Recommend a washing machine, please?

freshvibes

Anyone bought this Toshiba dual drum watching machine dryer (5kg top and 10kg wash 7kg dry btm)? About 2.2k in GC.
PXL-20231210-040446925.jpg

Want to use the upper drum for baby stuff

Better to get a separate washer and dryer.

Once this machine encounters any issues, you won't be able to use either one at all.

vampire29

Hi, would like to get some advise... i planning to get 9kg front load WM, for this 2 model which to go with?
LG FV1409S3W
Bosch WGG244A0SG

any issue i need to aware?

initial i wanted to get LG, retailer shared use the stream function will be cost high consumption on electricity power. & is not really often to on the stream function due to some item cant use in high heat. full load using turbo wash 59mins

retailer recommend Bosch, selling point I-DOS, antivibration, full load take 45mins.

or any other option i can consider?

titusilvering

my samsung washer gone case already. water cannot pump out.

Intending to get a replacement.

Is this a good choice?
https://www.samsung.com/sg/washers-and-dryers/washing-machines/top-load-7-5kg-silver-wa75h4400ss-sp/
My samsung topload water inlet motor kisiao and unable to pump water in. So i buy about $30 to replace it myself. 6 Months later the water inlet motor kisiao again. So i tried changing again but this time new problem arise lol water keep flowing non stop to fill the tub. I suspect this round is the water levels tubing got dirt jam so it tot water level empty.

Anyway i am still using it just manually use a pipe to fill the tube lol since the rest still functional.

I lazy to fix liao. So today i made a bet to buy panasonic since many of my panasonic products quite lasting and the price is reasonable.

The Samsung i will move it to my mbr toilet temporarily when got time i will fix again or use it to wash bedsheets. Lol

socade

Buy front load don't buy top load front load your clothe will be more clean after wash

MastersIT

If you usu only hv a load of 6kg, why you need to buy a 9.5kg leh?

Some washing machines hv smarter technology to detect the amt of load then adjust the amt of water use. Some washing machines dun. So you need to check this part. Or some may hv the option of doing 1/2 load. If the washing machine dun hv the flexibility to adjust the water level, then it will use the same amt of water if you do a partial load instead of the full 9.5kg load. You'll waste more energy, water and detergent.

You hv to look at your lifestyle, space constraint etc to decide the capacity that is suitable.

Usu the capacity suitability is tis.

Screenshot-20231210-123728.jpg

Like wat I mentioned earlier, if you intend to do washing of heavy curtains, bedsheets, comforter, then you need a higher capacity.

Mine is a Brandt Top Load 6.5kg. Slim type coz i dun have the space to accommodate front load. Previously I used Thomson top load, same pattern one, lasted 12-15yrs. Too bad they exited SG mkt. For ours is household of 3-4 paxs, washing around 2-3x a week.

brandt_top_load_washing_machin_1638937611_56f06939_progressive.jpg

https://www.brandt.sg/top-load-washing-machine

hey @desiresale,

This Brandt you have is it noisy or same as Thomson?

Also, how many years in use now?
Can handle Q-size duvet?

desiresale

hey @desiresale,

This Brandt you have is it noisy or same as Thomson?

Also, how many years in use now?
Can handle Q-size duvet?
Hi, we bought the brandt in 2019. So coming to 5 yrs. Previously hv been using Thomson which last more than 10yrs.

My Thomson was pretty silent, until the last few mths when it was going to uplorry. So the brandt is as good as the Thomson so far, in terms of sound level.

Mine is a smaller one at 6.5kg. I tink if you are looking to accommodate a Queen size duvet, better to get a 8kg and above.

segafan

Hi y'all! It's now 2024.. Any reliable (standalone) washing machine brands or models to recommend?
Looking for:
- front load
- at least 10kg
- analogue dial or physical button operation; the lesser 'touch' sensor the better
- 4 ticks

My 7.5 years LG 1410SPRE about to uplorry.. Shaking very violently especially during the drying cycle. Called the LG technician come down, says the suspension and ball bearing exhausted liao. Cost of repair not worth it; advised to get new one for the long run. Right now, still can use as per normal, no leaks or anything, just loud and shake violently until the thing move forward and left-right. Feel like drilling the feet to the floor lol

But wah.. 7.5 years only. Is LG really = Lousy Goods? (Coincidentally, my LG TV also up lorry within 5 years before I get a replacement)
Not as solid like my parents' time.. Buy once, literally can last many years.

Am seriously looking at (no order of preference):
- Toshiba [I understand Toshiba = Midea, as per source.. but I don't know if there is any problem versus their own Midea line?]
- Hitachi [My fridge also by Hitachi.. so far rock-solid, that's why considering this brand]
- Bosch [there is Made in Turkey aka Europe and also Made in Germany.. but I am not sure if can last long, just because of the brand name]
- Panasonic [heard no longer reliable as at 2023?]

I don't feel like buying anything expensive anymore. The way I look at it, the average washing machine these days the lifespan is about 7 years.

Will avoid:
- Midea (my bro in law uses this, front load, problematic and called technician several times within months)
- Electrolux (my bro uses this, top load, problematic after 3rd year of heavy use)
- Samsung (hit and miss; my other family members uses the top load and front load standalone washers)

On the fence:
- LG
- Whirlpool [My ang mo colleagues recommend me this brand.. But I think in SG maybe different, made in China?]
- Sharp [Heard Sharp = Hisense.. But I have no idea if their home appliance brand got any reliability problems]

Too many brands and models until I got fatigue choosing..
Bottom line I need something that just works, and will work for a long time. Best if not expensive lol.

Thanks in advance!

ricohflex

Hi y'all! It's now 2024.. Any reliable (standalone) washing machine brands or models to recommend?
Looking for:
- front load
- at least 10kg
- 4 ticks
Forget about the 4 ticks and the "silent" BS from salesmen.

I saw an Amercian Speed Queen in Harvey Norman long ago.

For best washing machine just buy Miele. Expensive.

Bosch is good.

segafan

No lion city. Bad exp
Oh! Haven't shopped or intend to shop with them. Aiming at Gain City (I usually go to the Sungei Kadut outlet) or the Mega Discount Store (Kallang outlet). I usually avoid Best Denki and Courts coz their salesperson like Sharks hehe

keewee0415

Looking for:
- front load
- at least 10kg
- analogue dial or physical button operation; the lesser 'touch' sensor the better
- 4 ticks

My 7.5 years LG 1410SPRE about to uplorry.. Shaking very violently especially during the drying cycle. Called the LG technician come down, says the suspension and ball bearing exhausted liao. Can use as per normal, no leaks or anything, just loud and shake violently until the thing move forward and left-right. Feel like drilling the feet to the floor lol

But wah.. 7.5 years only. Is LG really = Lousy Goods? (Coincidentally, my LG TV also up lorry within 5 years before I get a replacement)
Not as solid like my parents' time.. Buy once, literally can last many years.

Am seriously looking at (no order of preference):
- Toshiba [I understand Toshiba = Midea, as per source.. but I don't know if there is any problem versus their own Midea line?]
- Hitachi [My fridge also by Hitachi.. so far rock-solid, that's why considering this brand]
- Bosch [there is Made in Turkey aka Europe and also Made in Germany.. but I am not sure if can last long, just because of the brand name]
- Panasonic [heard no longer reliable as at 2023?]

I don't feel like buying anything expensive anymore. The way I look at it, the average washing machine these days the lifespan is about 7 years.

Will avoid:
- Midea (my bro in law uses this, front load, problematic and called technician several times within months)
- Electrolux (my bro uses this, top load, problematic after 3rd year of heavy use)
- Samsung (hit and miss; my other family members uses the top load and front load standalone washers)

On the fence:
- LG
- Whirlpool [My ang mo colleagues recommend me this brand.. But I think in SG maybe different, made in China?]
- Sharp [Heard Sharp = Hisense.. But I have no idea if their home appliance brand got any reliability problems]

Too many brands and models until I got fatigue choosing..
Bottom line I need something that just works, and will work for a long time. Best if not expensive lol.

Thanks in advance!
I am using a coming-to-8-years old LG Front-Loader.

Still pretty solid BUT... I have to tahan about 7 years of nagging by my wife about this washing machine not able to wash our clothes as clean as our old Bosch machine.

She said can either still smell my smelly sweat or overpowering smell of detergent after washing.

Did some research and found that this is a common complain for LG front-loaders and there is a hack to solve this problem, at the cost of voiding your warranty.

My wife was already shopping for a replacement when I just eff-it and applied the hack. Now is happy wife happly life.

Not sure about current gen of LG front loaders but I kinda think that my washer's drum is abit higher in the water tank compared to other brands and LG nerfed the amount of water used per wash is just to satisfy the 4-drops water-saving mark requirements.

segafan

I am using a coming-to-8-years old LG Front-Loader.

Still pretty solid BUT... I have to tahan about 7 years of nagging by my wife about this washing machine not able to wash our clothes as clean as our old Bosch machine.

She said can either still smell my smelly sweat or overpowering smell of detergent after washing.

Did some research and found that this is a common complain for LG front-loaders and there is a hack to solve this problem, at the cost of voiding your warranty.

My wife was already shopping for a replacement when I just eff-it and applied the hack. Now is happy wife happly life.

Not sure about current gen of LG front loaders but I kinda think that my washer's drum is abit higher in the water tank compared to other brands and LG nerfed the amount of water used per wash is just to satisfy the 4-drops water-saving mark requirements.
Re: still smell my smelly sweat or overpowering smell of detergent after washing.
> Yes, we got used to it too hahaha! My wife's family were using Bosch washing machine (front-load) as well! Not sure what 'hack' you applied but at this stage, cannot salvage the situation.. Have to buy a new one! :(

keewee0415

Re: still smell my smelly sweat or overpowering smell of detergent after washing.
> Yes, we got used to it too hahaha! My wife's family were using Bosch washing machine (front-load) as well! Not sure what 'hack' you applied but at this stage, cannot salvage the situation.. Have to buy a new one! :(
Have to increase the amount of water per wash.

You can either try to set your wash cycle program to large items everytime or manually adjust the base amount of water the machine uses every wash. Its a one time adjustment for me.

Works on all LG front loads but dunno about Bosch.

Its all about the water level.

xllms

Forget about the 4 ticks and the "silent" BS from salesmen.

I saw an Amercian Speed Queen in Harvey Norman long ago.

For best washing machine just buy Miele. Expensive.

Bosch is good.
my sis (SG) and multi millionaire French friend (HK) using Miele, both also have complaints. the French bought the most expensive ones from Miele some more, kpkb about it.
moi bought a unknown Italian brand, Daogrs for my retirement home. after some steep learning curve in getting used to it, quite happy. Not available in SG tho.
IMG20231111155703.jpg

ricohflex

my sis (SG) and multi millionaire French friend (HK) using Miele, both also have complaints. the French bought the most expensive ones from Miele some more, kpkb about it.
moi bought a unknown Italian brand, Daogrs for my retirement home. after some steep learning curve in getting used to it, quite happy. Not available in SG tho.
You know why French multi millionaire bad mouth Miele?
The French fancy themselves as #1 in Europe. (They hope).
France always jealous of Germany (the real #1 in Europe). Miele is German.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.