Re-contract Singnet 10 Mbps?

FLiNcHY

wah lau wireless g is like how freaking slow.... i'm coming from a maxonline ultimate..moving to a new place and decided to go for singtel cuz i want to suscribe to mio sports as well.

whats the speedtest result like for 15mbps. My stupid unit isn't fibre ready yet... so have to use 15mbps for now... and that's like the best singtel has to offer already...

will it be better if i just use my own wireless N router

cslim35

hi Everyone, i just signed up with Singtel 15Mbps broadband and they said they would be giving me the 1015EW modem router like all of you guys.

I just wanted to check up on the specs of this router. Is it the same as this one on the Aztech page? It's listed as 1015EN though

ADSL - DSL1015EN(L)

And for the ethernet connections, it's only 10/100 based? Not even 1000? Isn't that really lousy?

How much is the monthly sub?

upgrade

whats the speedtest result like for 15mbps. My stupid unit isn't fibre ready yet... so have to use 15mbps for now... and that's like the best singtel has to offer already...

will it be better if i just use my own wireless N router

I just did some tests on SingNet support website:

Utilities | Technical Support

Singapore
---------
Ping 19
Download 17.75 Mbps
Upload 0.81 Mbps

Ping 18
Download 18.03 Mbps
Upload 0.81 Mbps

Los Angeles
-----------
Ping 199
Download 19.60 Mbps
Upload 1.17 Mbps

Ping 201
Download 18.70 Mbps
Upload 1.12 Mbps

Also also test at speedtest.net:

2131674320.png

You have to use their router to get mioTV service.

Actually, personal opinion, no really great difference between G and N for concrete walled homes. Unlike in the USA where homes are made of wood except in the city.

I have used Dualband N before and it is still at home not used now. In the next room, N or G made no difference. Speed drop very quickly. Good only in the same room. If doors are closed when aircon is on, even N will not help.

What I do now, I use homeplugs and Linksys WRT54G in all bedrooms. They are cheap now at $20 a piece. Computers are wired to them. SSIDs and Passphrase all set the same as the Aztech except all using different channels. Wireless devices auto roam from router to router depending on which one is nearer/stronger. Wireless signal always full bars. Each can be switched off when not in use. So no need N and free of blind spots headache.

ykeen

Just called to stop the SNBB cuz my 10mbps contract is over... They too, had offered the $10 rebate... I didn't bother enquiring though...

They already waived twice relocation fee ($50-$80 can't recall) and they are even prepared to offer me a third time waiver if I move house... Quite good lah...

I think you guys can still call and enquire...

My experience with singnet so far is excellent, except that the speedtouch really CMI... And I can't figure out how to connect a router to it... Haha... So I now have a paperweight in my room...

do u also have MIOTV? i might be relocating and they seem reluctant to waive unless if u also have MIOTV they are more willing..haha

Cerius

sian why no more 1 mbps plan for $4. now its 10.70 for 1mbps-.-

like being forced to go 10 mbps =(

anyone knows of other options for low mbps cheap plans?

slang

now with 150MBPs fibre at $49.90, $28.90 15MBPs seems pathetic. :/

...do u really need 150mbps in the first place? and will u be able to achieve 150mbps?

$49.90 is $21 more per month...
2 yrs u will be paying extra of $504

getting 15mbps also entitle to land line rebates...so it is basically getting a no frill deal

tianlei

my 10mbps $23 just jump to $37 (Didnt receive any call from singtel) + quad month $30, monthly $7.5 = $44.5.

consider 15Mbps $28.90+ $10 rebate.
$10 rebate is to offset the $7.5
left $2.5 minus from 28.90 = $26.40
$26.40 for 15mbps
Correct me if wrong.

Streetwise

my 10mbps $23 just jump to $37 (Didnt receive any call from singtel) + quad month $30, monthly $7.5 = $44.5.

consider 15Mbps $28.90+ $10 rebate.
$10 rebate is to offset the $7.5
left $2.5 minus from 28.90 = $26.40
$26.40 for 15mbps
Correct me if wrong.

1. The onus is on u to call them 1 mth before contract expiry.
2. Think u assumption is wrong(base on my understanding from retention dept). The $10 rebate is to offset ur mthly calls....any bal will be use to offset ur qtrly phone charges. The amt will not be use to offset ur BB.

leogeo

...do u really need 150mbps in the first place? and will u be able to achieve 150mbps?

$49.90 is $21 more per month...
2 yrs u will be paying extra of $504

getting 15mbps also entitle to land line rebates...so it is basically getting a no frill deal

The land line rebate is kinda luck of the draw too...not everyone gets it. :/

$49.90 includes:

150MBps fibre speed +
10gb Mobile Broadband with 1.5MBps speed +
free wireless modem +
free home line +
free 10gb store and share account

anyway, to each his own at the end of the day...

tianlei

1. The onus is on u to call them 1 mth before contract expiry.
2. Think u assumption is wrong(base on my understanding from retention dept). The $10 rebate is to offset ur mthly calls....any bal will be use to offset ur qtrly phone charges. The amt will not be use to offset ur BB.

Call them today, was told that offer was case by case.
Ask me to wait til monday. i go for m1 $39 tml.

Streetwise

Call them today, was told that offer was case by case.
Ask me to wait til monday. i go for m1 $39 tml.

Yup, M1 offer is a good deal...to me. Only reason for me to stick to Singtel was bec of the rebate offer for home line and there currently isn't any reason for me to pay higher subcription charges for greater speeds as current setup fits my family needs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.