Recommendations for Gaming Desktop

dormito

Processor
Intel or amd processors up to you. Both are good. If no preference something like the R5 2600, or the i5 9400 will do. Or wait for amd ryzen 3000 series to come out.
Mainboard
Any B or H budget board for intel will do. Depends on what features you need on the motherboard. Number of usb ports, sata ports, m.2 capability etc. If no special requirement a budget B or H motherboard will do.
Graphics Card
For this depends on what resolution you want to play games at.
If 1080p : 1660TI or rx 580 rx 570, gtx 1060 etc
If 1440p: rtx 2060-2070-2080
If 4k: Rtx 2080 ti

Memory
Usually 8gb dual channel or go for 16gb dual channel will do.
Make sure ram speed is fast and make sure you run in dual channel mode IF you are going for amd system.

Display
Know what you are getting if you are really going for ultrawide display with 21:9 aspect ratio. Most tv shows and netflix korean dramas are in 16:9 aspect ratio hence you will get black bars beside if you watching those 16:9 shows. If you watch movies with 21:9 it will be able to fit the screen fully with no black bar depending on the movie aspect ratio. And not many games can support 21:9 ultra wide display fully. If you are still ok with that then can go for ultra wide display aim for 1440p 144hz if budget allows. Not recommend you go for 4k because your hardware budget might not be enough because you need high end hardware expensive hardware to run it. And 1440p usually is good enough for gaming.

Storage
1Tb or 2tb couple with a 256ssd will do.
Casing
I like the nzxt h500 chassis super nice and beautiful minimalistic design. Fractal design meshify C also good choice for good airflow and design also.
PSU
550w - 650w depending on your hardware config
Audio
Onboard realtek alc audio will do. Nowadays onboard audio on motherboard good enough for average users. If you are audiophile and you are into good audio go for dac/amp combi with good speakers and audiophile headphones.
OS
Windows 10 64bit will do. Make sure to stop windows update because it can cause alot of problems. Use a good and steady build like windows 1607 will do. Make sure you don't overpay for windows like $100 over. You can use windows for free with watermark.
Thanks for the reply
Processor
Intel or amd processors up to you. Both are good. If no preference something like the R5 2600, or the i5 9400 will do. Or wait for amd ryzen 3000 series to come out.
- Think most likely will get Intel. May I know what's the difference between Intel i5 and i7? When the amd ryzen 3000 series coming out?
Mainboard
Any B or H budget board for intel will do. Depends on what features you need on the motherboard. Number of usb ports, sata ports, m.2 capability etc. If no special requirement a budget B or H motherboard will do. - So am I right to say any B or H board will do ? Any brand to look out for? Mostly will need USB ports I guess
Graphics Card
Haha Not sure games in the next few years will be 4k version. Wanted to get 4k graphic card but not sure if worth the money or I even be using it. Difference between RTX 2060, 2070 and 2080?
Memory
Make sure ram speed is fast and make sure you run in dual channel mode IF you are going for amd system. - Most threads seem recommend dual channel Again not sure should i get 8GB x2 or 16GB x 2 ?
Display
Know what you are getting if you are really going for ultrawide display with 21:9 aspect ratio. Most tv shows and netflix korean dramas are in 16:9 aspect ratio hence you will get black bars beside if you watching those 16:9 shows. If you watch movies with 21:9 it will be able to fit the screen fully with no black bar depending on the movie aspect ratio. And not many games can support 21:9 ultra wide display fully. If you are still ok with that then can go for ultra wide display aim for 1440p 144hz if budget allows. Not recommend you go for 4k because your hardware budget might not be enough because you need high end hardware expensive hardware to run it. And 1440p usually is good enough for gaming. - I using my PC to watch alot of netflix and downloaded shows. Thats why a good display is impt to me. Netflix has 4k shows thats why considering getting 4k display. A wide screen look cool? Do they have OLED like tv monitors also?

Storage
Casing
I like the nzxt h500 chassis super nice and beautiful minimalistic design. Fractal design meshify C also good choice for good airflow and design also. - Think i will follow your recommedation on this.
PSU
Audio
Onboard realtek alc audio will do. Nowadays onboard audio on motherboard good enough for average users. If you are audiophile and you are into good audio go for dac/amp combi with good speakers and audiophile headphones.
OS
Windows 10 64bit will do. Make sure to stop windows update because it can cause alot of problems. Use a good and steady build like windows 1607 will do. Make sure you don't overpay for windows like $100 over. You can use windows for free with watermark.- As layman I tend to put on auto update for windows. There is so many security updates also dun know which one is impt. How you choose which updates to install?

Another I forgot to ask is do I need a cooler for my PC ? Which one to choose?
Also what about Wifi support or internet cable port?

Sorry for all the noob questions!

zhihao57

wah but ultrawide 1440p monitor, for your budget i think best can get prism liao loh.. $600 for 1440p 100hz,

if get other brands(alienware, acer) confirm hit 1k +, then your PC not enough money to build alr haha!

Alienware -> aw3418dw $1k+
Acer -> X34P or Z35P $1k+
Prism -> X340 $600

tigerwoods

wah but ultrawide 1440p monitor, for your budget i think best can get prism liao loh.. $600 for 1440p 100hz,

if get other brands(alienware, acer) confirm hit 1k +, then your PC not enough money to build alr haha!

Alienware -> aw3418dw $1k+
Acer -> X34P or Z35P $1k+
Prism -> X340 $600

samsung s34j550 1440p $600+

Posted from PCWX using Jedi mind trick.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Actually, you can get a ryzen 7 2700 with a B450 motherboard for S$600 or less, or ard 6XX, get a X470 motherboard. 2700 is basically 2700X at a lower clock speed, you can easily OC to match 2700X.

narkizy

Thanks for the reply
Processor
- Think most likely will get Intel. May I know what's the difference between Intel i5 and i7? When the amd ryzen 3000 series coming out?
Mainboard
Any B or H budget board for intel will do. Depends on what features you need on the motherboard. Number of usb ports, sata ports, m.2 capability etc. If no special requirement a budget B or H motherboard will do. - So am I right to say any B or H board will do ? Any brand to look out for? Mostly will need USB ports I guess
Graphics Card
Haha Not sure games in the next few years will be 4k version. Wanted to get 4k graphic card but not sure if worth the money or I even be using it. Difference between RTX 2060, 2070 and 2080?
Memory
Make sure ram speed is fast and make sure you run in dual channel mode IF you are going for amd system. - Most threads seem recommend dual channel Again not sure should i get 8GB x2 or 16GB x 2 ?
Display
Know what you are getting if you are really going for ultrawide display with 21:9 aspect ratio. Most tv shows and netflix korean dramas are in 16:9 aspect ratio hence you will get black bars beside if you watching those 16:9 shows. If you watch movies with 21:9 it will be able to fit the screen fully with no black bar depending on the movie aspect ratio. And not many games can support 21:9 ultra wide display fully. If you are still ok with that then can go for ultra wide display aim for 1440p 144hz if budget allows. Not recommend you go for 4k because your hardware budget might not be enough because you need high end hardware expensive hardware to run it. And 1440p usually is good enough for gaming. - I using my PC to watch alot of netflix and downloaded shows. Thats why a good display is impt to me. Netflix has 4k shows thats why considering getting 4k display. A wide screen look cool? Do they have OLED like tv monitors also?

Storage
Casing
I like the nzxt h500 chassis super nice and beautiful minimalistic design. Fractal design meshify C also good choice for good airflow and design also. - Think i will follow your recommedation on this.
PSU
Audio
OS
Windows 10 64bit will do. Make sure to stop windows update because it can cause alot of problems. Use a good and steady build like windows 1607 will do. Make sure you don't overpay for windows like $100 over. You can use windows for free with watermark.- As layman I tend to put on auto update for windows. There is so many security updates also dun know which one is impt. How you choose which updates to install?

Another I forgot to ask is do I need a cooler for my PC ? Which one to choose?
Also what about Wifi support or internet cable port?

Sorry for all the noob questions!

1) CPU: Intel is more expensive for the same( or actually alot weaker performance if you do multi-core/threading heavy tasks like video editing) so I wouldnt go with intel at all. But hey, your money your com. Intel is never a good choice for budget.

2) GPU - The 2060 is not a RTX-ready nor is it a 4k-ready GPU. It is at best a 1440p GPU, and its RTX capabilities are mediocre at best. 4k-ready starts at 2070, best bet is 2080 onwards. The 1080ti is 4k-ready too but lack RTX capabilities, albeit much cheaper than the 2080/2080ti

3) Ram: Always go dual channel, never single channel. If you decide on 32gb, 16x2. if 16gb, 8x2.

narkizy

Depends on him loh, if he doesn't require faster refresh rate then can just get that.

I think Acer also has one 1440p 75hz ultrawide

If he truly intends to game at 4k(horribly expensive), 75hz is more than enough. No gpu is powerful enough to push >80Hz at 4k anyway.

zhihao57

If he truly intends to game at 4k(horribly expensive), 75hz is more than enough. No gpu is powerful enough to push >80Hz at 4k anyway.

i think 4k ultrawide monitors now only got 60hz.. and i'm sure its totally out of his budget eh..

$2k for pc and 4k ultrawide..? how sia...

jnashville

prism x340 has good colors since its a VA panel, (just need calibration) and 100hz and its also very cheap at $540 i think during last IT show.

I had one, very good colors and all but i sold it away due to 100hz looks choppy for me as i am used to 240hz. The downgrade of refresh rate...not for me. And using it to play fps games... too big to play properly especially for twitch shooters. But ultrawide is good for immersion for AAA titles.

tigerwoods

prism x340 has good colors since its a VA panel, (just need calibration) and 100hz and its also very cheap at $540 i think during last IT show.

I had one, very good colors and all but i sold it away due to 100hz looks choppy for me as i am used to 240hz. The downgrade of refresh rate...not for me. And using it to play fps games... too big to play properly especially for twitch shooters. But ultrawide is good for immersion for AAA titles.

For X340 do you have any issue with the ghosting and blurry motion when playing fast moving games like FPS. Some VA panel have really bad ghosting and burry motion which can make you sick.

jnashville

For X340 do you have any issue with the ghosting and blurry motion when playing fast moving games like FPS. Some VA panel have really bad ghosting and burry motion which can make you sick.

yea i know some VA panels have very bad ghosting like the z35 predator but apparently for the prism x340, dont have ghosting. The only thing i dont like for fast motion is because 100hz. I am too used to play at 144hz to 240hz so i can easily notice the difference of 100hz when i move my mouse fast or swipe in shooter games. the image looks choppy. Choppy doesnt really mean its blur but because it only displays 100 frames at a time compared to what i am used to at 240 frames a second, it feels "laggy". Cant put it to words until u have experienced 240hz or 144hz.

Of course if your whole life have been just using 60hz to 100hz, you will be fine. But playing long on a much higher refresh rate and then going back to 100hz, surely able to notice the vast difference.

So thats why i sold it away and gotten the alienware 240hz monitor. Best TN panel 240hz/144hz i used. The colors on it doesnt look washed out out of the box compare to the other previous 144/240hz benq monitors i used. I had the BenQ XL2546 240hz DyAc monitor. The colors are horrible. The text on internet browsers look really horrible with yellowish tint. Though both alienware and Benq are using the same 240hz panel, i think Alienware has some quality control or color tweak that they make. Crisp colors out of the box.

U wont know its TN until you of course try to view it from an angle, then the color shifts, but in all honesty, no one plays a game and looks at a monitor from the side, unless u have multiple monitor setup. And yea i have 7 monitors previously ranging from IPS, VA and TN. So i have seen all the colors from the different panel types.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
What is 4K ready???

Even a GTX1050Ti can run 4K.

4K gaming? If you tune down the settings, a 2060 also can do 4K gaming.

zhihao57

ah man.. i'm using ACER KG251QF now, 1080 144hz,

ordered alienware aw3418dw, 1440p 120hz,

Hopefully i dont feel the difference in the refresh rate, if not i confirm dam sian.

i think my eyes not so sensitive ah! haha

elmariachi

144hz on my old TN Dell and 120hz on my current AW3418DW can't feel much either. Maybe abit more smooth on the 144hz but the surreal immersion for games such as BF5 is incredible.

jnashville

maybe 144hz to 120hz cant really see the difference. but 144hz to 100hz i can see the difference.

it all boils down on the game you play. if AAA titles, i think it is fine.

For fast pace shooting games like cs go, overwatch etc, quite noticeable.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.