Recommendations for fridges

LIN_JOEL

I have a similar 4 door Hitachi fridge. Need around 4cm to open the door 90 degree.
Would it be difficult to put the things inside or taking out at 90 degree?
For my case. right door no issue as it will not be blocked but left door side is a full wall.

At the moment I'm intending to leave 6cm clearance at both side for ventilation and if it doesn't works, I need to shift it more to the right beside my built in oven.
For the specs, the back does not need clearance for ventilation.

i_dun_understand

Would it be difficult to put the things inside or taking out at 90 degree?
For my case. right door no issue as it will not be blocked but left door side is a full wall.

At the moment I'm intending to leave 6cm clearance at both side for ventilation and if it doesn't works, I need to shift it more to the right beside my built in oven.
For the specs, the back does not need clearance for ventilation.
Shld not be an issue for you since only one side is restricted. If need to open both doors to put/take big items, yr right door can still open fully.

I foresee you need to open carefully for your left door or else will bang the wall easily and damage it as it swing out more than 90 degree

Billyboo

Shld not be an issue for you since only one side is restricted. If need to open both doors to put/take big items, yr right door can still open fully.

I foresee you need to open carefully for your left door or else will bang the wall easily and damage it as it swing out more than 90 degree
I also have similar concerns with fridge next to wall, if open only at 90 degree will the slide out drawers inside the top compartment be blocked by the racks on the door?

i_dun_understand

I also have similar concerns with fridge next to wall, if open only at 90 degree will the slide out drawers inside the top compartment be blocked by the racks on the door?
Have to see the brand/model/design already. I believe it varies.

For the Hitachi 4 door fridge model that I have, as long as able to open door 90 degree, I am able to pull out the drawer compartment completely (freezer section) which is located at the bottom.

So best is go electronical store and test it out physically.

Arandalo

Can buy those door bumper and stick on the wall. Sometimes when in a rush will accidentally open the door too wide or if not careful when pulling out the sliding drawers will have tendency to open the door wider and may accidentally hit the wall.

LIN_JOEL

Can buy those door bumper and stick on the wall. Sometimes when in a rush will accidentally open the door too wide or if not careful when pulling out the sliding drawers will have tendency to open the door wider and may accidentally hit the wall.
Ya definitely will get one as my door is mirror glass :)

8zaoyu

The NEA for LED and shower fitting seems limited selection.
I choose 3 ticks Philips Mycare LED lightbulb but not eligible when scanned and the NTUC staff actually told me Philips brand cannot use NEA voucher.....
Cos ntuc amk/nex can use all 3 types of downloaded e-vouchers. i brought SK taps and cheap bulbs and display at counter and ask cashier there which ones can use the e-vouchers. The cashier scan the few LED bulbs and chose whichever that can use on LEDs vouchers. Ya, cheapo taps and bulbs but useable for doorway or storeroom mah.

boxup911

Cos ntuc amk/nex can use all 3 types of downloaded e-vouchers. i brought SK taps and cheap bulbs and display at counter and ask cashier there which ones can use the e-vouchers. The cashier scan the few LED bulbs and chose whichever that can use on LEDs vouchers. Ya, cheapo taps and bulbs but useable for doorway or storeroom mah.
3 types? Fridge NTUC also can?

8zaoyu

Ic. But the delivery address can change? Or must send to the same address as the person with the voucher?
e- voucher is only a small portion of the fridge (3 Ticks energy saving type) price, the rest have to pay with own money, address is not on the downloaded e-voucher, same like the current CDC vouchers shared if you want and willing to share only. My sibling gave me the $150 e-voucher, I bought over 1k fridge to my address mah.
PS, i got a Hitachi 407L fridge from nearby Courts tough.

AlvinDj

Been having a dilemma between 2 fridge...

Looking for a Japan brand, French-door above 500L but also at the same time having 3 ticks if possible..

So far boils down to two choices only..

Sharp SJ-VX57ES-DS vs Hitachi R-WB640V0MS

Leaning more towards Sharp as it feels simpler and non-glass (less fingerprints)

Anyone using the Sharp SJ-VX57ES care to chime in on your experience so far?

Hitachi R-WB640V0MS seems like an older model compared to Sharps SJ-VX57ES and worry with that it's automatic ice maker might be have an added opportunity to break down in the near future.. but I like it's vacuum compartment lol..

rosschang

Looking for a Japan brand, French-door above 500L but also at the same time having 3 ticks if possible..

Leaning more towards Sharp as it feels simpler and non-glass (less fingerprints)

Hitachi R-WB640V0MS seems like an older model compared to Sharps SJ-VX57ES and worry with that it's automatic ice maker might be have an added opportunity to break down in the near future.. but I like it's vacuum compartment lol..
I got the Hitachi R-WB640V0MS.

Prior to this I was also using a Hitachi Fridge (forgot model) with auto ice maker for 17 years. Fridge still functioning well nothing spoil till the day I redo reno for my existing place (thus throw away new fridge, buy bigger new one)

I suppose the Ice Maker should not be too much of a concern...

Only issue, it's made in Thailand, not sure can tahan or not...

8zaoyu

3 types? Fridge NTUC also can?
NTUC hypermart at AMK/NEX has all sorts of electricals.
Come to think back of the downloaded NEA climate- friendly e-vouchers that the 1-3 hdb owners have - the fridge voucher should also be for TVs included, most electricals not Japan or German made, very non-lasting, min. never occupied in place also not 10 yrs!

boxup911

NTUC hypermart at AMK/NEX has all sorts of electricals.
Come to think back of the downloaded NEA climate- friendly e-vouchers that the 1-3 hdb owners have - the fridge voucher should also be for TVs included, most electricals not Japan or German made, very non-lasting, min. never occupied in place also not 10 yrs!
Add in $150 or more for tv & washing machine too this year if have.

boxup911

I got the Hitachi R-WB640V0MS.

Prior to this I was also using a Hitachi Fridge (forgot model) with auto ice maker for 17 years. Fridge still functioning well nothing spoil till the day I redo reno for my existing place (thus throw away new fridge, buy bigger new one)

I suppose the Ice Maker should not be too much of a concern...

Only issue, it's made in Thailand, not sure can tahan or not...
Hitachi is quite reliable.

qhong61

How abt Panasonic

AlvinDj

How abt Panasonic
Initially at the very beginning, before Sharp and Hitachi, I was actually eyeing on the PRIME+ edition series but after several thoughts, i really have no need for the cold water feature which would take up some of the fridge door's storage space.. And also the additional middle compartment drawer for Prime Freeze which I feel I dont have much needs for..

Which leaves me only with NR-CW530HVKS choice but the net capacity is below 500L at 497L though I would say its quite bang for buck...

If only they have more net capacity above 500L (eg. 550L) without cold water feature..

8zaoyu

Add in $150 or more for tv & washing machine too this year if have.
ya lor, washer cum dryer, stick or robot vacuum, bathroom heaters, etc. After all, super long queues for singles' 2 rm flexis, and future downgraders to 3-rm I predict. Hope they extend the Climate Frendly vouchers longer beyond 31st March 2024 and more item choices next time if any.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.