Re-contract Singnet 10 Mbps?

RoLanTo

i was offered the 100Mbps fibre.. but sian.. the One time fees 90 + 5x dollars registration fees cannot waived.. :(

blue00

Wat's ur package deal? I've stated Singnet offering.

i m using starhub, it sucks !!!

everyday limited access 100mbps like 0.1 mbps... sometimes cannot load or take more than 5 mins to load...

$20 per month also no use... :(

Felixthecat

i m using starhub, it sucks !!!
(
OMG! look like I better hold back and not make the switch to SH yet. I heard problem with cable too. I checked ST website, they only have 6Mbps, 10Mbps and 15Mbps and more X than SH. ST kept smsing me with offer to switch to fibre, but I'm not interested in fibre and their Mio TV.

thegamer1907

sibei sianz. i am on singnet 10mbps now, contract ended and i was thinking of changing to singnet fibre, but the cso told me need to pay 90$ fee for installation which i could do myself, plus $50 to change BBOM and alot of crap. dunno if i should recontract normal broadband again anot

Henry Ng

sibei sianz. i am on singnet 10mbps now, contract ended and i was thinking of changing to singnet fibre, but the cso told me need to pay 90$ fee for installation which i could do myself, plus $50 to change BBOM and alot of crap. dunno if i should recontract normal broadband again anot

Recontract during Major IT show then can waive such charges and that is why I always sign during Major show. PC show 2014 is coming.

Felixthecat

I enquired at SH and infor counter told me I can sign up for BB, bring modem home and install myself. OMG, tech idiot dunno how to install or do setup in computer and everything. If I stick with ST, upgrade from 3Mbps to 10/15Mbps, ST do everything for me, easy transition, no need to install cable point, install modem, do the setup and then I may bung everything and not be able to use internet.

ekamatra

I enquired at SH and infor counter told me I can sign up for BB, bring modem home and install myself. OMG, tech idiot dunno how to install or do setup in computer and everything. If I stick with ST, upgrade from 3Mbps to 10/15Mbps, ST do everything for me, easy transition, no need to install cable point, install modem, do the setup and then I may bung everything and not be able to use internet.

Bro, actually set up is almost like plug and play lah.... like lego. Don't really need to be tech savvy. Tell us what you got and i'm sure a lot of kind soul here will guide u thru.....

Felixthecat

Bro, actually set up is almost like plug and play lah.... like lego. Don't really need to be tech savvy. Tell us what you got and i'm sure a lot of kind soul here will guide u thru.....

Jus plug and play? no need configuration of sort in the computer? Last time when ST man came with the Mio Box, he did so many things/setup, I see till blur blur. SH 25Mbps plan come also with free TV Lite, an interactive box or some kind of hub station or something like that, then these are also plug and play, no configuration or anything? Bcos I use very old Mac, dunno if the SH modem can work on the G5, any restriction on what OS works? Aiyoh...I really tech idiot lah, every time need to change things, I chua chua, that is why I always stay status quo, lol..

If it is just plug and play, it is as simple as just pulling off plug from Mio Box and plug into SH's modem? and then ready to go? Pls advise, thanks thanks

zened88

Quick update:

I'm on the 6mbps Mio Home Line $46.90, expired pretty long ago (2 years?)

Recently received a mailer that said i need to pay for the stupid setup box at 4.90 per month unless I recontract.

Spoke to the rentention dept instead:

I was offered the 10mbps Mio Home plan at $49.90, with 4 months free subscription and no need to pay for the set up box.

I think I will be getting this offer as I have 4 mobile lines with Singtel + I enjoy the annual handset upgrade.

Let me know if you all have better options?

Cheers!

mingfreakrsx

Quick update:

I'm on the 6mbps Mio Home Line $46.90, expired pretty long ago (2 years?)

Recently received a mailer that said i need to pay for the stupid setup box at 4.90 per month unless I recontract.

Spoke to the rentention dept instead:

I was offered the 10mbps Mio Home plan at $49.90, with 4 months free subscription and no need to pay for the set up box.

I think I will be getting this offer as I have 4 mobile lines with Singtel + I enjoy the annual handset upgrade.

Let me know if you all have better options?

Cheers!

That's a pretty good offer! Last year recontracted from 6M Home to 10M Home, was offered a two months free subscription but wasn't offered the free rental of set top box offer but got a free 21Mbps 1GB BBOM SIM Card.
After contract may be switching to SH as it provides more offer for mobile lines(SH: 2lines=20%, ST: 2lines=15%) and keyline still enjoys annual mobile recontract and their TV has much more programmes. :)

ekamatra

Jus plug and play? no need configuration of sort in the computer? Last time when ST man came with the Mio Box, he did so many things/setup, I see till blur blur. SH 25Mbps plan come also with free TV Lite, an interactive box or some kind of hub station or something like that, then these are also plug and play, no configuration or anything?

ST modem connect with Mio, need some configuration yes. But SH.... maybe u can look at this link.

StarHub How-to's: Voice-enabled Cable Modem Installation Guide - YouTube

Bcos I use very old Mac, dunno if the SH modem can work on the G5, any restriction on what OS works?

These are compatibility issues which I can't comment much. You need to ask SH or other experts here. But so long as you have been connecting using ST, it shouldn't be a problem for SH as well.

Felixthecat

Thanks ekamatra for your help and the link. When I do the sum, I think it will be more economical to switch to SH even after factoring paying for installation of cable point. ST didn't offer anthingelse except fibre and considering I get free TV Lite with BB signup. Though they may start to charge me after the contract expires, but that will be 2years later and I can decide to stop or continue with that or maybe even upgrade TV channels.

Oh..and I just realised, the promo comes with free activation and installation and how come I still need to install myself? Anybody?

tech_girl

I called SH and enquired before. I was told that ST number needs to be free from internet or any contract. So you will need to sign on SH first. They will give you a temporary number. Once all is up and running, you can put in the request to port number. The porting is FOC. You may want to reconfirm with SH.

I havent experienced the actual process though...wanted to sign with SH but decided to wait and see as there are tons of complaints on their FB page.

ET_phonehome

I called SH and enquired before. I was told that ST number needs to be free from internet or any contract. So you will need to sign on SH first. They will give you a temporary number. Once all is up and running, you can put in the request to port number. The porting is FOC. You may want to reconfirm with SH.

I havent experienced the actual process though...wanted to sign with SH but decided to wait and see as there are tons of complaints on their FB page.

think sh cable is ok but issues are with the fiber plans

tech_girl

It seems cable is also affected but may not be extensive. Given the content of the complaints, CS seems really questionable as well.

Waiting to see how this pans out and see whats the cause.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.