[Recommend] Good Mechanical Keyboard

FroztSpectre

Might as well do a quick review of the black IKBC C104, Cherry MX Browns, since I got a few PMs asking for more info. :s13:

Total cost about $70ish including shipping.

Comparison with a gamer Corsair Strafe + first impressions.

The stabilisers are the biggest improvement in my opinion. Corsair stabilisers were bad, just rattly and loose. Spacebars and shift keys don't act like a seesaws anymore.

The slightly textured doubleshot PBT keycaps are much nicer to type on than the ABS stuff, now they have a thumpy sound instead of being hollow. Not the thickest I've seen, still better than ABS.

Standard bottom row, makes switching keycaps easier. No backlight, but makes the legends are nice and easy to see.

Cable routing at the bottom is a nice touch.

Some minor complaints.

The legends on the top number row make no sense. Why is the ! beside the 1? It's not like the keyboard is backlit.

The keyboard is taller than most of the gaming keyboards out there, might need to buy a wristrest for prolonged gaming sessions. Still comfortable for me, but took a bit of time to get used to.

The IKBC C104 is a great starter keyboard that nails the essentials, and a great option for first time mechanical keyboard owners.

TLDR: Poor man's Ducky with PBT, better than Corsair, uses genuine Cherry MX switch for the price of random China brands on Lazada.

PS IKBC store will wrap a lot of protective layer to protect keyboard, greatly increasing the shipping volume. Can pay EZBuy $4 to repack, or use Taobao official reshipper (not sure if they repack for free). Total weight should be around 2kg for keyboard only.

Thanks!
I think i'll buy the ikbc F410. Hopefully the lighting can customize.
My fiancee doesn't want RGB, she just want 1 backlit color like Pink :s13:

liewhl

Can somebody recommend a clicky mechanical keyboard,

Dont need RGB, no need number pad.

Low profile and sturdy.

Be it export or local set.

Thank you!

you can try Dareu ek820 around 50-60 dollar on taobao

it is low profile, there is bluetooth and LED (fixed blue)

currently there is only blue and red switches, available in 60% 80% and 100% model

find review here: https://gadgetry.today/computers/accessories-peripherals/reviewed-dareu-ek820-a-low-profile-mechanical-switch-keyboard/#:~:text=Reviewed%3A%20Dareu%20EK820%2C%20a%20Low%2DProfile%20Mechanical%20Switch%20Keyboard,-Updated%3A%20October%2025&text=Dareu's%20EK820%20is%20one%20of,light%2C%20and%20it's%20pretty%20awesome.

spectrearc

Local price not very attractive for ducky
I got mine near guang hua plaza(tw sls) for around $200.
Shine 7/feb 2019 purchased

I thihnk I got mine for abit over 100 after coupons a year back, was the TKL model with side legends

ZeroOneSH

Might as well do a quick review of the black IKBC C104, Cherry MX Browns, since I got a few PMs asking for more info. :s13:

Total cost about $70ish including shipping.

Comparison with a gamer Corsair Strafe + first impressions.

The stabilisers are the biggest improvement in my opinion. Corsair stabilisers were bad, just rattly and loose. Spacebars and shift keys don't act like a seesaws anymore.

The slightly textured doubleshot PBT keycaps are much nicer to type on than the ABS stuff, now they have a thumpy sound instead of being hollow. Not the thickest I've seen, still better than ABS.

Standard bottom row, makes switching keycaps easier. No backlight, but makes the legends are nice and easy to see.

Cable routing at the bottom is a nice touch.

Some minor complaints.

The legends on the top number row make no sense. Why is the ! beside the 1? It's not like the keyboard is backlit.

The keyboard is taller than most of the gaming keyboards out there, might need to buy a wristrest for prolonged gaming sessions. Still comfortable for me, but took a bit of time to get used to.

The IKBC C104 is a great starter keyboard that nails the essentials, and a great option for first time mechanical keyboard owners.

TLDR: Poor man's Ducky with PBT, better than Corsair, uses genuine Cherry MX switch for the price of random China brands on Lazada.

PS IKBC store will wrap a lot of protective layer to protect keyboard, greatly increasing the shipping volume. Can pay EZBuy $4 to repack, or use Taobao official reshipper (not sure if they repack for free). Total weight should be around 2kg for keyboard only.

Explains why one keyboard is 5kg.

Paid about 50rmb for shipping on Taobao official forwarder for my ikbc f87

FroztSpectre

Cant checkout my keyboard!!!

VB8nGuE.png

So irritating!!! keep telling me 活动火爆,名额陆续开放,建议后续关注! when i try to checkout.

pawn_king

i have no idea the brands on taobao...

coolermaster ck550 $70+ can buy?
or tecware phantom just as good?

FroztSpectre

Ok confirmed.

Tried checking out with EZShip address for Keyboard, blacklisted not allowed.
Then i used my SG address to checkout, then Live chat the seller ask him help me change to EZShip address.

Problem solved!

XiaoFu99

Ok confirmed.

Tried checking out with EZShip address for Keyboard, blacklisted not allowed.
Then i used my SG address to checkout, then Live chat the seller ask him help me change to EZShip address.

Problem solved!
Strange. I checked out twice yesterday and another 2 times today to Ezship Guangzhou address no issue leh.

Of course, different seller and item. I don't think they ban Ezship selectively bah

Sent from Samsung SM-G965F using GAGT

FroztSpectre

Strange. I checked out twice yesterday and another 2 times today to Ezship Guangzhou address no issue leh.

Of course, different seller and item. I don't think they ban Ezship selectively bah

All my other items no issue, only specifically got issue with IKBC seller.
Tried having my gf to checkout using my EZShip address also, got error.
The moment i use my own singapore address, then no issue liao.

XiaoFu99

All my other items no issue, only specifically got issue with IKBC seller.
Tried having my gf to checkout using my EZShip address also, got error.
The moment i use my own singapore address, then no issue liao.
Wow. So specific ban. Must be that brand kpkb Ezship spoil market. Haha

trenzterra

Think you can't go wrong with either choice. Silent red may feel 'mushy' at the bottom due to the dampening though, just something to take note. The normal red one is already much quieter than a brown so..

I've been using a ikbc, non led + wired one for about one year plus already (can't remember the model). Very happy with it. The PBT keycaps help so much in maintaining a non-oily surface, love it. I was using a filco before the ikbc, build quality wise it's almost on par.

The filco is heavier but it doesn't make any difference in real world usage. Filco doesn't have any pbt keycaps though so that sucks :s13:
Silent red is really damn awesome especially if you bottom out. Soft plushy feeling. Bought a keycool kc84 the other time from Taobao and using it in office.

Though recently I bought a niz plum with imitation topre switches. Also quite silent and heavenly to type on hahaha

FroztSpectre

Silent red is really damn awesome especially if you bottom out. Soft plushy feeling. Bought a keycool kc84 the other time from Taobao and using it in office.

Though recently I bought a niz plum with imitation topre switches. Also quite silent and heavenly to type on hahaha

Can't wait to test it out :s22:
my gf/fiancee everytime complaining my typing too loud, always affecting her sleep. Especially when she sleeps very early (10-11pm~) while i wfh till past midnight (2am~).

Then need fight with her on who to use the ikbc keyboard, and who to use the existing Logitech K840 keyboard lol.

noinimod

Oh, cool :D

How's the imitation topre switches? Lasting long? My friend has a topre, it's a great typing experience. Just could never bring myself to pay for one lol

cesc88

kingsen

After donkey years of my k70 rgb since it first launch, I think its going to up lorry liao. Any recommendations for wireless mechanical keyboard? Need to have numpad.

Sent from HUAWEI LYA-L29 using GAGT

Mystyque

Using Tecware Phantom with what looks like brown switches. Still prefer the scissors feel of my previous keyboard but nobody seems to be making those anymore. I'm ok with the feel but it is still too loud especially nowadays and esp with a baby coming soon.

Was thinking of replacing the Tecware keys with Cherry Pink switches but the cost of just buying 104 switches seem close to or more expensive than buying a new keyboard. :s13:

Skunk2R

Any wireless mech keyboard to recommend?

Previously using teroso excalibur red switch and now using razer ornata..dont quite like both..

What swtich should i go for if either of the above dosent suits me.

Thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.