipino. When former Dr Mahathir became Malaysia PM for the second time in 2018 the MACS JB Immigration was stopped. With MACS my wife could commute in and out JB/SG on daily basis to go to work in Singapore. So when MACS was terminated her passport and including my passport need to be stamped by JB Immigration manual counter. Philippines passport pages is not so thick like SG Passport. So it get used up very fast too. At the same time the JB Immigration officers started to ask her questions regarding her in/out of JB on daily basis. As for myself I had no problems. So we decided to get a room for her in Singapore. And she would only return to JB on her off days or while she was clearing her annual leaves. As for myself I would still return to my house in JB on daily basis but when I feel tired after my work I would just sleep over at our rented room in Singapore.

In May 2019 the first room we rented was an aircondition common room of a 3 rooms HDB flat with a live-in landlord at Yio Chu Kang Road which is under Ang Moh Kio housing estate. Monthly rent inclusive of utilities I paid S$750 but no cooking. Laundry washing 2 or 3 times a week. My wife felt uncomfortable because she felt the landlord always watching her. She would tell my wife this cannot and that cannot. So we decided to shift out and I told my wife to get a room in a condo with no live-in landlord and the tenants all filipinos. We managed to get one and monthly common room rental was only S$748 back then excluded the utilities bills. The condo unit is fully air-condition. Its a 3 bedder condo unit. Monthly utilities bills would be share together with other tenants too. We can cook and do laundry daily. More freedom.

Then Covid 19 Pandemic came so the condo unit monthly rental went up too. In October 2020 our monthly rented went up to $950, then in 2021 went up to $1050, then 2023 to $1100 and last year 2024 increase to $1150. The monthly maintenance fee the owner absorb the cost and we managed to persuade the owner changed the old aircons to new ones.

meekiatah

How many of landlords would actually report to HDB? Landlords must be taxed for this income too. What I know usually when Malaysians rent a room they would always say that they are staying with their aunty, uncle, siblings or relatives..
Regulations for Renting Out Flats
https://www.hdb.gov.sg/business/est...-or-bedroom/regulations-for-renting-out-flats
Privated Property and HDB owners..
Income from property rented out
Any rent payments you receive when you rent out your property are subject to income tax and must be declared in your Income Tax Return.
https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/indiv...e-what-is-not/income-from-property-rented-out

Yes, this I got report. in fact, there is a 15% deduction from the rental received your maintenance..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.