Redmi 8

addict951

My gotch, after using Redmi 8 & Note 9 Pro I can’t help but realised how overpriced fruit phones & Samsung are ****. :s12:

addict951

Shopee got 99c flash sale of several Redmi 8 & 9 series screen protectors just now
Pls keep a look out at daily 9am & 9pm 10-min interval flash sales. Should be coming again.

kazuki666

Woohoo
My mum’s Redmi 8 ish here too. So chios man :s12:
Can somebuttie recommend the most idiot proof way of backing up from an old old Samsung phone to this Redmi 8 ar? Thank you!!

Back up as in what stuff? If you mean restore app, I supposed Play store will prompt you after you signed in to your Google account in your new Android phone. As for whatsapp, backup to Google Drive, then easily restore back to your new phone.

addict951

Back up as in what stuff? If you mean restore app, I supposed Play store will prompt you after you signed in to your Google account in your new Android phone. As for whatsapp, backup to Google Drive, then easily restore back to your new phone.

I installed the Google app and backed up to it then restore from there on Redmi 8. :s12:

addict951

Those who want buy cheap screen protector - the Redmi 8&9 series screen protector flash sale is back at 2100 hrs at Shopee!

kazuki666

I installed the Google app and backed up to it then restore from there on Redmi 8. :s12:

easy right. :D
I think elderly less particular about some missing data, so its easy to restore for them... :p

Those who want buy cheap screen protector - the Redmi 8&9 series screen protector flash sale is back at 2100 hrs at Shopee!

$1.50 de?
I bought a transparent flip casing for parent's Redmi8 liao, $3.40 is the lowest i can find for flip casing. haha

Including WhatsApp & Healthy 365?

Whatsapp i thought is backup and restore from the app itself? Healthy365, i believe its cloud base bah? So new phone just log in personal particulars should appear. This is my guess lor.

nez

easy right. :D
I think elderly less particular about some missing data, so its easy to restore for them... :p

$1.50 de?
I bought a transparent flip casing for parent's Redmi8 liao, $3.40 is the lowest i can find for flip casing. haha

Whatsapp i thought is backup and restore from the app itself? Healthy365, i believe its cloud base bah? So new phone just log in personal particulars should appear. This is my guess lor.

I see. Ok. Thanks.

I also purchase the screen protector & flip case for parents already. :s13:

Angtehkor

Guys how are your new redmi 8 you buy last week. Battery life good boh can tahan 1 day

MoyoCase

It's this phone good for normal usage like web browser , WhatsApp and video watching in terms of battery life? How's the standby battery time ?

addict951

Just made final touchups to the settings & transfers from mum’s old phone. The big minus here,imho, ish the potato camera which worse than mum’s old Samsung phone.

Angtehkor

Dunno whether still got $99 for this phone. If still got. Maybe just buy 1 for spare use because cheap.

K202020K

Just made final touchups to the settings & transfers from mum*********s old phone. The big minus here,imho, ish the potato camera which worse than mum*********s old Samsung phone.
What chiu mean by potato camera? Care to explain in detail?
I have the impression that Xiaomi mobile phone cameras are no walkovers. Some more they love to emphasize on the bigger pixel size of the image sensor.
Could this be the reason for the $99 price tag? Just switch to a lower performance, lower cost component in order to achieve the same profit margin?
Maybe I'm wrong on this one.

RLWZ21

What chiu mean by potato camera? Care to explain in detail?
I have the impression that Xiaomi mobile phone cameras are no walkovers. Some more they love to emphasize on the bigger pixel size of the image sensor.
Could this be the reason for the $99 price tag? Just switch to a lower performance, lower cost component in order to achieve the same profit margin?
Maybe I'm wrong on this one.

well have to see which model of samsung he mentioned, but tbh their budget series camera is okay type....not too decent like mid ranger.

then again i do think that any budget series bound to have potato camera one way or another.

and afteralll redmi series is their budget line phone though.

Angtehkor

Ok lah. Redmi phone all along is sell $200 and below in Singapore. Still can use like other phone good Liao

nez

Other then the usual selecting of text font size, Are there any special elderly features we can set? Example every text/icon on the screen will Automatically be enlarge

K202020K

Other then the usual selecting of text font size, Are there any special elderly features we can set? Example every text/icon on the screen will Automatically be enlarge
Can turn on the triple tap to zoom in the display. Very useful feature yo.

kazuki666

hmm i be curious too... Same, i set the text to the largest.

As my parent isnt tech savvy, only make calls and receive calls, so I group the apps into groups and put them in another page, so they don't splash all over the wall. I feel too many app icons will confuse them. The main screen only have call app, clock widget, lunar calendar widget, and lock screen widget.

Also, i configure the unlock as face recognition, so its easy for them to unlock without having to remember pin, partly because i doubt they will understand which "hole" to place finger for fingerprint unlock too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.