Red Wing shoe Thread

noblewolf

I have been waiting for a redwing with a beckman upper and a roughneck (full size)vibram sole, not some mini lug, half-past-six vibram. i hope they will come up with a timberland style, build your own boots for custom ordering.

right now i have:

1905 moctoe
9011 beckman
2942 roughneck R&T
8126 brogue ranger
4216 safety boot with non-metallic toe

but looking at them every morning, something is still missing... lol

kazuki666

then how??? gone liao right?:(
I won't say it's gone gg lah, because it's still a good pair of boots mah. But my suspect is that it won't tahan well against water le. So be careful when trashing it in snow and raining days. So far my 8165 and 8106 I really heck care rain or walking into puddle de. Even slapping on mink oil and kiwi. So the top layer is cracking and starting to peel off liao. It's 875 I am more careful because I realise it doesn't go well in water stains.

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

kazuki666

use until picha, then buy another one.
get a blacksmith instead. it kinda looks like a beckman on a vibram sole.

red-wing-heritage-blacksmith-briar-oil-slick.jpg
Have physical shop in Singapore?

kazuki666

Can try WingSeed @ West Coast Plaza, local chap that can resole GYW shoes (cannot confirm whether is it machine or hand sewn though).
Which reminds me. Redhill market next to it has a low rise block, void deck has this shoe repair shop which I seen before various boots inside. The guy looks pretty cool too. Haha

kazuki666

I have been wanting a 9011 but the smallest 7.0 is too big for me. Then comes 9062 flatbox no iron toes smallest size 6 perfect sia. But I am broke... Haha

kazuki666

If I am to approach a potential cobbler shoe shop for repair my 875 or 8164. What should I ask or know to tell if they can do a good job???

All in a Day

If I am to approach a potential cobbler shoe shop for repair my 875 or 8164. What should I ask or know to tell if they can do a good job???

Ask what is the problem and how they will fix. Someone good and passionate at the craft will bother to explain to u.

But end of day best is u got recom from ppl with first hand experience or get to see actual end product from repairs done. Can talk well may not mean hands on also good

FrogGreen

I have been wanting a 9011 but the smallest 7.0 is too big for me. Then comes 9062 flatbox no iron toes smallest size 6 perfect sia. But I am broke... Haha

Buy first think later.

alanjw55

Buddies, recently i brought my beckman to mister minit @ westgate for a resole.

I think they did quite a good job!!!

jskywalker

I had just applied mink oil on my Red wing.

How long should I let the oil sits before brushing or buffering it ?

Do you also apply neutral wax ?

jskywalker

Am looking for a black moc toe. But I dislike the Traction Tred or Christie Wedge sole.

I want something more lasting like the Vibram sole.

Saw the 8176 and 8175. Tried to find some reviews, apparently these are not common and doesn't seem to be easily available, any reasons why ?

kazuki666

Am looking for a black moc toe. But I dislike the Traction Tred or Christie Wedge sole.

I want something more lasting like the Vibram sole.

Saw the 8176 and 8175. Tried to find some reviews, apparently these are not common and doesn't seem to be easily available, any reasons why ?
Can consider the fragment collaboration? But IMO is over hype.
https://hypebeast.com/2019/12/red-wing-fragment-design-4679-moc-toe-4665-round-toe-boot-release-info

You looking at only 6" or also open to oxford low? If you don't mind low moctoe , can try 8106. I have this pair too, will wear it on days when I want easy wearing removing. I heck care even wear it in office wear to work... :p

jskywalker

https://hypebeast.com/2019/12/red-wing-fragment-design-4679-moc-toe-4665-round-toe-boot-release-info

You looking at only 6" or also open to oxford low? If you don't mind low moctoe , can try 8106. I have this pair too, will wear it on days when I want easy wearing removing. I heck care even wear it in office wear to work... :p

Am looking for 6". The Fragment is still the Traction Tred….

Dmaul77

Agreed that fragment collab is probably overhyped, but i couldnt pass up the chance to own a pair with some help from my bro....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.