Redmi Note 8

stylechap

Just to share. My previous phone was fine all the way until one day, I silly silly decided to watch a video from my NAS. It's in the mkv format (I think it matters also). And when battery was low, I charge.

So charging + video + wifi.... my battery went up to 49% or so... got bloated. I thought the circuitry will handle it but no.

Also, I suggest that we should reboot our phones every now and then (I do daily - auto shutdown after whatsapp do the back up at about 2am) and boot up in the morning. I think there could be rogue programs (or program that go silly after running for too long) that could cause problems and sometimes, cause the battery to go bad.

Means the battery lousy or charger lousy? Or phone is terrible?
Or you mean use lousy charger the battery% won't sustain then you won't do stupid and leave it to charge liao?

NightRaven49

charge with 18w or 10w charger better?:s11:

both are quick chargers, and there isnt one that is objectively better, depends on what u mean by better. if u want your phone to be topped up quicker 18w, but if u want your phone to heat up less then 10w.

The charger that comes with RMN8P is rated at:

Output =
- 5V 3A (15W)
- 9V 2A (18W)
- 12V 1.5A (18W)

How does the phone and the brick decide which to use ? Say, at full power 18W, it can be 2A or 1.5A, how does the QualComm chip decide which to use ?

I normally see 5V from my Accubattery app. I don't see 9V or 12V.

like i mentioned, the current (and rate of charging) is dependent on the battery's charge level. the chip in the phone monitors the battery level and temperature and negotiates the appropriate power from the brick. also i think accubattery measures the voltage of the battery, not the charger.

Is there a way to turn off fast charging? Will that be better or just charge the phone as per normal with fast charging?

can just use lower power charging brick, like the small apple charger, or as someone else mentioned plug into computer usb, that one lagi slower (2.5w). but i think fast charging is ok.

ZhuTou!

Battery replacement cheap la
Just buy from alie and replace urself but see buyer review first before buying
If using a phone and need so much caring
This is very tiring

GoodBetterBest

Means the battery lousy or charger lousy? Or phone is terrible?
Or you mean use lousy charger the battery% won't sustain then you won't do stupid and leave it to charge liao?

Means something went wrong... all the time ok... something went wrong, but I don't know what.

both are quick chargers, and there isnt one that is objectively better, depends on what u mean by better. if u want your phone to be topped up quicker 18w, but if u want your phone to heat up less then 10w.

like i mentioned, the current (and rate of charging) is dependent on the battery's charge level. the chip in the phone monitors the battery level and temperature and negotiates the appropriate power from the brick. also i think accubattery measures the voltage of the battery, not the charger.

can just use lower power charging brick, like the small apple charger, or as someone else mentioned plug into computer usb, that one lagi slower (2.5w). but i think fast charging is ok.

Yes, I know the current is dependent on the battery level according to the circuit that charges it. In the case of QC, the chip controls the V and I.

If you compare the Xiaomi 10W and 18W charger:

10W
- 5V 2A

18W
- 5V 3A (15W)
- 9V 2A (18W)
- 12V 1.5A (18W)

The 10W charger can output at max 2A at 5V. But the voltage will be peg at 5V (and varies around there) while the current will vary but at max 2A.

For a 18W, it can go up to 3A, so it's possible that it will heat up the phone more. But I don't know how the QualComm chip controls the current and when it will select 5V, 9V or 12V (with the corresponding current limit).

So while the current is regulated by the chip, there is a max that it can go up to. This 18W charger can potentially (theoretically) create more heat than the 10W.

From my observations, the Accubattery does not do it's own measure (which I think it can't). It just takes the value from the phone. I've compare the values across different apps and they are the same.

I also have one phone which has a problem with the temperature. The AB app registers a constant 24d regardless. I went to the phone and check the value and it's also 24d. So I deduce that the AB app does not do it own measurement but get it from the phone data and just display it.

GoodBetterBest

Battery replacement cheap la
Just buy from alie and replace urself but see buyer review first before buying
If using a phone and need so much caring
This is very tiring

There is a shop at 2nd floor SLS. They sells phone batteries. They may carry the battery for phone model. They also sell the tools to open the phone.

If you just get the battery there, it could be around $15-20, depending on the model. If you get the SLS to replace, it's around $35/- (I've been quoted).

but my friend crack his screen when replacing :eek:

ichinisan

Nowadays battery won't spoil so fast if you don't abuse lah :s22:
If you plan to use 4-5years then go ahead and take care like a baby

use a normal usb charger lor. If the charger don't support fast charging than no fast charging will happen.

Use lower w charger
Actually phone only last u like 2-3yrs
Use fast charge is ok de

Thanks for all the replies! I guess I'll just go ahead with fast charging as per normal. Hopefully the battery can last long as I don't charge everyday.

NightRaven49

If you compare the Xiaomi 10W and 18W charger:

10W
- 5V 2A

18W
- 5V 3A (15W)
- 9V 2A (18W)
- 12V 1.5A (18W)

The 10W charger can output at max 2A at 5V. But the voltage will be peg at 5V (and varies around there) while the current will vary but at max 2A.

For a 18W, it can go up to 3A, so it's possible that it will heat up the phone more. But I don't know how the QualComm chip controls the current and when it will select 5V, 9V or 12V (with the corresponding current limit).

So while the current is regulated by the chip, there is a max that it can go up to. This 18W charger can potentially (theoretically) create more heat than the 10W.

why need to know? just let the chip do its job la. again, the chip will request a lower current at higher battery levels, but to maintain same power input, voltage requested is higher. and qc3 uses variable voltage control in 200mV intervals, and thus the voltage applied is not at 5v, 9v or 12v only (that is qc2). so just agar lor, based on the current the phone receives. if really need to know, can buy those usb meters that detect both the voltage and current out from the charger directly.

of course 18w will generate more heat than 10w, max 3a vs 2a. but watts and current drawn are not everything, oppo/oneplus/realme/bbk's vooc/warp fast chargers are the best on the market, able to draw up to 65w while being cooler than other phones at the same power draw.

also, if want to replace battery better to get from taobao and replace yourself. really very cheap, each battery about $10, tools not even $2. if feeling adventurous, can buy those 3rd party batteries with even larger capacities than original battery, using one 4000mah now with my mix 2s (original 3400mah) and getting very good battery life, only drawback is cannot use qc3 as the temperature sensor is buggy, no choice use 10w brick.

jiaklormee

Is the NFC function for Redmi Note 8T Global ROM sets region-locked? Can use Google Pay in Singapore? Thinking of buying from Aliexpress.

ekardo

Extra setting for TPG

for those on TPG, remember to do this setting to activate calls..

however, I couldnt proceed with step 2 and 3 but, still it works.

a1ZqezL.jpg

Squaredot

for those on TPG, remember to do this setting to activate calls..

however, I couldnt proceed with step 2 and 3 but, still it works.

ya, Volte works after step 1. But I didn't rec the text msg from TPG.
Never mind, can call song song liao :s13:

ekardo

ya, Volte works after step 1. But I didn't rec the text msg from TPG.
Never mind, can call song song liao :s13:

ya..also no text msg from TPG..

but if you read properly, step 1 is to disable VOLTE...damn weird...disable and it work..

Squaredot

ya..also no text msg from TPG..

but if you read properly, step 1 is to disable VOLTE...damn weird...disable and it work..

Sounds weird but the Volte appears after step 1 Lol

I learnt this from YouTube video :s13:

samgoh87

Hi guys~
Previously how long did u all receive your loot after J&T warehouse receives the item?

ichinisan

Anyone knows which launcher is good?

On a side note, does Redmi Note 8 Pro support Netflix HD?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.