Recently visit penang

AUTUMN&WINTER

Like to go Penang hill. Cooling and love nature. Like to visit the big Buddhist Temple Kek Lok Si 极乐寺. Interesting Taoist snake temple, quite scary, snakes are everywhere. Weather is super hot there. Interesting muesum like Nonya museum etc. Like the Nonya food there.

trevlim

Georgetown like rundown and never improve much over 10 years

still no trains
Traffic really crazy
Street art no maintain 😓😓😓

But food really no horse run sedap 😋😋😋😋
it has remained stagnant for decades, not just 10 years. i don't actually understand the charm of penang as a tourist destination apart from the beachfront.

klavier

Many other places in Malaysia has more nice food then penang. KL itself is a mega stove of really nice food

Can share some nice food at KL?
I always see you start thread on solo weekend trips to Malaysia.. but dont think I saw any to KL..

I am interested in KL only because I usually go there every year end..

drkcynic

Penang is overrated like fug...

Food queue like siao ding dong.
Traffic is like siao ding dong.
Totally 3rd world.

Go once enough le.

JB or KL anytime better.

FireEmblem

it has remained stagnant for decades, not just 10 years. i don't actually understand the charm of penang as a tourist destination apart from the beachfront.
If you like only modern updated city of course dun like Penang. Many other people like old places

FireEmblem

Can share some nice food at KL?
I always see you start thread on solo weekend trips to Malaysia.. but dont think I saw any to KL..

I am interested in KL only because I usually go there every year end..

If you in PJ, dun go for the very much touted village park best nasi lemak in Malaysia. Just walk 100 meter down from village park and you will see a say yes cafe, the nasi lemak there is better

sanukboy

It has been almost 20 years
since I last drove up...
Lovely food there....

I still remember my friend asked me
to invest in the property there...

Luckily I never listened to his advice... 😂

yeenfei

Really? Then which brand is nice? I thot GH nice leh …
"Ghee Hiang" famous for the sesame oil, their brown sugar biscuit also not bad, tsp individual packaging maybe suit certain ocd ppl. "Him Heang" tsp best when freshly baked, but only 1 outlet and 1 flavor. Now i degrade to take "Ban Heang" coz of availability + fancy flavor (eg spicy shrimp)

Atrina_Boy

Food nice, grab cheap...
Luv penang.
just curious how come kek lok si temple Forever under renovation.?

yeenfei

penang beach no fight against thailand, its never try to compete in this area also. ppl mostly go penang for food, but taste is usually subjective (thats why some diehard fans will prefer SG food)

coyote

Like to go Penang hill. Cooling and love nature. Like to visit the big Buddhist Temple Kek Lok Si 极乐寺. Interesting Taoist snake temple, quite scary, snakes are everywhere. Weather is super hot there. Interesting muesum like Nonya museum etc. Like the Nonya food there.

What I don't like the Fraser hill was, tram rides prices are twice for foreigners compared to locals. Otherwise, the view from the hill is magnificent... Can see how Penang island is linked to the Peninsula by the bridge.

ixora2007

Him heang taste lighter than ghee hiang. Ghee hiang is good for those with more flavourful taste bud. Ban heang has many outlets, even has 1 at airport for u to do last minute purchase before leaving penang. I find ban heang stuff not very nice though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.