Re-contract Singnet 10 Mbps?

thngzx

thngzx, not sure about the model you have. My is DSL1015EW (S) and has wireless feature. If you think your model not good, get 1 of your speedtouch 536v6 and link together with the linksys router.

Before ST gave me the Aztech, I was using the speedtouch 536v6 modem to link with my linksys router and was using it for almost 6yrs. You wont be surprise both these 2 link together give a better performance than the 2wire white color modem.

Ah ha! right. The modem just came in today but my existing setup is still working quite well so I guess it is going into the store room until I need it.
Acutally these things last pretty long. I think I have only burnt 1 router and 1 modem since erm 2000? Haha..

Funny thing is using speednet, I'm still stuck at 1mbps...argh. It can't be the modem right? So I have to call them up?

derrickgoh

called 2 days ago near their closing time at 7, mentioned i want to cancel my BB to sign up M1 fibre at it show, the cso didn't even bother to offer me the special deals. when i ask about it then she say my current bundle contract cannot recontract to the $23.45 deal. If i want to get that one can only get it after my current contract is over. got this kind of thing one meh? I thought after 21month can recontract liao?
LOL she hear u wanna jump ship she bo hiu you liao. Singnet is like that. When i told them to let my adsl lapse when it expires in july, they told me to write in closer to the date. No interest in asking u to stay.

Oh well, their loss. Im on viewqwest fibre now & very happy.

plutoplace

Yeah..Because you sound like you are aiming for the cheap deal so they dun bother to entertain you. Some more 21 months still have 3 months left. I only call them when my contract expires the next day.

jas1701

Ah ha! right. The modem just came in today but my existing setup is still working quite well so I guess it is going into the store room until I need it.
Acutally these things last pretty long. I think I have only burnt 1 router and 1 modem since erm 2000? Haha..

Funny thing is using speednet, I'm still stuck at 1mbps...argh. It can't be the modem right? So I have to call them up?

If yours is 15M plan not sure the speedtouch modem can support it. If it is 10M, then shld be ok but test at 1M only very wierd.

freddychin

My 10 mbps, 24 mths contract end Jan 2012

Have yet to decide what next. I do fancy the 15 mbps that include the mobile broadband.

rdgs

zzz2254

LOL she hear u wanna jump ship she bo hiu you liao. Singnet is like that. When i told them to let my adsl lapse when it expires in july, they told me to write in closer to the date. No interest in asking u to stay.

Oh well, their loss. Im on viewqwest fibre now & very happy.

what is viewqwest fibre? cheap and good?

liangtam

called 2 days ago near their closing time at 7, mentioned i want to cancel my BB to sign up M1 fibre at it show, the cso didn't even bother to offer me the special deals. when i ask about it then she say my current bundle contract cannot recontract to the $23.45 deal. If i want to get that one can only get it after my current contract is over. got this kind of thing one meh? I thought after 21month can recontract liao?

Of course you don't get it.
You did not follow through the correct/expected procedures.

nilaopeh

u are ******* stupid! so many people have already emphasize and mention that u must request to transfer your call to retention dept to get that $23 offer.

if u just call 1688 and tell the CSO u want the $23 plan, u definitely 100% wont get it. u still yaya and even threaten to cancel your current broadband, if i m the CSO of course i will bo hiew u lar! duhhh....

derrickgoh

what is viewqwest fibre? cheap and good?
There is no such thing as cheap and good. You pay peanuts you get monkeys. Want cheap, get M1 $39 for 100Mbps and join the many ppl here b*tching about the "wonderful" speeds.

iamlovinit05.

u are ******* stupid! so many people have already emphasize and mention that u must request to transfer your call to retention dept to get that $23 offer.

if u just call 1688 and tell the CSO u want the $23 plan, u definitely 100% wont get it. u still yaya and even threaten to cancel your current broadband, if i m the CSO of course i will bo hiew u lar! duhhh....

i thought the SOP is call 1688, transfer to retention dept, say magic word "cancel my...", then will get the offer?

I did ask the ah neh at 1688 to transfer me to rretention, but as its close to 7 and retention dept going to pang kang, he say he will convey my message to them. so i tell him i want to cancel, and after few rounds of putting me on hold, i finally got to speak to someone who is purportedly from retention. then he say what I already told you...

what gone wrong? maybe the ahneh is smoking me, anyhow get someone who is not from retention to speak to me.

ting

there's no need for such terms...

maleman

If first dun succeed, try again next day.

A colleague of mine, contract expired, talk to retention dept, and couldn't get to extend his 10M $23 plan. Was told not more.
He tried again next day, and got it from another person at the retention dept.

spai_duhz

who can confirm whether i can recon for the 23.45 with my current bundled plan at 21 months?

Doubt so, my friend. Your contract ends after 24months, not 21. 21St month recontract is if you wish to retain or upgrade your plan, which is kinda silly since you don't get freebies, unlike your mobile phone plans.

Just let your entire 24 months finish, return your miotv equipment to drop to no frills broadband, and request to be transferred to retention because you wish to terminate your services.

If you still have 3 months left to the end of your contract, do you honestly think the operator have grounds to transfer you to the retention department? No matter how much you bang the table, you are still under contract.

Patience is a virtue. Let the contract end, and your options will open.

nilaopeh

i thought the SOP is call 1688, transfer to retention dept, say magic word "cancel my...", then will get the offer?

I did ask the ah neh at 1688 to transfer me to rretention, but as its close to 7 and retention dept going to pang kang, he say he will convey my message to them. so i tell him i want to cancel, and after few rounds of putting me on hold, i finally got to speak to someone who is purportedly from retention. then he say what I already told you...

what gone wrong? maybe the ahneh is smoking me, anyhow get someone who is not from retention to speak to me.
pls lah! u dun have to wait after your contract ends then u call the retention dept to get this offer. i called in 3 weeks before my contract ends and i successfully gotten this offer on the same day. for your info, i have recontracted this offer twice w/o any problem.

i dun wish to repeat myself again. in order to get the 10mbps $23 offer, for **** sake pls do the following steps:

1) call 1688, get to the CSO.

2) once get thru, request to transfer your call to retention dept, no need to talk so much.

3) when u manage to get thru the retention dept staff, tell them that u are aware of this 10mbps $23 offer from your friends/relatives, check with them whether are u eligible for this recontract offer too.

4) they won't confirm with u on the spot, they will have to check your broadband contract status and see whether are u really eligible for this offer. if you are eligible, they will call u back and inform u within that day or the next working day.

to chao ah bengs and guai lan kias: if u think that u can 100% get this offer by threatening to terminate your contract, u are so ******* wrong! singnet dun owe u anything, so there is no need to act fierce and sound as thou as u deserve this ******* offer. maybe this tactic used to work in the past, but i can tell u now they dun buy this kind of **** up attitude anymore.

Nakedtoes

I believe STBB is more reliable than M1's $39 fibre plan. Go check out the other threads and you'll know what I mean.

I am one of them that jump from singnet to M1 fibre... so far very happy... very stable... but that is my area... other area i dun know... take yr own risk:o

ongkmeng

Just a question : If I am already on 1-year contract at $23.XX which is expired in mid Mar 2012, do I need to call the retention dept to renew the contract or is it that it will continue at $23.xx after 12 months ....?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.